Palisade, CO 
Riverbend Park Share
Uploaded By: bazillion Hole #3 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice course except...

2-4    9/4/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: tkconlon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: 1. Pretty flat.
2. two tees on many holes - makes it more fun for us lesser experienced players
3. Photos at each tee showing where the basket is.
4. Tees and baskets labeled
Cons: 1. Could not find #11 and #13 baskets and #12 tee (twice)
2. Pretty flat.
3. Beginner tees could use some signage.
4. Photos at tee could be better, especially #8.
5. Signs at tees could indicate distance to basket.
Other Thoughts: Need to locate baskets #11 and 13.

def worth playing

1    8/21/2015   8/21/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
Pros: very intuitive layout.
lots of water without danger of losing discs.
great tree hazards.
really cool course
Cons: more horses on course than i would like.
no elevation change.
high grass off fairway.
Other Thoughts: needs some T&L, but otherwise ha all the right elements!

One of the better courses in the Grand Junction area.

2-4    8/7/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: HammerThrow
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
Pros: -Lots of different challenges for both beginners and advanced players.
-Some holes have tees for kids.
-Beautiful scenery.
-Benches or picnic tables at almost every tee.
-Tees and baskets are in pretty good condition.
-Lots of parking
Cons: -Could use updated signs. A lot of them are faded, incorrect, or in need of repair. It would also be nice if the signs pointed to the next hole.
-Hard to find some tees and baskets (Mostly holes 11 through 13)
-Sometimes have to deal with people passing through the park on holes 15-18. Most people seem to be oblivious that disc golfers are trying to play.
-Lots of bugs in the late afternoon/evening. I'd suggest bringing bug spray.
-Some trash scattered around the course. Could use a couple extra trash cans scattered through the course.
Other Thoughts: This course would be a lot better if it was more complete. The confusion on holes 11 to 13 leave a bit to be desired as I feel like I'm never playing a full game. Also just updating the signs at the holes would be a gigantic improvement. Other than that this is probably one of the better if not the best course in the area.


5+    7/12/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: Moabrider
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course to practice long distance throws. Not alot of obstacles between teepads and baskets. Pro pads and beginner pads at some holes.Throws through the cottonwoods can be a challenge on windy days.Most of the baskets are clearly marked with numbers. Holes 14-18 located in a flatter' old park' area with giant cottonwoods offers well-established grassy area. Throws are directed around the trees by mandatory signage and are very well marked. Rest of course is less manicured, bordered by Colorado River, Book Cliffs and open space. Dogs so far have been well behaved!
Cons: Incomplete course, still under construction. Some confusion at holes 11, 12, 13?Looking forward to completion of this course! Signage is in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: Space is large, open and shared by rafters, boaters, joggers, dog walkers, family picnic people, and disc golfers. Restrooms available. Great place to hang out for the day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    11/4/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: dust4tears
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Beautiful park

Plenty of shots required

Very challenging

If played with the mandos (poorly marked) it add a lil' to it

Cons: This is my most played course and yet I loose discs a lot

No bathrooms

Nothing really telling you OB, Mandos... like the sidewalk on the back side

Dogs running up to you off the leash. (There are leash laws)

Can get busy with Dgers and other park activities
Other Thoughts: Overall I love this course and is where I am learning to play. So, it will always have a special place with me so it is biased.


1    4/25/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 89  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Nice park with green grass
-Good course to practice you distance on
-Benches at most of the tees
Cons: -Totally flat
-Pedestrians to get in the way
-Holes start to feel the same
Other Thoughts: Good Course with lots of good long distance shots. Bring your drivers!


1    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: OK, so before you instantly hate this review because it doesn't glow with praise, please read the whole thing - particularly the "other" section - and drop me a PM. I'm willing to change my review because of the circumstances but as it stands ... well, read for yourself.

As for the "pro"s, this course fit nicely into its land - a long, narrow strip between the Colorado River and another body of water. It's an out-and-back configuration and generally plays in three sections.

The first section is deep in the woods, reminding me of Oak Grove in Pasadena, where lots of trees and heavy schule make shot precision a priority.

The second section (holes 8-12, IIRC) are 350-ish and more-or-less wide open.

The third section plays on groomed grass with mature trees that encourage shot-shaping. Think "park" and you'll have it.
Cons: Despite the scenery, I didn't find anything particularly interesting about this course. It's pretty average, in my opinion - certainly no signature holes.

The main problem I saw was that certain essential course elements were missing. For instance I could not find baskets on #1, #11 or #18, no tee pad on #11, and no signs on #12, 13 or 15. Judging from the other ratings this course has gotten, I may have played it on a bad day (see the "other" section) but still.
Other Thoughts: I played this course late in the afternoon after driving pretty much non-stop for the previous 28 hours. What this means, of course, is that it didn't take much to set me off.

The other thing that may have affected my playing experience was that they were having a wine-tasting festival of some sort at the same time. This could conceivably have been the reason why the pins on #1 and 18 were missing - I don't know.

If you're reading reviews to get an idea of what this course is like, I'd certainly take what I said above with a grain of salt - it could very well have been that NO course would have fared well, all things considered. Still, my experience was what it was and given that, I stand by my rating of "reasonable", at least for the time being.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice concrete tee-pads
-Tee-signs show a picture of the hole that give a good overview of the hole
-Some of the holes play through a nice wooded area next to a small stream and have very nice challenge
-There are water hazards (including throwing over a lake on hole one) on several of the holes
-Many of the holes have benches on them
-The course is set in a park with some beautiful scenery and great views of the Colorado River.
-Most of the fairways are well kept (there is rough rough on the sides of the fairways but the fairways are wide enough to avoid it most of the time)
-The course has very nice bright baskets that are easy to see from the tee-pads
-There is a nice map of the course near the first hole
-With the one exception, the course is very easy to navigate, it is easy to know which hole to go to next.
-Many of the holes have AM and PRO tee-pads (the AM tee-pads help avoid some of the more difficult obstacles on the holes, which is nice if you are playing with a newer player)
-Pretty good variety of distances on the course
-Alternate pin positions on many of the holes
Cons: -While there are many well designed holes on this course, I also feel that it has a few too many wide open holes with very few obstacles on them
-The tee-signs don't list the distance of each hole, which is a shame because otherwise they are nice tee-signs
-There were several holes on the course that were missing there tee-signs
-Hole 11 didn't have a concrete tee-pad for the PRO tee-pad (I assume i was in the right spot, there was a tee-sign there and the picture showed a concrete tee-pad but there was no concrete tee-pad there, I did find a concrete AM tee-pad for the hole).
-There is a walking path that comes into play on some of the holes
-The tee-pad for 17 is almost right next to the tee-pad for 16, so you have to walk back up the fairway of 16 to get back to it. The tee-pad for 18 is right next to the basket for 16 so it can be a little confusing finding hole 17.
-I feel like the course design could have taken better advantage of the available water to add more risk reward to the course.
-There is a somewhat long walk back to the parking lot from hole 18, where you either have to walk back down the fairway of hole 1 or go a ways around the fairway to get back to your car.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could rate this a 3.75 because I don't feel like it is quite a 4 but I feel like it is a little better than a 3.5. This course has a lot of fun well designed challenging holes but I also feel like there are a few too many wide open holes on the course. This is definitely a course to stop at though because it is a very beautiful, enjoyable round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Watercourse.

1    4/11/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: nightwing
Played: 118  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of water challenges.
-Some left right and tree shots
-Setting between The Colorado and The Palisades.
-Playable pads, baskets, layout. Nice easy time.

Cons: No up or down shots and some discs that won't get found.(Not that the designer could have changed this. It's just the way it is on a flat layout by a major river).
Other Thoughts: Bring beater discs or just throw it straight.
Enjoy this beautiful and unique setting.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 palisade april 2012

2-4    4/2/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: eryn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very open area. Lots of twisty tree filled fairway's.
Cons: Bugs, sun, wind, water. Lost 2 discs first day, came back next day. Disc were retrieved and no calls. :( don't lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: Wear substantial sunscreen. After 2 days was cherry red with sunstroke!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.