Kennewick, WA 
Columbia Park - River Country DGC Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #11
3 / 243ft.   3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/25/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: darrick mecey
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent challenge,good mix of hazards,open fields,long and short pads,beautiful scenery,especially at sun set
Cons: The course is weathered and a few signs are missing,u might need a local to navigate some of the course
Other Thoughts: This is my home town course and i play it a few times a week,im a member of 2 great clubs that have lots of club events here and the locals have made me feel like family since i moved here on jan 1 2012

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course - For Newcomers

5+    7/7/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Crowis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays next to (though does not touch) the Columbia River and has some phenomenal views of it and surrounding park which is very well maintained. There is a good deal of elevation and varied terrain. The mandatories and obstacles of the course require thought and differing techniques to ensure best play possible. For the most part, the course is free of garbage, with frequent spots for disposing of trash.
Cons: The course has been vandalized heavily. Virtually all of the signs guiding a person from tee to tee are destroyed or tagged to unreadability--Please download the map from this site, or go with someone who has played the course before to ensure the ability to guide you from tee to tee. The course has limited options for restroom visits,with only one operating bathroom at the end of the back nine. During the summer months the mosquito population booms in this area--if you are sensitive to mosquitos ensure you are prepared with bug spray to repel them. Cheat grass is a problem in several of the fairways or paths to the tee's.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot to recommend this course. As someone in the beginning of their disc golf life-style I prefer this park to the nearbye Two Rivers Disc Golf Course due to the variety it provides. Most of the people playing this course are courteous, and if you lose a disc, they are often turned into the local "Island View Market", where the store owner--who also sells DG accessories--holds them for their rightful owners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

About A Mid-Range From The Mighty Colombia River!

1    6/24/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Colombia Park is right on the mighty Colombia River. River Country DGC sits just across the street from the river, about a mid-range away. As stated before, the course is a mix of open grassy areas and scrub land. So it's not necessarily the prettiest course around. But what it is is just a good solid disc golf course. It's designed with multiple tee and basket locations so that would confuse the first time player. I was fortunate enough to be guided around by Ron, one of the regulars. The course offers a nice variety of holes owing much to the variety of the land here.

One can tell that the locals take pride here, mowing, trimming, working on the signs and whatever.

I'm going to agree with Sillybiz who said that course is ideal for all players up to the pro level. I could play this course a lot and not getting tired of it's changing layout, views of the river and overall challenge. The course will penalize errant throws. Some of the rough is quite thick.
Cons: To steal Kevin Costner's word from "Dancing With Wolves" the scrub land doesn't make for the handsomeiest course.
The locals are fighting the good fight against the teen vandal population who because of the course's semi-isolated location are having themselves a rousing good time tearing things up.
And then there is the wind. I'd say these players who deal with it every round are probably better players for it. And it would help on all the broiling hot days on this side of the mountain.
Other Thoughts: I liked Colombia Park more than the new Two Rivers Course across town. This course reminds me of one of those classic old basketball arenas. It's showing it age some. It doesn't have some or all the bells and whistles as the new upstarts do. It could use some new paint. (in this case new signage) But with all it's grittiness, still quite functional and enjoyable. It's still a great place to play. Maybe that's why there were 50 people playing here the day I played and only 4 on the newer Two Rivers course just an hour later. The grand old lady triumphs. Actually, the Kennewick disc golfers are pretty lucky to have two nice courses to choose from.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 River Country Disc Golf Course

1    4/30/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
River Country DGC is located directly across from the mighty Columbia River, near downtown Kennewick. The course terrain is a mixture of grass and sagebrush, with several OB's (streams, fence lines, and asphalt) and heavy rough. Elevation comes in to play on several holes, although nothing very drastic with the exception of hole #14. Maintenance is apparent, with grass cut regularly, trees and bushes trimmed back, and plenty of waste baskets set up throughout the course.

The course design was set up with multiple tees and pins, with holes ranging anywhere from 202-418 feet, all Par 3, with four of the holes playing near water. The tee pads are all cement, and the Mach 2 baskets are durable and well maintained. The holes seem to be a mainly open, but do have a mixture of tighter wooded fairways as well. Due to the courses location near the river, wind is constantly blowing which requires players to have a good grasp of their disc characteristics. Every hole seems to have a nice mixture of obstacles, pin position, and difficulty. Being a local on this course would never get old, as every time you play the layout can be done differently.
Cons:
Course navigation can be an issue for first
timers. Although locals truly benefit from the multiple pin positions and tees, it can be very confusing trying to figure out where the next tee is located or what pin you're throwing to if you are unfamiliar with the layout. As other reviewers stated, once you have played the course once it is fairly easy to understand the flow. Many of the issues come from the fact that the majority of the tee signs have been vandalized and are illegible or completely missing all together. The kiosk could be updated as well with a course map so people could take a photograph on their phones or at least get an idea of the course layout.
Other Thoughts:
River Country DGC is the perfect complement to Two Rivers (8 miles away), and just as challenging. Both courses cater to the intermediate and advanced players alike, but pros can still be challenged, especially when the wind is howling (which happens quite a bit). River Country DGC is the older of the two courses, and has a much more rustic feel. This course seems to get a lot more players coming through, and with so much variation it keeps players coming back for more. I am extremely impressed by the local club and all their efforts, as both these courses in the Tri- Cities are excellent! Their tournaments have a great reputation as well, so if you have the time I suggest making your way over to Kennewick for some great disc golf!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Windy!!

1    4/30/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Columbia Park is located just across the street from the Columbia River hence the name of the park and disc golf course. Because of the location of the park the wind is blowing very hard most of the time and there aren't enough trees to block that wind out which is good or bad depending on who you are. There are some other hazards including a couple of streams but they are more like psychological hazards than anything else. I would say this course is best suited to intermediate or advanced players as I think pro players will tear this course apart. There is not much elevation but the course design uses what there is effectively and still keeps the flow of the course in the right direction. This is a cool spot to be because of the river right next to you. There is a good variety of hole distances, obstacle amount and right to left and straight shots to challenge you. There are multiple pins and tee pads in place at almost every hole which is a great thing for locals who know and play the course often and this keeps the course fresh and changing for them.
Cons: As I mentioned there are multiple tee pads and pin locations all over the place but this is very confusing for a first time player of the course as it makes it almost impossible to know which basket you are supposed to be playing for when you can see three or more baskets from the tee pad and most tee signs have been vandalized. There is also some issue with finding some of the next tee pads and some signage here would go along way for people unfamiliar with the course. There is limited land available at this park so some of the fairways are close to the tee pad for the next hole or other fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is the older of the two Kennewick courses and when you play both of them you will know what I am talking about as it has an older feel to it. This is a solid all around course that I would be very happy with as a home course, especially when I learned the alternative baskets and tees. With both Kennewick courses I would suggest bringing a camera with you to take pictures and soak in the scenic beauty.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

5+    11/15/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: mcbentz
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right on the mighty Columbia River!! Good flow from hole to hole with some nice elevation changes throughout. Alternate pin/pad locations make for a variety of shots. 30+ MPH wind is not uncommon....and makes for a challenging day!
Cons: In the summer it's hot without much shade and crowded with golfers! Could use some upgraded tee signs.
Other Thoughts: During tournaments they put in the bay holes which are AWESOME!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course away from Home

2-4    6/24/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Ewb46
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a well laid out course using the landscape nicely. Very few chances of hitting people on a drive, and the few places that are a possibility most people are alert and waiting. Well maintained fairways on the grass portion of the course. Very little trash on the course and plenty of trash cans on the park part of the course.
Local DGC offers weekly ace pots, and holds two pdga sanctioned tourneys a year ( that I know of) Plenty of friendly locals who will guide you in the right way if you are lost.
Cons: Parking can be an issue on a busy day. There is a parking lot next to hole 18 were you can start your round or a walk to hole 1. There could be a few more signs on the course. A few of the holes are not marked but the ones that are have excellent info.
The wind can just plain suck on this course! When it gets blowing it makes playing for a noob like me tough. On a busy day this course can get crowded, but that is true for a majority of courses out there.
The highway running along part of the course. I gripped locked a disc and threw it on the freeway. Lucky for me I found it on the median later on the way home.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course. there is a few holes that allow you to air an arm out and quite a few technical holes as well. Only about 3 holes where water comes into play and if you needed to you could wade to retrieve the disc. I just like this course a lot it can be friendly to beginners and still give a challenge to some more advance players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Very Fun Course

6/7/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: sk8architecture
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits right next to Columbia River which makes for some cool views. This course has a good mix of long holes, short holes, narrow window shots, right holes, left holes. Many holes have two baskets and tee pads so you can always mix it up. My visit saw freshly cut grass and no trash at all making a great time. Hats off to the crew out there taking care of it. Some minor elevation shots.
Cons: I would personally like to see longer holes but I think that they are limited to how much park they can use. A shot along the river would be nice but the city may not approve it. On a crowded day there are some potential areas where you can drive into a crowd but nothing that a "heads Up" won't solve.
Other Thoughts: Part of the course backs up against the main hwy that goes through town. To some people the rush of cars traveling at 60 MPH about 60 feet from where your about to drive may be a con, but to me I like the rush. Great Course took me a little over a hour to play by myself and with no crowd waits.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.