Glenwood Springs, CO 
Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #8 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 405ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Unsurpassed Views

5+    5/17/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed and layed out course. Designed for lots of different shots and discs. Holes do have backdoors so if you are only RHBH, you can still par the course. Every time you look up, you know you are not in Florida. Big hysers through the trees are often needed because your drive wasn't perfect. Sunscreen and water are a must. This course is perfect for tournaments, all holes are close to beginning, but yet there is very little conflict between holes. Hole 1 has a huge risk reward pin placement. A beginner really has to consider laying up a 40 foot putt. Benches are great.
Cons: It is really dusty and dry. Extra water is a must. Hole 18 forces you to drive aimed at Soccer Mom's cars in the parking lot. It is hard to take them out of play.
Other Thoughts: It is really special playing here. If you are too sore afterward, there is always the Glenwood Springs pool!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course!

5+    8/28/2007   4/7/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great technical course. Every hole has a different feel to it from throwing over a crater, to shooting through a 6 foot wide pipe, to 1 or 2 challenging deuceables, to grip and rippers.

You want it, CMC has got it. ENJOY!
Cons: You better be patient if you are a beginner playing this course.

look out for small cactus if you wander off the beaten path.
Other Thoughts: No one can completely describe playing this course. go check it out, and you'll probably play around and start right away on the first hole for round 2.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Top Colorado Mountain Course

1    8/22/2008   11/13/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If this isn't the best Colorado Mountain course, it certainly is in the top 5. It starts with the most scenic 1st hole you may ever play. You literally play right toward Mount Sopris in the Elk Range. The basket placement is elevated four feet, a wink and nod to the funky roots of the sport. On a clear day, you can see various other Elk range peaks, including Capital Peak and its infamous knife edge. Most baskets are guarded by trees, making approach shots difficult and precise. All holes have concrete t-pads, which are rare on Colorado Mountain disc golf courses. The course had just been cleaned when I played it and was pristine - not one cigarette butt. Having benches on every hole was real nice.
Cons: This is a weird complaint, but can a course be too perfect? On every hole, I knew exactly what skill the designer tested me with and what disc I needed. (e.g. Hole #3 - Long uphill thumber. Hole #4 - Long hyser driver. Hole #8 - Forehand flick, or full thumber etc.) It was a little eerie...Also I wasn't sure, nor were the locals, if the 2 meter rule was in effect - it makes a difference on the risk/reward approach to the baskets.
Other Thoughts: The Colorado Open was recently played there - just a great, great experience.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 CMC is a must play!

2-4    10/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: Fritz
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging, beautiful scenery, multiple pin placements. This course is one of the best courses I've played. If you fail on accuracy, you pay a tough price on this course.
Tight accurate shots are needed on this course, and you need an arm on some holes.
Cons: Dusty and the tree sap can be annoying. Other then that, no cons.
If you don't pay attention, you can get hurt off the tee pads. Hole #2 if you fall off the pad, you are ina world of hurt.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

7/30/2006   8/4/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery, amazing course, it's got everything. The hole (I believe it is #2) over the crater-like area is one of my favorite i've ever played.
Cons: Very unforgiving at times (an overthrow on the first hole goes down 30 feet over rocks), but just part of the challenge, no real complaints
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best course I have ever played. Anyone looking for a challenge, beauty, nature, or just some of the most amazing disc golf holes ever made, this is your course. I wish I lived closer so I could play this course all the time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Glenwood Springs

5/6/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well marked course, beautiful setting. multiple pin placements. short and long holes, in the open and in the trees. well designed, will challenge all levels of players.
Cons: no bathrooms? (portapotty i think), not much to complain about.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves a high rating but i dont know about a 4.5/5. its a great course, well designed with short technical holes, and long, in the trees and out in the open bombs you have to make. afternoon wind will work you a little harder but still not a complaint. Juniper trees are the prevalent growth with pine trees thrown in the mix, to me it doesnt feel like a true mountain course with a lot of elevation changes, but its stilll up there in altitude (6500/7000 ft?). Bring your own water and food. It takes about an hour and a half to play 18, maybe two hours. As it is isolated from the mainstream, it doesnt get crowded like a course in the city, for first timers its a little hard to find, but once you do get there, its well worth it. Definitely one of the best courses in the area and if you are travelling through, dont miss playing it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 sage, pine and mountain views

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course, I wish I could bottle it and drink it. It has everything you want in a Colorado hike and a disc golf course. Almost every hole has the little things that make a course nice, like benches and pegs to put your bag on. The natural beauty make this one of the most picturesque courses in all of Colorado. The smell of fresh pine leads you into the woods, but have no fear, the course is well marked and the beaten paths are well placed so that you will not get lost. Granite sage pine and mountain views abound. The course layout rewards good shots and the natural beauty rewards bad shots in their own way. My favorite is the benches made out of old snowboards, nice touch.
Cons: They say it can be windy in Glenwood Springs. I'm actually a picky grader, this may be a five, it is that good. Best course in Colorado out of the 20+ I've played there!
Other Thoughts: After being disappointed by the much over hyped Apsen course, come to Glenwood Springs and find the best course in the area.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.