Leadville, CO
Colorado Mountain College, Leadville Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 184ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Unbelievable views !

1    8/7/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: KennyM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 miles high mountain vista are breathtaking - literally!
Two different courses between front and back 9.
Clever layout that makes great use of the terrain.
Did I mention the views?
Cons: Extremely dissapointed with lack of markings which make it really tough for a 1st time group. Nothing was marked and there was no help anywhere, we just had to wonder around and try to figure it out. Next time I go back I'm bringing some tape and a marker pen. Come-on locals play nice!
Several holes where you really need to send forward a scout because the brush is thick and heavy for all but the longest players.
Other Thoughts: They don't call it the rockies for nothing, this course will chew up your discs so bring the "B" discs. It's high up so bring sun screen and a jacket along with lots of liquid and take it easy on this gorgeous and most unique DGC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    7/25/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Low traffic mountain course with well designed holes, nice views, and variety. Fun to play.
Cons: Missing one basket on #3, very inconsistent tee markers - some missing / broken / unreadable. Hard to find first tee without direction from someone.
Other Thoughts: I went up in July when no one was on campus and could find nothing to point to the course. A lot of construction makes the directions given pretty much useless. The "soccer" fields - is really stretching it. There is a big overgrown field that looks like they might hold some sort of athletic activity - but it is just a natural field - no "grass" as the directions imply. Basically follow the road to the college - staying to the left and circle around the campus to the back side. There is a road that seems to head back away from the main parking lots and it has a gate across it. Beyond the gate - to the right is a field (thats your soccer field). Park at or near the gate and walk a few hundred yards. Walk almost the length of the field - then turn left off the trail and head up toward a big dirt pile. As you face the pile, the tee is to the right of it, looking over a ravine to the basket. From there its pretty easy to follow the course - tee #2 is to the left of the #1 basket. Hole one is nice - reminds me of first hole at Tabernash a bit. 2 and 3 are pretty boring, straight holes - #3 basket is missing all together with just a blue barrel to aim for. the next several holes wind through the trees - with relatively tight alleys - but more open than Beaver Ranch - keep it low. After 8 or so it opens up a bit more - with some nice views and elevation changes moving into scrub sage areas and crossing over a cool bike path a few times. The finishing hole is a nice signature hole - blind shot from an elevated tee. Overall I really enjoyed this course - it was fun to play, easy to follow once you found it and offered plenty of challenge. No water and relatively low lost disc quotient.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Mountain HIGH

1    6/2/2003   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
Pros: Spectacular views, spectacular views, spectacular views. Fun, tight shots through the woods (putter will do nicely on many of these) with some relatively open holes among the pines (and rocks). Fun course in an awesome setting. Who cares about the score, its LEADVILLE!
Cons: Some blind shots require spotters if you do not have good control. The discs get tore up on the rocks, but who cares, its 2 miles high!
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my kids and we had a wonderful time. This part of Colorado is very beautiful, with Twin Lakes and the pass into Aspen down the road.

 

7/12/2006   4/22/2008
Review By: Savage27
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Challenging. Need accurate shots on the front nine to compete. Course has several slight elevation changes.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc. Front nine is ridiculously tight through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Has a good variety of long open shots and short tight ones. Course is in good shape.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.