Palisade, CO 
Riverbend Park Share
Uploaded By: bazillion Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 165ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Riverbend

5+    7/12/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: Moabrider
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course to practice long distance throws. Not alot of obstacles between teepads and baskets. Pro pads and beginner pads at some holes.Throws through the cottonwoods can be a challenge on windy days.Most of the baskets are clearly marked with numbers. Holes 14-18 located in a flatter' old park' area with giant cottonwoods offers well-established grassy area. Throws are directed around the trees by mandatory signage and are very well marked. Rest of course is less manicured, bordered by Colorado River, Book Cliffs and open space. Dogs so far have been well behaved!
Cons: Incomplete course, still under construction. Some confusion at holes 11, 12, 13?Looking forward to completion of this course! Signage is in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: Space is large, open and shared by rafters, boaters, joggers, dog walkers, family picnic people, and disc golfers. Restrooms available. Great place to hang out for the day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good course

1    11/4/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: dust4tears
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Beautiful park

Plenty of shots required

Very challenging

If played with the mandos (poorly marked) it add a lil' to it



Cons: This is my most played course and yet I loose discs a lot

No bathrooms

Nothing really telling you OB, Mandos... like the sidewalk on the back side

Dogs running up to you off the leash. (There are leash laws)

Can get busy with Dgers and other park activities
Other Thoughts: Overall I love this course and is where I am learning to play. So, it will always have a special place with me so it is biased.


1    4/25/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Nice park with green grass
-Good course to practice you distance on
-Benches at most of the tees
Cons: -Totally flat
-Pedestrians to get in the way
-Holes start to feel the same
Other Thoughts: Good Course with lots of good long distance shots. Bring your drivers!

 Disappointing

1    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: OK, so before you instantly hate this review because it doesn't glow with praise, please read the whole thing - particularly the "other" section - and drop me a PM. I'm willing to change my review because of the circumstances but as it stands ... well, read for yourself.

As for the "pro"s, this course fit nicely into its land - a long, narrow strip between the Colorado River and another body of water. It's an out-and-back configuration and generally plays in three sections.

The first section is deep in the woods, reminding me of Oak Grove in Pasadena, where lots of trees and heavy schule make shot precision a priority.

The second section (holes 8-12, IIRC) are 350-ish and more-or-less wide open.

The third section plays on groomed grass with mature trees that encourage shot-shaping. Think "park" and you'll have it.
Cons: Despite the scenery, I didn't find anything particularly interesting about this course. It's pretty average, in my opinion - certainly no signature holes.

The main problem I saw was that certain essential course elements were missing. For instance I could not find baskets on #1, #11 or #18, no tee pad on #11, and no signs on #12, 13 or 15. Judging from the other ratings this course has gotten, I may have played it on a bad day (see the "other" section) but still.
Other Thoughts: I played this course late in the afternoon after driving pretty much non-stop for the previous 28 hours. What this means, of course, is that it didn't take much to set me off.

The other thing that may have affected my playing experience was that they were having a wine-tasting festival of some sort at the same time. This could conceivably have been the reason why the pins on #1 and 18 were missing - I don't know.

If you're reading reviews to get an idea of what this course is like, I'd certainly take what I said above with a grain of salt - it could very well have been that NO course would have fared well, all things considered. Still, my experience was what it was and given that, I stand by my rating of "reasonable", at least for the time being.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice concrete tee-pads
-Tee-signs show a picture of the hole that give a good overview of the hole
-Some of the holes play through a nice wooded area next to a small stream and have very nice challenge
-There are water hazards (including throwing over a lake on hole one) on several of the holes
-Many of the holes have benches on them
-The course is set in a park with some beautiful scenery and great views of the Colorado River.
-Most of the fairways are well kept (there is rough rough on the sides of the fairways but the fairways are wide enough to avoid it most of the time)
-The course has very nice bright baskets that are easy to see from the tee-pads
-There is a nice map of the course near the first hole
-With the one exception, the course is very easy to navigate, it is easy to know which hole to go to next.
-Many of the holes have AM and PRO tee-pads (the AM tee-pads help avoid some of the more difficult obstacles on the holes, which is nice if you are playing with a newer player)
-Pretty good variety of distances on the course
-Alternate pin positions on many of the holes
Cons: -While there are many well designed holes on this course, I also feel that it has a few too many wide open holes with very few obstacles on them
-The tee-signs don't list the distance of each hole, which is a shame because otherwise they are nice tee-signs
-There were several holes on the course that were missing there tee-signs
-Hole 11 didn't have a concrete tee-pad for the PRO tee-pad (I assume i was in the right spot, there was a tee-sign there and the picture showed a concrete tee-pad but there was no concrete tee-pad there, I did find a concrete AM tee-pad for the hole).
-There is a walking path that comes into play on some of the holes
-The tee-pad for 17 is almost right next to the tee-pad for 16, so you have to walk back up the fairway of 16 to get back to it. The tee-pad for 18 is right next to the basket for 16 so it can be a little confusing finding hole 17.
-I feel like the course design could have taken better advantage of the available water to add more risk reward to the course.
-There is a somewhat long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18, where you either have to walk back down the fairway of hole 1 or go a ways around the fairway to get back to your car.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could rate this a 3.75 because I don't feel like it is quite a 4 but I feel like it is a little better than a 3.5. This course has a lot of fun well designed challenging holes but I also feel like there are a few too many wide open holes on the course. This is definitely a course to stop at though because it is a very beautiful, enjoyable round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Watercourse.

1    4/11/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: nightwing
Played: 81  Reviewed: 19
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of water challenges.
-Some left right and tree shots
-Setting between The Colorado and The Palisades.
-Playable pads, baskets, layout. Nice easy time.

Cons: No up or down shots and some discs that won't get found.(Not that the designer could have changed this. It's just the way it is on a flat layout by a major river).
Other Thoughts: Bring beater discs or just throw it straight.
Enjoy this beautiful and unique setting.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 palisade april 2012

2-4    4/2/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: eryn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very open area. Lots of twisty tree filled fairway's.
Cons: Bugs, sun, wind, water. Lost 2 discs first day, came back next day. Disc were retrieved and no calls. :( don't lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: Wear substantial sunscreen. After 2 days was cherry red with sunstroke!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Know Thy Course

1    10/15/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful setting ont he western slope of Colorado. The course plays right along the Colorado River for better or worse. The tee pads are consistent cement pads. There are some very fun holes that provide a diverse playing experience that ranges from open holes to open holes with trouble near baskets to tight wooded holes. There are some great holes that play right along the edge of the Colorado river that make you appreciate the power of the river. Other water ont eh course keeps things interesting with OB in play on about half the holes. The course is in a nice city park that does have other amenities though the amenities are on the other side of the park. There are some really nice benches on a few holes. Descent hole signs and a good flow to the course. There are short tees for more novice players. These tees do make a significant difference in the difficulty of the course.
Cons: While all the baskets are nice, they are inconsistent due to the loss of some baskets due to major floods this year. There is very little elevation change and there are a few too many open holes. There is a biking/walking path that runs through some of the hoels along the Colorado river so there is some pedestrian traffic. There are some nice random ditches around the course that prevent straight line walking in a couple of spots from one hole to the next. There are a lot of mando signs around the course. Most are in play and really do not add a whole lote to the course. Some mandos are apparently for only the long or short tees but there is not much to tell you about this.
Other Thoughts: The course has undergone a redesign this year as part of the course was wiped out by major flooding this past spring. The course itself is really nice with the supposed new and redesigned holes playing well. Rumor has it that the course is typically more windy in the morning than later in the days becasue of where the course is located. Wind makes the holes along the river very interesting. Between I-70 and the course you will pass a number of farmers fruit stands which are well worth the purchase if you are there in season. This area is also known for its wine vineyards and there are a couple of tasting rooms to stop by as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in western Colorado.

1    4/25/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course along the Colorado River which was once the place of the Colorado State DGC and I can see why. Great views of the nearby mountains, mesas, and the river itself. The park is easy to find and a sign is posted at the beginning of the course to show the overall layout of the course. The shots are a nice mix from open meadow to tighter wooded shots and a few have the river in play. Holes are mostly in the 250-350 range, with a few being longer. The tees and baskets are very nice and everything is well marked with signage. About half of the course has alternate pads for amateurs and most holes I noticed had multiple basket locations. Nice public park nearby with bathrooms. Two parking areas and two practice baskets are nice, with potential to use one as an alternate location for #18. This course can be enjoyed by beginners and pros alike.
Cons: This course can be crowded with pedestrians getting in the way on the back nine. The course is mostly flat with few elevation changes(this can be a plus if you have a stroller or push-cart). The river doesn't come into play as much as desired, like another reviewer said.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a must play if you are heading through the area on I-70.

Favorite holes: #3, #4, #5, #16

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Riverbend

1    10/10/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: FonzTYC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great course. Good mix of distance and accuracy holes. Amazing scenery and a breath taking view of Mt.Garfield.
Cons: Lots of dogs running around with no leashes picking up your discs.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the Grand Valley Disc Golf Club for and awesome course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.