Leadville, CO 
Colorado Mountain College - Leadville Share
Uploaded By: larryp40 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 418ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Super fun!

1    10/12/2012   10/12/2014
Review By: JVonD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.8 Years
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Good coarse design. Figure 8 will bring you back to the beginning after 9. Thin corridors through tight trees are challenging. Accuracy is crucial. Privacy is great. Not to many roll outs.
Cons: No water shot. No unique obstacle designs. Not to many big hyzer opportunities. Tough trees.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't give it above 3 because of there being no water or unique features I'd expect from a higher rated course. Besides that its one of the more fun courses around Colorado and I'd recommend it.

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Among the best free courses in Colorado

1    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: TeeDoubleU
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) 14 out of 18 holes are a delight!
2) Elevation change. Lots of courses in Colorado boast elevation changes, but few use the terrain so well. Here "elevation change" doesn't mean "throw straight up a cliff, because we had to wedge a hole in here somehow," instead players will enjoy two massive drives across a deep ravine, one long, winding, narrow downhill, two scenic graceful holes that gradually decline and elegantly bend, and some uphill plays that are genuinely interesting.
3) A great variety of distances. Too often it seems like designers throw in some obligatory shorties to keep new players happy, but here, the <250ft holes offer meaningful challenges and can just as easily trip you up as the longer holes.
4) A classic figure 8 layout. In addition to the obvious value of this layout, CMC is benefited even further because the front and back nine play very differently, and this layout gives players with limited time the option of conveniently playing whichever nine they're in the mood for.
5) Intuitive course flow and quality tee signage make it easy to navigate the course on the first try. Although I think this course, like most, would benefit from a few more "next tee" signs, the paths from baskets to tees are so well-worn that players should be able to figure it out.
6) Most the course plays, not just through a wooded area, but the right kind of wooded area. So often wooded courses are a brambled mess just feet off the fairway, but CMC Leadville has fairways flanked by beautiful pine forests that are light on undergrowth and low-hanging branches making it possible to find recovery lanes after errant shots. Also, it's the kind of forest one can walk through and enjoy.
7) Holes 1-12 and hole 18. The front nine has a very consistent feel while still offering a variety of challenges and opportunities. Hole 10, in addition to being fun to play, is simply beautiful. Hole 18 is a silly-fun way to wrap up as players are given the opportunity to fire back across the gully at full force.
Cons: CMC Leadville came highly recommended, and I wasn't disappointed, but it's not perfect. Building and maintaining a disc golf course is hard and I offer these light critiques respectfully, and with a spirit of appreciation toward those who did/do the work to make the course happen.
1) If the college would allow it, some signage at the parking lot would be helpful. The first tee is quite a distance away from the campus and it's hard to find.
2) Some of the baskets are getting pretty beat up - to the point that it affects shots. Also, basket heights aren't consistent.
3) Holes 13-17. This may be nothing more than a matter of taste, but I just don't appreciate the holes that feel like one is throwing into a forest with no obvious flight path toward a basket with no approach avenue. I enjoy pulling out the overhand approach, and I like the natural feel, but these holes on the back nine felt like they weren't designed with nearly the care that was put into the others. Of course, there may be all sorts of land use reasons for this that I don't understand.
4) I'm not sure, but I suspect that this land was either a landfill or was/is a landfill service road. On the lower elevation holes like 1,9,10, 11, and 18, there's broken glass everywhere; far more than the lazy drunk that carelessly discards a bottle here or there. I'd strongly recommend skipping the sandals on this course in favor of solid closed-toed shoes or boots.
This isn't a negative reflection on the course designers, maintenance team, or regular players. It's clear the glass issue isn't their fault, and, as long as you're wearing shoes, it doesn't affect play.
5) The course crosses over itself on four holes. Normally this is an enormous turn off for me, but it wasn't all that odious at CMC. In fact it was sort of fun playing under the golfers driving on one while I drove on nine. They were respectful of me and I returned the favor; it wasn't an issue. Plus it was fun to watch their drives from directly below while still feeling safe. It's not an angle I get to watch the sport from very often.
As I type it occurs to me that this con may be a pro in its own way.
Other Thoughts: This course gets an awful lot right, and it's just plain fun - which, I think, is still the point of the sport. For an experienced player, it will feel like unwrapping a very thoughtful Christmas gift from someone who knows you well. For newer players a few holes will feel daunting, but most will provide healthy, non-soul-crushing challenges that will prompt improvement.
The glass thing isn't a big deal if you know it's coming, and the course is still absolutely stunning. The course by no means feels like a trash pit (there are garbage barrels at every tee box and the place is totally free of litter).
If you're from Colorado and you love disc golf, you've probably played this course aplenty. If you're not, make sure to put it on the list of must-plays for your next road trip through the Centennial State.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: chainbang
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Brand new tee signs with pin location. Awesome course. Super technical front 9. Wide open for the majority of the back 9. Nice to have the contrast.
Cons: A couple of holes that could really use a few less trees(12) In particular
Other Thoughts: A tournament here would be awesome!!!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/12/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The front 9 is in a amazing pine grove. It has some real cool shot. Lots of garbage cans and benches. Good tee pads and baskets
Cons: The back 9 is not quite as good as the front 9 its mostly wide open long shots. In a much more desert like area with lots of sage.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in Colorado.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc'n

1    7/24/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: mtndiscs11
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Very diverse course terrain with great basket placement
-Front nine tight and technical making every shot selection tough and the need to use every type shot in you bag
-Great elevation changes with again the placement of the baskets well thought of
-Hole 18 is incredible and for my 1st time playing "EAGLE" is exceptionally a great memory
-Great views and plenty of beautiful country to look at

Cons: Tough to find the basket placement for a 1st timer and could use a little better marking system on the baskets themselves. Otherwise just maybe some more trash cans to help eliminate the trash from those that don't understand how to pick up after themselves.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course and by far one of my all time favorites now. Look forward to meeting you again Leadville course!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning Course

2-4    8/9/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ChargerRacing
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great mix of shots and wide variety of terrain.
- Unbelievable views, simply can't be beat. One that sticks out in my mind is number 10. After coming out of the more tight and technical front nine we came to hole number 10 which was a more open sagebrush valley looking west towards Mt. Massive just before sunset. This is the single most memorable hole I've ever played.
- Some absolutely great holes on the course. Starting right away on hole number 1, the course challenges you. Other standout holes for me are 10, 12, and 18.
- The front and back nine have their own distinct character. The front is a more tight and closed in woods course, while the back is a more open sagebrush dominated course with much shorter trees.
- This course requires every kind of shot. From big hyzers and anhyzers to tomahawks and s-curves, this course requires that you use every shot in your bag.
- Excellent layout. The course was incredibly easy to follow even for a first time player. The stone lined paths really helped.
- Did I mention some incredible views?
Cons: - Signage was near nonexistant which was problematic at times, but never left you wondering where to go.
- For a first time player, the goals could use some sort of color so you can distinguish them from the trees on some holes.
- Number nine's basket was missing altogether, so we had to play to number 18.
Other Thoughts: Despite some maintenance problems, this course is absolutely phenomenal. I loved the shots required of you and the wonderful variety throughout the 18 holes. Add to this an incredible location and you have an outstanding course. It left a mark on me, and stands out as the single most enjoyable course I have played to this point. I must say I'm jealous of the residents of Leadville.

EDIT: The basket on number nine is now in place and someone tied flagging tape to all of the baskets, which have taken care of some of my cons. However, upon playing the course again, I feel like some fairways could use several trees cleared, just to give you a bit more of a fairway. My overall impression of the course is still the same though.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mountain Course

2-4    7/4/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very good course design. The front nine are wooded with tighter fairways while the back nine opens up a little bit more. The course has a lot of baskets guarded by trees. This course punishes you for bad shots as if you go off the fairway you will usually find your self in some tight trees. The course has a lot of elevation changes, including some really awesome downhill shots and hole 12 is an awesome through straight uphill over some trees.
-Concrete teepads
-The course flow is really easy to follow and most of the holes have rock lined paths between them leading the way to the next holes, making the holes really easy to find.
-The course has some beautiful views of Mt. Massive and Mt. Elbert, the two tallest mountains in Colorado.
Update: July 2012- There are quite nice new tee-signs and the missing basket is back
Cons: -The tee-pads are a little short and it would be nice if they were a little longer.
-Several of the holes play really close or over each other which could lead to some safety issues especially when the course is crowded
Other Thoughts: This course finally got maintained and fixed up a little bit which definitely improved it. It is a great course with a wide variety of holes, a good mix of distance and open and wooded fairways. This course is definitely worth traveling to, if you are anywhere near Leadville definitely make a stop at this course, you wont regret it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Leadville = Awesome

5+    8/8/2010   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the top 5 courses in Colorado. At 10,000 feet a mountain course rarely gets better than this. I call it a "professional course" because while it may not be maintained every day, the layout and design of the course is clearly professional. Beautiful fairways cut out between the pine trees are in a perfect mixture with natural formations within the woods. The course starts out a bit hard to find, but once you are there it is well worth it. The front nine are much more technical, short, and have much tighter fairways. The back nine are more "free" mountain holes in terms of manicuring the fairways, and require much longer (yet just as accurate bombs). This course will certainly take every throw in your bag! Hyzers, anhyzers, s-curves, bombers, thumbers, scoobies, and tomahawks. When... and yes I say when, not if... you get stuck in the woods, expect to get creative and take some risks. The course requires a lot of hiking, and is at 10,000 feet in elevation, and will take a group of two fit guys about two hours to play. I have ran and played the course myself which took about 1.25 hours with no distractions. While this is fairly tucked in the backwoods, it is very easy to find your way from hole to hole. Leadville is certainly the most beautiful course I have ever been to: Gorgeous red, brown and white rock, loads of pine trees, and a majority of the time there are gorgeous views of 14,000 ft. snowcapped peaks and that blue Colorado sky. This course is also rarely visited, and in the six times I have played here I have only ran into four other groups of people (and that includes running solo past three groups). There is not much else to say besides this place is gorgeous, very technical, very long, very hard, and extremely well thought out. It would be wrong to miss this course if you are in the area… they don't make too many like this one.


After playing this course 10 or so times I have come to the conclusion that holes 2-9 are truly what make this course unique, ultra challenging, professional, and entertaining. These 8 holes are some of my favorite ever. Very tight lines beautifully cut out through chunks of tight forest. Straight away gaps, deep hooks, and one cut out anhyzer (hole 5, one of my favorites). After hole 9 the course was clearly left as is, and no trees were removed. While the back 9 are more open spaces with scattered trees, they are still very fun. They are not SUPER creative, but the distances and pin placements make them very hard. While they are all fairly similar, you will not find yourself getting bored with shot style, as each hole still requires a different shot and has a fairly well define "fairway" you want to hit.
Cons: This course is a bit in the middle of nowhere.... but thats probably what makes it so uncrowded and gives it such a relaxed vibe.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites in the state. It is a very hard course, but can be played extremely well if the proper lines are hit. Play it. Disc at 10,000 feet.

I probably would rate this course a 3.5, but holes 2-8 really make this course for me! Enough to bump it up a half point. The back 9 truly only gets a bit boring after you have been a regular at this course for some time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Your way the hell up there now

1    8/26/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very lovely place for a course,Beautiful scenery of Mt.Massive,pines and purple sage.Course flows thru the dense forest nicely,fairways definately wide enough to gun thru yet tight enough to mess up a few skilled players.The use of the elevation is decent as well.
Cons: Every hole is right in front of you. holeHole 1 and 18 were the only long holes.No baskets are tucked into the dense forest.Usually college courses lie this way not sure why.Makes it easier alot easier.Or another way to put it boring.Make the course longer, harder utilize the environs to the utmost tuck some baskets into the woods a little.
Other Thoughts: The purple sage here was really fun to play thru at 10152 feet Similar to the fields of it at Fire Mountain in Rifle.Definately one of the better courses i've played along the I-70 corridor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unbelievable views !

1    8/7/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: KennyM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 miles high mountain vista are breathtaking - literally!
Two different courses between front and back 9.
Clever layout that makes great use of the terrain.
Did I mention the views?
Cons: Extremely dissapointed with lack of markings which make it really tough for a 1st time group. Nothing was marked and there was no help anywhere, we just had to wonder around and try to figure it out. Next time I go back I'm bringing some tape and a marker pen. Come-on locals play nice!
Several holes where you really need to send forward a scout because the brush is thick and heavy for all but the longest players.
Other Thoughts: They don't call it the rockies for nothing, this course will chew up your discs so bring the "B" discs. It's high up so bring sun screen and a jacket along with lots of liquid and take it easy on this gorgeous and most unique DGC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.