Kennewick, WA 
Columbia Park - River Country DGC Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #12
3 / 256ft.   3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 River Country Disc Golf Course

1    4/30/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
River Country DGC is located directly across from the mighty Columbia River, near downtown Kennewick. The course terrain is a mixture of grass and sagebrush, with several OB's (streams, fence lines, and asphalt) and heavy rough. Elevation comes in to play on several holes, although nothing very drastic with the exception of hole #14. Maintenance is apparent, with grass cut regularly, trees and bushes trimmed back, and plenty of waste baskets set up throughout the course.

The course design was set up with multiple tees and pins, with holes ranging anywhere from 202-418 feet, all Par 3, with four of the holes playing near water. The tee pads are all cement, and the Mach 2 baskets are durable and well maintained. The holes seem to be a mainly open, but do have a mixture of tighter wooded fairways as well. Due to the courses location near the river, wind is constantly blowing which requires players to have a good grasp of their disc characteristics. Every hole seems to have a nice mixture of obstacles, pin position, and difficulty. Being a local on this course would never get old, as every time you play the layout can be done differently.
Cons:
Course navigation can be an issue for first
timers. Although locals truly benefit from the multiple pin positions and tees, it can be very confusing trying to figure out where the next tee is located or what pin you're throwing to if you are unfamiliar with the layout. As other reviewers stated, once you have played the course once it is fairly easy to understand the flow. Many of the issues come from the fact that the majority of the tee signs have been vandalized and are illegible or completely missing all together. The kiosk could be updated as well with a course map so people could take a photograph on their phones or at least get an idea of the course layout.
Other Thoughts:
River Country DGC is the perfect complement to Two Rivers (8 miles away), and just as challenging. Both courses cater to the intermediate and advanced players alike, but pros can still be challenged, especially when the wind is howling (which happens quite a bit). River Country DGC is the older of the two courses, and has a much more rustic feel. This course seems to get a lot more players coming through, and with so much variation it keeps players coming back for more. I am extremely impressed by the local club and all their efforts, as both these courses in the Tri- Cities are excellent! Their tournaments have a great reputation as well, so if you have the time I suggest making your way over to Kennewick for some great disc golf!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Windy!!

1    4/30/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Columbia Park is located just across the street from the Columbia River hence the name of the park and disc golf course. Because of the location of the park the wind is blowing very hard most of the time and there aren't enough trees to block that wind out which is good or bad depending on who you are. There are some other hazards including a couple of streams but they are more like psychological hazards than anything else. I would say this course is best suited to intermediate or advanced players as I think pro players will tear this course apart. There is not much elevation but the course design uses what there is effectively and still keeps the flow of the course in the right direction. This is a cool spot to be because of the river right next to you. There is a good variety of hole distances, obstacle amount and right to left and straight shots to challenge you. There are multiple pins and tee pads in place at almost every hole which is a great thing for locals who know and play the course often and this keeps the course fresh and changing for them.
Cons: As I mentioned there are multiple tee pads and pin locations all over the place but this is very confusing for a first time player of the course as it makes it almost impossible to know which basket you are supposed to be playing for when you can see three or more baskets from the tee pad and most tee signs have been vandalized. There is also some issue with finding some of the next tee pads and some signage here would go along way for people unfamiliar with the course. There is limited land available at this park so some of the fairways are close to the tee pad for the next hole or other fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is the older of the two Kennewick courses and when you play both of them you will know what I am talking about as it has an older feel to it. This is a solid all around course that I would be very happy with as a home course, especially when I learned the alternative baskets and tees. With both Kennewick courses I would suggest bringing a camera with you to take pictures and soak in the scenic beauty.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Turf

5+    2/26/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: Jodabro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multi pins and tees
Lots of tree hazards add skill to your game
good distance changes, and signature holes
Mixed shots off the tee... Straight pins, right and lefts
Elevations come into play
Fairways run preatty smooth
Lots of waste baskets
Water hazards are shallow and discs can be retrieved with a little dedication
Tournaments are held every couple of months
Cons: A couple fairways are set too close, etc 7 and 8
No bathrooms
Summer creates some cheat grass
Waste Baskets need empted more often
Layout can be hard to figure out first time, but once played it can be played fast.
Old course, signs have fallen apart/missing

Other Thoughts: I love playing this course over and over, it offers a challenge even after playing 50 times. You can mix and match pins and alt tee pads to change things up. I hear of plans to improve the grass and park overall. I have seen clean up beginning already. If you are a dg player and in the area you must try it out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad but not great...but good

2-4    11/23/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Cerrgurry
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the shots that utilize elevation change.
Nice selection of alternate baskets.
Lots of players...love seeing people having fun
Cons: Teepads are a bit narrow for me
Though a lot of garbage cans trash still scattered throughout the course.
No maps available with OB's Mandos etc.
Lots of players....hate dealing with attitudes of jerks.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to have a guide to navigate my first attempt to play the course. I feel without a map I would have been helplessly lost figuring out which basket and what is in and out etc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

5+    11/15/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: mcbentz
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right on the mighty Columbia River!! Good flow from hole to hole with some nice elevation changes throughout. Alternate pin/pad locations make for a variety of shots. 30+ MPH wind is not uncommon....and makes for a challenging day!
Cons: In the summer it's hot without much shade and crowded with golfers! Could use some upgraded tee signs.
Other Thoughts: During tournaments they put in the bay holes which are AWESOME!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/10/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: EdDopp
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course sits about 50 feet from the Columbia River. River Country DGC sits in Columbia Park, which is a very large park with lots of other activities to be used in the park by all members of the family. The course has Alternate tees on 8 of the 18 holes to make for a longer layout. In addition 14/18 holes have alternate pin positions. On the walking paths and over are played as OB by locals to make the course play more difficult.
Cons: Very crowded during certain times of the year. Most shots are working the disc right to left which is a natural hyzer for a righty. Not all holes are marked with tee signs and alt positions.
Other Thoughts: Contact me if you would like to play a round this is my local course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home course away from Home

2-4    6/24/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Ewb46
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a well laid out course using the landscape nicely. Very few chances of hitting people on a drive, and the few places that are a possibility most people are alert and waiting. Well maintained fairways on the grass portion of the course. Very little trash on the course and plenty of trash cans on the park part of the course.
Local DGC offers weekly ace pots, and holds two pdga sanctioned tourneys a year ( that I know of) Plenty of friendly locals who will guide you in the right way if you are lost.
Cons: Parking can be an issue on a busy day. There is a parking lot next to hole 18 were you can start your round or a walk to hole 1. There could be a few more signs on the course. A few of the holes are not marked but the ones that are have excellent info.
The wind can just plain suck on this course! When it gets blowing it makes playing for a noob like me tough. On a busy day this course can get crowded, but that is true for a majority of courses out there.
The highway running along part of the course. I gripped locked a disc and threw it on the freeway. Lucky for me I found it on the median later on the way home.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course. there is a few holes that allow you to air an arm out and quite a few technical holes as well. Only about 3 holes where water comes into play and if you needed to you could wade to retrieve the disc. I just like this course a lot it can be friendly to beginners and still give a challenge to some more advance players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  great course

5+    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: grizzle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: awesome course! this is my home course. we offer great tourneys all year round hoseted by the tcdgc. including pdga santioned events like the windy river open and the nuklear meltdown
Cons: the only con is only playing the 18 hole b course and bay holes during tourneys
Other Thoughts: come visit and enjoy!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Very Fun Course

6/7/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: sk8architecture
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits right next to Columbia River which makes for some cool views. This course has a good mix of long holes, short holes, narrow window shots, right holes, left holes. Many holes have two baskets and tee pads so you can always mix it up. My visit saw freshly cut grass and no trash at all making a great time. Hats off to the crew out there taking care of it. Some minor elevation shots.
Cons: I would personally like to see longer holes but I think that they are limited to how much park they can use. A shot along the river would be nice but the city may not approve it. On a crowded day there are some potential areas where you can drive into a crowd but nothing that a "heads Up" won't solve.
Other Thoughts: Part of the course backs up against the main hwy that goes through town. To some people the rush of cars traveling at 60 MPH about 60 feet from where your about to drive may be a con, but to me I like the rush. Great Course took me a little over a hour to play by myself and with no crowd waits.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.