Palisade, CO 
Riverbend Park Share
Uploaded By: bazillion Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 486ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 palisade april 2012

2-4    4/2/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: eryn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very open area. Lots of twisty tree filled fairway's.
Cons: Bugs, sun, wind, water. Lost 2 discs first day, came back next day. Disc were retrieved and no calls. :( don't lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: Wear substantial sunscreen. After 2 days was cherry red with sunstroke!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in western Colorado.

1    4/25/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course along the Colorado River which was once the place of the Colorado State DGC and I can see why. Great views of the nearby mountains, mesas, and the river itself. The park is easy to find and a sign is posted at the beginning of the course to show the overall layout of the course. The shots are a nice mix from open meadow to tighter wooded shots and a few have the river in play. Holes are mostly in the 250-350 range, with a few being longer. The tees and baskets are very nice and everything is well marked with signage. About half of the course has alternate pads for amateurs and most holes I noticed had multiple basket locations. Nice public park nearby with bathrooms. Two parking areas and two practice baskets are nice, with potential to use one as an alternate location for #18. This course can be enjoyed by beginners and pros alike.
Cons: This course can be crowded with pedestrians getting in the way on the back nine. The course is mostly flat with few elevation changes(this can be a plus if you have a stroller or push-cart). The river doesn't come into play as much as desired, like another reviewer said.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a must play if you are heading through the area on I-70.

Favorite holes: #3, #4, #5, #16

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just played it

1    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much has already been said. Make sure you take a look at previous reviews. This course is very challenging. Maybe not so much challenging as it is terrifying. There are so many ways to lose a disc that even just as a casual round I really felt the pressure. There is the Colorado River on all of the back nine, a deep and swift irrigation canal on the front nine, and a murky, marshy creek down the middle that plays on nearly all of the holes. There is even a "canyon" filled with water near the basket on eight. If I had known it was there when I threw my tee shot I would have certainly either thrown way short or gone in and lost my disc. My wife put a disc in the Colorado on twelve and she skipped most of the remaining holes. Twelve threw slightly away from the river and she still bounced in so she found a new way to lose a disc. It was either thirteen or fourteen the tee and basket were both just a step from the steep bank of the Colorado. How do you play that with any confidence? There were nice tee pads and most holes had two tee positions. Most holes had multiple basket locations. The scenery is spectacular. Definitely a top-notch course.
Cons: It gets very muddy on the lower grounds, but it wasn't too bad. Russian Olive trees suck! Look them up. They really suck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the valleys

5+    4/6/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Brad T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice setting near the river. Seen a few friends toss a couple in the mighty Colorado. Long open shots and some through the trees so you get both. All other reviews hit it right. There is a practice basket by parking lot you can warm up or toss a game of horse at the end.
Cons: No bathrooms in the middle of the course, so use the ones by the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Traveling through I-70 stop and give it a toss.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Giant Cottonwoods Along the River

1    8/22/2007   12/22/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Palisade Colorado is a hidden gem tucked in between the Grand Mesa and the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains. Palisade is a small Colorado town just east of Grand Junction an area in which summertime lasts a little bit longer than in the rest of Colorado. It is known for peach orchards wine vineyards, supper hot summer temperatures and is home to one of the best courses in the state, Riverbend Park.

This course gets high marks for being the most true course in the Grand Junction area in the sense that it's the most tournament ready course of all the area courses. Riverbend has solid concrete tee pads, honest basket placements, signs, and logical fairways with no crisscrosses or other park amenities interfering. It is a long course with only three holes less than three hundred feet and five holes over five hundred feet long. The course is easy to navigate as you go out in one direction the first nine holes and then you come back toward the start for the back nine. The park, parking, and first tee are all easy to find. All of the tight wooded areas are very mature. The open areas make up for being open by playing long. Some mandatories are in place to make the course more fun and interesting. I love how secluded the park is, at times all you have keeping you company is the sound of the river.

There are many characteristics and little touches that I find make a great course present. Its mostly in a natural setting and yet is near a park so that facilities are near. The views are fantastic. The markings, next tee, mandos, signs, trails to the next tee box are all well kept. One hole I remember in particular, was boring open and flat, so they had the basket on a raised mound, which made the hole memorable. It is very clear that the local club or park take very good care of this course and have given proper thought into what makes a good round of disc golf.
Cons: Riverbend Park is flat and the Colorado River does not come into play as much as one might imagine it should. There is a restroom at the park but you will not want to hear natures call if you are near the turnaround. An August trip might be too much if you cannot handle heat well. There is a dank murky disc eating irrigation switch in play to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: As usual, Martinb is dead on, especially when he says, "This course is a must play if you are traveling on I-70 through the Grand Junction area." Next time I find myself in this area, you can bet that Riverbend Park is at the top of my list.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 River Bend @ Palisade

7/1/2007   7/10/2007
Review By: mesaranger
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open fairways for good drives
Alley way shots that demand disc control. Great place for the family.
All pro teeboxes have a bench by them
Cons: No signs, no maps,
Other Thoughts: This is the Nicest Course we hav have in our valley. Palisdae provides agood experience for any at any level. it takes approx. 3 -3.5 hrs to play and is located in the a local park. Long holes and alley way shots, few hidden baskets and some good open fairways. If you are rolling through the Grand Junction area and want to play our nicest course stop in and play this beauty. There is a map of the course on our local site if your going to plan a trip (it is linked in this sites link section).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.