Kennewick, WA 
Columbia Park - River Country DGC Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #4 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 276ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Local Course

5+    9/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: DGShawn
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for beginners, without being wide open and too short.

Locals for the most part seem inviting and friendly.

With the exception of hole(s) 14-15, the flow is pretty good.

Cons: Vandals destroyed all but a few signs.

Tee pads are nice, but potential hazards if you get to the edge/ fall off.

Other Thoughts: I am pretty certain the only maintenance that happens here is by dedicated locals. This place seems to be "forgotten" by the city/county. From what I understand, there is no possibility for any kind of improvement here due to "local natives' claiming some form of pre-ownership. Shame really, this course has great potential with some work.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Break

1    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: CaptianTrilogy
Played: 62  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was an awesome course. I was just passing through Kennewick and stopped to play. After searching around for five minutes to find tee 2, the course picked up. The hole placements were extremely nice. When we got the feel of the course the awesomeness of the layout came alive. Hole 6 was very nice, and if played well is a great birdie hole. From 7-10 the holes are tight and are challenging but still doable. 14 was extreme. The elevation of the tee box is huge and drops to the hole. 15-18 are fairly simple, but the layout and design is very scenic. I play ball golf on occasion and this course was just as beautiful. Well done Columbia Park.
Cons: The signage was ruined on quite a few holes making navigation hard. The map was adequate but could be simpler and easier to read. There were alternate basket placements with the baskets still in them, so knowing which hole we were throwing to was tough. But really not much to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course. Will play it again at first chance I get. If you have a lot of time, play all alternates as well making the course 25+ holes. Great course!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoying this course

5+    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off I'm new to the sport...
I like a lot of things about this course. There is wide open long baskets to work on your long game and there is baskets that have lots of trees to deal with. The two creeks make you work too on the few baskets that go by them. The wind that is in this area can be a killer to your game when it whips up. If you come in the summer the sun will put a beating on you so play in the early morning or late evening. Bring water!!! I'm getting better every game because of how this course pushes me.
Cons: I'd agree that the city needs to put a little money into the course. Clean up a few things and paint arrows on the tees pointing out the hole that your going to throw at would be a huge help. Also a web page that you can down load a map would help out in a big way.
Other Thoughts: Over all I'd highly recommend visitors playing this course. Fun and safe place to play yet you still have a feeling of being out in the sticks at times. Too bad that the photos only show a fall time of year. It is so much nicer looking then in the photos!
On #14 we use a "spotter" system. Due to how this basket is you have to throw through & above a tree line and 30ft above the fairway. Then dogleg to the right. Very easy to loose a disk in the heavy trees. So we put a man down range who spots where the other players discs go. Then the spotter gets to chuck his. One last thought.... There is no way that #5 can be a par 3. Wow what a ugly run to hit in 3 with a bunch of very large trees that all hang very low playing gate keeper to the final approach to the bucket. My best on #5 so far is 4 (it goes down hill fast from there and I don't want to talk about it)
One last comment from me. From what I understand (and I might be wrong here) the land is Crop of Engineers land. Given the huge court battle that was fought over "Kennewick Man" (who was discovered just a very short distance from the park) everyone is on pins and needles. Doing any improvements to the course is a very hard sell as the entire park is possible Native American burial ground. It is to the point that when the local club sets up a temp 18 hole course next door in the abandoned RV park they can't hammer in wooden stakes to mark tee's as they are not allowed to penetrate the ground. (At least that is what I was told)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Turf

5+    2/26/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: Jodabro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multi pins and tees
Lots of tree hazards add skill to your game
good distance changes, and signature holes
Mixed shots off the tee... Straight pins, right and lefts
Elevations come into play
Fairways run preatty smooth
Lots of waste baskets
Water hazards are shallow and discs can be retrieved with a little dedication
Tournaments are held every couple of months
Cons: A couple fairways are set too close, etc 7 and 8
No bathrooms
Summer creates some cheat grass
Waste Baskets need empted more often
Layout can be hard to figure out first time, but once played it can be played fast.
Old course, signs have fallen apart/missing

Other Thoughts: I love playing this course over and over, it offers a challenge even after playing 50 times. You can mix and match pins and alt tee pads to change things up. I hear of plans to improve the grass and park overall. I have seen clean up beginning already. If you are a dg player and in the area you must try it out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/10/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: EdDopp
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course sits about 50 feet from the Columbia River. River Country DGC sits in Columbia Park, which is a very large park with lots of other activities to be used in the park by all members of the family. The course has Alternate tees on 8 of the 18 holes to make for a longer layout. In addition 14/18 holes have alternate pin positions. On the walking paths and over are played as OB by locals to make the course play more difficult.
Cons: Very crowded during certain times of the year. Most shots are working the disc right to left which is a natural hyzer for a righty. Not all holes are marked with tee signs and alt positions.
Other Thoughts: Contact me if you would like to play a round this is my local course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.