Glenwood Springs, CO
Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #2 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 302ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 

2-4    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: skeeter308
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is very well laid out. Maps with pin placement and distances at each hole Great use of terrain to challange you to consider shots.
Cons: Unable to come up with any at this point
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love hole 2 the way the crater is used. I look forward to playing it again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/31/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: RibDaddy
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is in good shape, 1st time played. They have tried to do a good job of good course sign and next tee signs. Course was nicely layed out with some good variety.
Cons: Several holes were similar, Drive in the open then basket was protected in the trees 30-50 back.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical mountain course

2-4    5/30/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: Xiou
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course, pretty easy to follow the signs to the baskets. We didnt know about the extra holes and went from 2 and played a few more holes before we ended up on 4 however. Technical shots for a lot of holes and a few wide open ones to let you see how the wind wants to help (or hurt) you.
Cons: I found some holes were a little too technical with no good way to effectively make it to the hole. Wind can carry your discs away with the high wind and changes of elevation.
Other Thoughts: It was one of my favorite courses in colorado so far (i prefer technical over open) and the views from the course are amazing.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of Colorado's Best

2-4    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice long concrete tee-pads
-Bright baskets that are easy to see
-Very large vareity of holes that will challenge the different types of shots in your bag (wide open bombers, wooded, elevation changes, etc.)
-All of the holes have at least 2 or more different pin positions
-The course has a large variety of distances on it (the distances range from about 250 to about 600 feet depending on which pin positions are currently in)
-The holes are well-designed and some of them present quite a challenge
-The tee-signs are very nice as they show all the pin positions, give the distance from all the pin positions and also show an overhead view and from the tee-box view of the hole
-Almost every hole has a bench on it or somewhere to sit and take a break, which is nice because this course gets warm and is a bit of a hike
Cons: -There are a few spots on this course where it can be hard to navigate to the next hole especially when certain pin positions are in (There are signs that point to the next tee-pad but they don't always point in the right direction)
-On some holes if the basket is in a certain pin position you have to walk back up the fairway to get to the next holes, which could lead to some safety issues if the course is crowded
-Some of the teepads are raised slightly above the ground and have a bit of a drop off (Hole 2 has a major drop-off in front of the teepad) that if you are not careful could lead to a twisted ankle or something like that.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best courses I have played in Colorado. It is an absolute blast to play and has a ton of fun really well designed holes that will definitely challenge you. This course is definitely worth driving too and playing no matter the distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Destination ,destination ,destination !!!!! Amazing!!!!!

1    8/20/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: cat5
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where to begin??? This coarse is amazing! Each hole is very well defined, minimal confusion. Really challenging and fun shots. Amazing views of surrounding Aspen,Vail,and Snowmass. Very clean and well maintained. Met a bunch of really cool fellow disc players as well.
Cons: None for the most part. There are 2 or 3 holes with thick trees, but that's what they have the tomahawk throw.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing coarse!!! I would for sure consider this a destination coarse. If your really all about it, you could make it a weekend trip. Play this coarse on Saturday and then drive 45 minutes up the road and play Snowmass. A lot of fun and the local disc community are great people.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    6/25/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Tucker Calhoon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm a local player, and volunteer for the local club. That being noted, this is my favorite course I've played anywhere in the country. I feel so lucky I get to play here everyday. The views of the mountains to the south are dramatic and awe inspiring; sunsets are a like a dream. Each hole has 2 or 3 positions, which are moved around regularly so its ever changing. Great lengths have been made to create signage for each hole at the tees with accurate distances, and as of this past week each hole has a "to the next tee" directional sign in order to make it user friendly for folks on their first visit.

Favorites are #2 which is over a huge crater, and #8 which is long and open with a technical ending zone. I love the whole course actually; each hole is well thought out. Many holes end left, and just as many end right. Bring a full bag, and a big arm.

Cons: I don't know; wish they weren't so strict about the "dogs on leashes" thing. The campus police are all over you if they see your dog running around off leash. The course itself isn't lacking anything I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I give this course a 5 with complete sincerity. I can't think of anything its lacking, comparing to other big courses I've seen. I played De Lavega last winter, and this one isn't lacking anything they have there in Santa Cruz; actually our 12' concrete tee pads are better than theirs, and our signage is better too! I'm just saying. I did love De Lavega, and many others that I've played, but this course is my all time favorite.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/15/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Breathtaking views. Mt. Sopris is visible throughout the course, and the mountain setting is pretty much unbeatable in terms of ideal surroundings for a round of disc golf
-Just the right amount of elevation change. While you won't be hiking thousands of feet up and down mountains, you'll get a nice little workout with the topography of the course.
-Really good mix of types of holes. There are open holes, tight wooded holes, doglegs, blind shots, uphill, downhill, flat...
-Pretty hard to lose a disc for such a challenging course. The wind, shrubs, and trees may give you hell here and there, but you'll find your plastic.
-Detailed signs, trapezoidal concrete tee pads, and benches made of either logs or snowboards at each tee.
Cons: -It can be tricky to navigate at certain points for first-timers. I got lost once or twice. One time I asked for help from a local on another hole, and he said "you're playing this alone for the first time? If I were in your situation I'd probably have given up and started hunting deer". It wasn't that bad, but take a good hard look at the course map before you make your drive on hole 1.
-The wind is brutal on this course. More times than not I was driving with my Whippet, which only gets pulled out of the bag rarely, because it was the only thing that could handle the random but frequent gusts.
-The mountain vegetation will eat up your plastic. The sandy dirt is almost like a pillow for a falling disc, but the shrubs will tear your pro-D and DX discs to shreds.
Other Thoughts: If you are even remotely near Glenwood Springs, you really owe it to yourself to play this course. It's challenging without being ridiculously hard, it's in a breathtaking locale, and you'll need every shot you know to get through it. What else could you ask for?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good Tee boxes and baskets. Some real good tech trees shots. Really easy to find you way around the course. Great photos at all the tees showing possible pin locations. A real good variety of shots.
Cons: No trash cans on the course at all. So make sure you hold on to your trash.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course the multiple pin locations keep the course fresh i just wish I could play the course more often.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic course layout with breath taking views. The first hole captures the beautiful landscape with a short hole placed in a raised pin position. Each hole presents a new set of challenges. The course is well maintained by the locals. We were lucky enough to Play with a group from the area and I was surprised at how friendly people were at every encounter. Unlike many of the other mountain course it is difficult to lose a disc. Spotters were not necessary. Each hole was equipped with ample benches to take a break or just enjoy the beauty all around you.
Cons: The pads are slightly worn in but rubber mats are found near most holes for whipping mud off of your shoes before making a shot.

Hazards are ample but there are no water hazards.

Signs mark each hole but are lacking pictures displaying pin positions.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play and don't forget your camera.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of Glenwood

1    9/9/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 61  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenwood CMC, one of Colorado's principal mountain-style disc golf courses, leads you on a winding path through a lush forest offering both spectacular views and tactical challenges. You'll be scratching your head as you stand at the maintained tees, wondering which approach will offer you the best chance at par, birdie or bogey. There are a handful of ace-able holes if you can thread the needle in just the right spot. In fact, threading the needle is half the battle here. Even after a masterful drive, you sometimes find yourself saying "Huh, now how am I going to get through/around/under/over this cluster of pines?". Elevation change doesn't play a huge factor in the game, but a few spots will remind you that you're playing in hills of the Rockies. Short evergreens and zero water obstacles should give you peace of mind that you'll finish the round with the same plastic you started with. It's simple but true: slinging your disc from the shady edge of the forest into a sunny clearing bedded with sage brush on a Rocky Mountain morning is just so gratifying.
Cons: Improvements to the inadequate, or incomplete, tee pad signage could really make this a 5-star course. The brightly colored metal sign posts are already placed at each pad, but the only communication they provide is graffiti, stickers and fading hole numbers scrawled in black marker. While this is enough to get you through the course, the signposts are begging to be adorned with weatherproof full-color hole maps. The course could get busy in the afternoons and evenings during the school year, and during bi-weekly club play.
Other Thoughts: A nice full color illustrated course map is available in the Links/Files tab. Benches made of recycled snowboards show up about every other hole, and there are ample knobs on tree trunks to hang your bag. The course gets a steady flow of players due to its much-deserved high rating, proximity to young active students and commonly organized events. Bring a friend or two to play this beautiful course; the atmosphere and setup is perfect for a friendly match up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.