Palisade, CO 
Riverbend Park Share
Uploaded By: bazillion Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 360ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Just played it

1    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much has already been said. Make sure you take a look at previous reviews. This course is very challenging. Maybe not so much challenging as it is terrifying. There are so many ways to lose a disc that even just as a casual round I really felt the pressure. There is the Colorado River on all of the back nine, a deep and swift irrigation canal on the front nine, and a murky, marshy creek down the middle that plays on nearly all of the holes. There is even a "canyon" filled with water near the basket on eight. If I had known it was there when I threw my tee shot I would have certainly either thrown way short or gone in and lost my disc. My wife put a disc in the Colorado on twelve and she skipped most of the remaining holes. Twelve threw slightly away from the river and she still bounced in so she found a new way to lose a disc. It was either thirteen or fourteen the tee and basket were both just a step from the steep bank of the Colorado. How do you play that with any confidence? There were nice tee pads and most holes had two tee positions. Most holes had multiple basket locations. The scenery is spectacular. Definitely a top-notch course.
Cons: It gets very muddy on the lower grounds, but it wasn't too bad. Russian Olive trees suck! Look them up. They really suck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the valleys

5+    4/6/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Brad T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice setting near the river. Seen a few friends toss a couple in the mighty Colorado. Long open shots and some through the trees so you get both. All other reviews hit it right. There is a practice basket by parking lot you can warm up or toss a game of horse at the end.
Cons: No bathrooms in the middle of the course, so use the ones by the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Traveling through I-70 stop and give it a toss.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tournament Course

2-4    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very beautiful setting. You keep looking up at the Mesas and say "It's great to be playing disc golf here!" I played this in a tournament after a very unseasonal set of rainy days. This added a lot of additional challange. If you threw the disc into the Colorado River, it was intantly on its way to Mexico. Also, the small, very still, swampy creek that runs down the middle could prevent you from ever seeing your disc if you hit that because it was so merky. So, it made the course extremely challanging and fun to play.
Cons: I played it under tournament conditions. The sidewalk and the side of the sidewalk that the basket wasn't on was OB. This made hole 15 VERY difficult for us shorter arms. But, I can't complain about that it is just more motivation to learn my X-step. Hole #4 also was extremely difficult for shorter arms. Both holes didn't have an conservative path. There are a lot of Russian Olive trees along both the creek and the River. You have to be very careful of their thorns.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course, it is great for tournaments. I understand that for the Colorado open they made the fairways even Tighter. It is really scary to be throwing at the Colorado river on hole 11, this sticks with you on most of the back 9, making it exciting, because in the back of your mind you are thinking "If my disc doesn't hyzer back onto the course I will never see it again!" If it is sunny, bring lots of water and wear a hat, this area can dehydrate you pretty fast!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long, flat, and fun!

1    8/12/2008   6/11/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat area along the Colorado river and a parallel irrigation ditch. There are Open fields and large stands of cottonwoods and other trees mixed throughout the course. There is a great mix of holes through the trees for more technical challenges, and long open holes to test your long drives.

The course has very nice tee pads. All are large concrete pads, which were in great shape when I played. The course has adequate signage, and was very easy to follow. There was never a question of where to go next, or where you were shooting off the tee, even on the longer holes. The layout made sense, and had a nice flow with nine holes leading away from the parking lot, then nine playing back.

The course tests all kinds of shots, and had some interesting challenges throughout. A few holes have water in play, from a small pond to the Colorado river. These holes made for some cool risk/reward decisions. The holes with more trees seemed to be a decent mix of right and left turning, and there were plenty of straight ahead open field shots.

The park seemed very nicely maintained, from the course amenities to the landscaping. It's clear that the park and locals have worked together to make a very nice course here.
Cons: There is no elevation to speak of on this course, though on one of the open field holes the basket is on a raised mound. There are also fewer holes than I expected where the river comes into play. The river makes a great hazard, and I wished that it was used a little better on the back 9. There were also a few too many wide open shots for me, though at least they were long enough to be challenging for the most part.

There was a walking path that wound through much of the back 9, and I could see this being an issue if heavily used. It was not on the day I played, so it wasn't a big deal, but watch out for other park users on busy days. There was also a little bit of a walk back to the parking lot after 18, but nothing major.

Other Thoughts: The course is extremely easy to get to, so if you're on 70 anywhere near here stop by for a great round of disc golf. The course is accessible to beginners as long as they stay out of the brushy area around the irrigation ditch, and has enough longer and tougher holes to challenge more experienced players. I would definitely recommend stopping here to anyone who's in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Giant Cottonwoods Along the River

1    8/22/2007   12/22/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Palisade Colorado is a hidden gem tucked in between the Grand Mesa and the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains. Palisade is a small Colorado town just east of Grand Junction an area in which summertime lasts a little bit longer than in the rest of Colorado. It is known for peach orchards wine vineyards, supper hot summer temperatures and is home to one of the best courses in the state, Riverbend Park.

This course gets high marks for being the most true course in the Grand Junction area in the sense that it's the most tournament ready course of all the area courses. Riverbend has solid concrete tee pads, honest basket placements, signs, and logical fairways with no crisscrosses or other park amenities interfering. It is a long course with only three holes less than three hundred feet and five holes over five hundred feet long. The course is easy to navigate as you go out in one direction the first nine holes and then you come back toward the start for the back nine. The park, parking, and first tee are all easy to find. All of the tight wooded areas are very mature. The open areas make up for being open by playing long. Some mandatories are in place to make the course more fun and interesting. I love how secluded the park is, at times all you have keeping you company is the sound of the river.

There are many characteristics and little touches that I find make a great course present. Its mostly in a natural setting and yet is near a park so that facilities are near. The views are fantastic. The markings, next tee, mandos, signs, trails to the next tee box are all well kept. One hole I remember in particular, was boring open and flat, so they had the basket on a raised mound, which made the hole memorable. It is very clear that the local club or park take very good care of this course and have given proper thought into what makes a good round of disc golf.
Cons: Riverbend Park is flat and the Colorado River does not come into play as much as one might imagine it should. There is a restroom at the park but you will not want to hear natures call if you are near the turnaround. An August trip might be too much if you cannot handle heat well. There is a dank murky disc eating irrigation switch in play to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: As usual, Martinb is dead on, especially when he says, "This course is a must play if you are traveling on I-70 through the Grand Junction area." Next time I find myself in this area, you can bet that Riverbend Park is at the top of my list.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Palisades' Riverbend Park

5+    10/27/2007   8/19/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to from I-70 (less than a mile).
Not crowded. City has positive impact/support on course. Multiple teepads, am and pro. Teesigns.

Cons: Bathrooms in park but not near the disc golf course. Some small conflict with a walking path that has been installed through half the course, the back nine. Russian Olive trees, although the course has been vastly improved over the past few years by the local disc golf volunteers.

Other Thoughts: This course is the best in the Grand Junction area. It is an eighteen hole course playing along the Colorado River, very flat with mature foliage through the length of the course. From the parking lot, it plays out nine holes and back nine holes. Holes one and two are fairly wide open with a water hazard on one. Holes 3 through 6 have tight fairways through cottonwood and russian olive with an OB line on the left side of the fairways. Holes 7 through 18 are mostly wide open drives, with thick trees and bushes on both sides of the fairways and in some of those fairways to negotiate through, and a walking path you can treat as an OB line if you wish. The Colorado River comes into play on holes 11, 13 and 14 specifically. Mandatories on holes 4, 12, and 18.
The holes with the Colorado River in play, and the mandatory holes, makes placement on your drives critical for a successful round. Hole length is anywhere from 200 to 500+ feet. There is a bit of a walk from hole eighteen back to the parking lot, but is not too bad. Teepads for am and pro alike are available on almost all the holes, the shorter length holes having only one teepad. Teesigns are in good condition and have all the information you need. Most holes have benches or picnic tables to sit on. Because the terrain is so flat, this is the perfect course to use a pull/push cart. Especially with the nice concrete walking path provided by the city on the back nine. Rumor has it there may be a walking path through the front nine soon, which may create more conflict with non-disc golfers (08-19-08). Since its inception, the locals have done a fantastic job in clearing away a lot of the underbrush and nasty thorn-like foliage infused throughout the course, but if you stray from the preferred flight path on the shorter and tighter holes, you will be hating life, in jail, and giving blood. No part of the course is unfair, if you make a good drive you will be rewarded. If you make a bad drive you will suffer! Excellent risk/reward factor on this course.
For me this course plays a little bit too long for my weak arm (400 feet accurately on a good day), but is made up in the fact that the longer holes are wide open enough to be fair, and the shorter and tighter holes equalize the playing field by testing your accuracy skills 100%. Erosion and flooding this spring from the Colorado River has impacted the original course design on some of the back nine holes, so there may be a little tweeking in the near future to the course. This course is a must play if you are travelling on I-70 through the Grand Junction area.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 River Bend @ Palisade

7/1/2007   7/10/2007
Review By: mesaranger
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open fairways for good drives
Alley way shots that demand disc control. Great place for the family.
All pro teeboxes have a bench by them
Cons: No signs, no maps,
Other Thoughts: This is the Nicest Course we hav have in our valley. Palisdae provides agood experience for any at any level. it takes approx. 3 -3.5 hrs to play and is located in the a local park. Long holes and alley way shots, few hidden baskets and some good open fairways. If you are rolling through the Grand Junction area and want to play our nicest course stop in and play this beauty. There is a map of the course on our local site if your going to plan a trip (it is linked in this sites link section).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.