Leadville, CO 
Colorado Mountain College - Leadville Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun Course-Fun Town

5+    8/7/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: nightwing
Played: 144  Reviewed: 32
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many-See Note Below
Cons: Only a few-See Note Below
Other Thoughts: NOTE: 'MarkMCC' wrote a very solid review of the course on June 6, 2016. So I am keeping my review short: a few hopefully helpful details.

I played the 3 round 'Get The Lead Out' tournament, along with 3 practice rounds, the first week of August. I enjoyed the course, especially the relative lack of non-players and the 'almost outback' surroundings. The course played pretty long for the Rec/ Older AMs but it was a good test for anyone from about Intermediate on up to local pros.

I do think that strong players will find that only a few shots will tame the course. I threw the same Hyzer Flip putters/ short mid-ranges several times on the front, and the same 'High Anhi Forehand over the trees' a few times on the back. Throw in 3 sweeping RHBH drives on 1, 14 and 18 and I can't say that 'every shot in the bag' was needed.

The concrete pads were pretty good. The course could use some mid-tees, especially on 11 through 17, which require too much 'over-the-top hucking' for many players. A few baskets were dinged but they worked OK.

Bring everything: there are no facilities and the course plays away from your car.

For Those Debating whether to make the drive: If you like solid courses in nice places, go for it. But if you live for endless variety and signature holes, I would only give this course about a 3.6.

For Those Playing Blind: Go all the way to the back parking area, and walk out the wide, gated dirt road about 500'. Tee #1 is then diagonally left about another 175' or so. The course is easy to follow, but you will want to walk WAY forward of some of the back nine tees to see the basket and plan a route.

Tip: Check out #18 while you play the #9 green. The basket is just to your right. The Tee is well up above you to your left. Also, after leaving #17, you take a left on the wide service path where the old path is Xed out with branches.

For LowLanders: Yes, playing at 10k is a thang. Bring water, take your time. And if you ever watched a Colorado Rockies game, you know your 'curveball' ain't gonna curve as much in the thin air unless you make it.

For Those Staying in Leadville: Take time to enjoy a unique scene. Can't recommend the nearby Super 8....try something a mile up in town. But for nearby food, 'The Grill' is a gem after 4pm. Huge Mexican Bar and Grill scene: Cross the highway as you exit the college, then take the first right on Elm...it's only 2 blocks.
In town, the Tennessee Pass was pretty rockin.

Speaking of 'Rockin', CMC is a No Alcohol-No Drugs campus.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Going to shit

5+    5/25/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: HSChronic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is very technical employing most of the discs in your bag. Holes vary from long to short and up to down. Trees line most holes with natural openings for fairways. The back nine is a little more open and flat giving you more room for thumbers and forehands.
Cons: Missing baskets on 4 and 6. Graffiti on most signs and garbage lining some holes. Baskets that are still in are old and falling apart.
Other Thoughts: I used to love this course. It was one of my favorites to play. I would drive from Denver to play it. Now with the new Lake Dillon DGC I don't see a reason to come out here. CMC or whomever maintains this course needs to put in some money into this course. This is a perfect example of what happens to a course when you don't maintain it. It was a 5-star course but now with missing baskets and no maintenance it seems to be going downhill quickly.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unbelievable views !

1    8/7/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: KennyM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 miles high mountain vista are breathtaking - literally!
Two different courses between front and back 9.
Clever layout that makes great use of the terrain.
Did I mention the views?
Cons: Extremely dissapointed with lack of markings which make it really tough for a 1st time group. Nothing was marked and there was no help anywhere, we just had to wonder around and try to figure it out. Next time I go back I'm bringing some tape and a marker pen. Come-on locals play nice!
Several holes where you really need to send forward a scout because the brush is thick and heavy for all but the longest players.
Other Thoughts: They don't call it the rockies for nothing, this course will chew up your discs so bring the "B" discs. It's high up so bring sun screen and a jacket along with lots of liquid and take it easy on this gorgeous and most unique DGC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    7/25/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Low traffic mountain course with well designed holes, nice views, and variety. Fun to play.
Cons: Missing one basket on #3, very inconsistent tee markers - some missing / broken / unreadable. Hard to find first tee without direction from someone.
Other Thoughts: I went up in July when no one was on campus and could find nothing to point to the course. A lot of construction makes the directions given pretty much useless. The "soccer" fields - is really stretching it. There is a big overgrown field that looks like they might hold some sort of athletic activity - but it is just a natural field - no "grass" as the directions imply. Basically follow the road to the college - staying to the left and circle around the campus to the back side. There is a road that seems to head back away from the main parking lots and it has a gate across it. Beyond the gate - to the right is a field (thats your soccer field). Park at or near the gate and walk a few hundred yards. Walk almost the length of the field - then turn left off the trail and head up toward a big dirt pile. As you face the pile, the tee is to the right of it, looking over a ravine to the basket. From there its pretty easy to follow the course - tee #2 is to the left of the #1 basket. Hole one is nice - reminds me of first hole at Tabernash a bit. 2 and 3 are pretty boring, straight holes - #3 basket is missing all together with just a blue barrel to aim for. the next several holes wind through the trees - with relatively tight alleys - but more open than Beaver Ranch - keep it low. After 8 or so it opens up a bit more - with some nice views and elevation changes moving into scrub sage areas and crossing over a cool bike path a few times. The finishing hole is a nice signature hole - blind shot from an elevated tee. Overall I really enjoyed this course - it was fun to play, easy to follow once you found it and offered plenty of challenge. No water and relatively low lost disc quotient.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Mountain HIGH

1    6/2/2003   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 37.7 Years
Pros: Spectacular views, spectacular views, spectacular views. Fun, tight shots through the woods (putter will do nicely on many of these) with some relatively open holes among the pines (and rocks). Fun course in an awesome setting. Who cares about the score, its LEADVILLE!
Cons: Some blind shots require spotters if you do not have good control. The discs get tore up on the rocks, but who cares, its 2 miles high!
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my kids and we had a wonderful time. This part of Colorado is very beautiful, with Twin Lakes and the pass into Aspen down the road.

 

7/12/2006   4/22/2008
Review By: Savage27
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Challenging. Need accurate shots on the front nine to compete. Course has several slight elevation changes.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc. Front nine is ridiculously tight through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Has a good variety of long open shots and short tight ones. Course is in good shape.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.