Palisade, CO 
Riverbend Park Share
Uploaded By: bazillion Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    9/5/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Unlimited
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of technical and long arm holes
Very dog friendly(no leash laws)
Great Views
Multiple tee pads (in some spots) for advanced and begginners
Plenty of trash cans and clean course
Cons: Disjointed on back half (holes taken out due to pedestrians getting hit)
Some smelling murky water in play close to some baskets (summer only)
Lots of clueless pedestrian traffic in areas


Other Thoughts: Great place to have a relaxing round, holes with heavy traffic have benches and shade. Be prepared to relax a bit during prime park times on weekends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty course on the Colorado River

1    8/11/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: ricklev
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Plenty of parking
-Nice grass on some holes and pretty scenery
-Smells like nature
-Some narrow fairways, if you like that kind of thing
-Colorado River -- Cool!
Cons: -Signage could be better
-In summer, mosquitoes have short season near the river. One dive bombed me, even though I had deet on. Carry "After Bite" or some other after bite stuff.
-Can be very hot in summer
Other Thoughts: I only had time to play 4 holes, but if I lived here I would play often. The course was a challenge for an intermediate senior player like myself, so I would enjoy getting better here. It's awesome to be able to play on the Colorado River.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun city park course.

1    3/20/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: Mbrad43
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tunnel shots 3-7. Decently maintained. Lots of green. (Not typical of the area.) Stretch the arm out on 8-10.
Cons: Holes 11-13 do NOT flow. Could have better next tee signage and better use of available land. Holes 16-18 unplayable during a sunny weekend day due to oblivious dog owners and foot traffic on the walking path. This one dude had six dogs running loose and no one gave a sh$! about me trying to tee. I'm not into hitting people with discs or having a dog put some holes in my plastic.
Other Thoughts: Need to educate people in the Palisade area of the dual usage nature of the park. Many folks I've encountered had no idea what the baskets were for. It's a beautiful park that could be a great place to golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course except...

2-4    9/4/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: tkconlon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Pretty flat.
2. two tees on many holes - makes it more fun for us lesser experienced players
3. Photos at each tee showing where the basket is.
4. Tees and baskets labeled
Cons: 1. Could not find #11 and #13 baskets and #12 tee (twice)
2. Pretty flat.
3. Beginner tees could use some signage.
4. Photos at tee could be better, especially #8.
5. Signs at tees could indicate distance to basket.
Other Thoughts: Need to locate baskets #11 and 13.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

def worth playing

1    8/21/2015   8/21/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very intuitive layout.
lots of water without danger of losing discs.
great tree hazards.
really cool course
Cons: more horses on course than i would like.
no elevation change.
high grass off fairway.
Other Thoughts: needs some T&L, but otherwise ha all the right elements!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the better courses in the Grand Junction area.

2-4    8/7/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: HammerThrow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of different challenges for both beginners and advanced players.
-Some holes have tees for kids.
-Beautiful scenery.
-Benches or picnic tables at almost every tee.
-Tees and baskets are in pretty good condition.
-Lots of parking
Cons: -Could use updated signs. A lot of them are faded, incorrect, or in need of repair. It would also be nice if the signs pointed to the next hole.
-Hard to find some tees and baskets (Mostly holes 11 through 13)
-Sometimes have to deal with people passing through the park on holes 15-18. Most people seem to be oblivious that disc golfers are trying to play.
-Lots of bugs in the late afternoon/evening. I'd suggest bringing bug spray.
-Some trash scattered around the course. Could use a couple extra trash cans scattered through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course would be a lot better if it was more complete. The confusion on holes 11 to 13 leave a bit to be desired as I feel like I'm never playing a full game. Also just updating the signs at the holes would be a gigantic improvement. Other than that this is probably one of the better if not the best course in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Riverbend

5+    7/12/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: Moabrider
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course to practice long distance throws. Not alot of obstacles between teepads and baskets. Pro pads and beginner pads at some holes.Throws through the cottonwoods can be a challenge on windy days.Most of the baskets are clearly marked with numbers. Holes 14-18 located in a flatter' old park' area with giant cottonwoods offers well-established grassy area. Throws are directed around the trees by mandatory signage and are very well marked. Rest of course is less manicured, bordered by Colorado River, Book Cliffs and open space. Dogs so far have been well behaved!
Cons: Incomplete course, still under construction. Some confusion at holes 11, 12, 13?Looking forward to completion of this course! Signage is in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: Space is large, open and shared by rafters, boaters, joggers, dog walkers, family picnic people, and disc golfers. Restrooms available. Great place to hang out for the day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    11/4/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: dust4tears
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park

Plenty of shots required

Very challenging

If played with the mandos (poorly marked) it add a lil' to it



Cons: This is my most played course and yet I loose discs a lot

No bathrooms

Nothing really telling you OB, Mandos... like the sidewalk on the back side

Dogs running up to you off the leash. (There are leash laws)

Can get busy with Dgers and other park activities
Other Thoughts: Overall I love this course and is where I am learning to play. So, it will always have a special place with me so it is biased.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/25/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 103  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Nice park with green grass
-Good course to practice you distance on
-Benches at most of the tees
Cons: -Totally flat
-Pedestrians to get in the way
-Holes start to feel the same
Other Thoughts: Good Course with lots of good long distance shots. Bring your drivers!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: OK, so before you instantly hate this review because it doesn't glow with praise, please read the whole thing - particularly the "other" section - and drop me a PM. I'm willing to change my review because of the circumstances but as it stands ... well, read for yourself.

As for the "pro"s, this course fit nicely into its land - a long, narrow strip between the Colorado River and another body of water. It's an out-and-back configuration and generally plays in three sections.

The first section is deep in the woods, reminding me of Oak Grove in Pasadena, where lots of trees and heavy schule make shot precision a priority.

The second section (holes 8-12, IIRC) are 350-ish and more-or-less wide open.

The third section plays on groomed grass with mature trees that encourage shot-shaping. Think "park" and you'll have it.
Cons: Despite the scenery, I didn't find anything particularly interesting about this course. It's pretty average, in my opinion - certainly no signature holes.

The main problem I saw was that certain essential course elements were missing. For instance I could not find baskets on #1, #11 or #18, no tee pad on #11, and no signs on #12, 13 or 15. Judging from the other ratings this course has gotten, I may have played it on a bad day (see the "other" section) but still.
Other Thoughts: I played this course late in the afternoon after driving pretty much non-stop for the previous 28 hours. What this means, of course, is that it didn't take much to set me off.

The other thing that may have affected my playing experience was that they were having a wine-tasting festival of some sort at the same time. This could conceivably have been the reason why the pins on #1 and 18 were missing - I don't know.

If you're reading reviews to get an idea of what this course is like, I'd certainly take what I said above with a grain of salt - it could very well have been that NO course would have fared well, all things considered. Still, my experience was what it was and given that, I stand by my rating of "reasonable", at least for the time being.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.