Disc Golf Store
Kennewick, WA
Columbia Park - River Country DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jodabro Hole #2 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 303ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Home Turf

5+    2/26/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: Jodabro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multi pins and tees
Lots of tree hazards add skill to your game
good distance changes, and signature holes
Mixed shots off the tee... Straight pins, right and lefts
Elevations come into play
Fairways run preatty smooth
Lots of waste baskets
Water hazards are shallow and discs can be retrieved with a little dedication
Tournaments are held every couple of months
Cons: A couple fairways are set too close, etc 7 and 8
No bathrooms
Summer creates some cheat grass
Waste Baskets need empted more often
Layout can be hard to figure out first time, but once played it can be played fast.
Old course, signs have fallen apart/missing

Other Thoughts: I love playing this course over and over, it offers a challenge even after playing 50 times. You can mix and match pins and alt tee pads to change things up. I hear of plans to improve the grass and park overall. I have seen clean up beginning already. If you are a dg player and in the area you must try it out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad but not great...but good

2-4    11/23/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Cerrgurry
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the shots that utilize elevation change.
Nice selection of alternate baskets.
Lots of players...love seeing people having fun
Cons: Teepads are a bit narrow for me
Though a lot of garbage cans trash still scattered throughout the course.
No maps available with OB's Mandos etc.
Lots of players....hate dealing with attitudes of jerks.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to have a guide to navigate my first attempt to play the course. I feel without a map I would have been helplessly lost figuring out which basket and what is in and out etc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

5+    11/15/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: mcbentz
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right on the mighty Columbia River!! Good flow from hole to hole with some nice elevation changes throughout. Alternate pin/pad locations make for a variety of shots. 30+ MPH wind is not uncommon....and makes for a challenging day!
Cons: In the summer it's hot without much shade and crowded with golfers! Could use some upgraded tee signs.
Other Thoughts: During tournaments they put in the bay holes which are AWESOME!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/10/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: EdDopp
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course sits about 50 feet from the Columbia River. River Country DGC sits in Columbia Park, which is a very large park with lots of other activities to be used in the park by all members of the family. The course has Alternate tees on 8 of the 18 holes to make for a longer layout. In addition 14/18 holes have alternate pin positions. On the walking paths and over are played as OB by locals to make the course play more difficult.
Cons: Very crowded during certain times of the year. Most shots are working the disc right to left which is a natural hyzer for a righty. Not all holes are marked with tee signs and alt positions.
Other Thoughts: Contact me if you would like to play a round this is my local course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home course away from Home

2-4    6/24/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Ewb46
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a well laid out course using the landscape nicely. Very few chances of hitting people on a drive, and the few places that are a possibility most people are alert and waiting. Well maintained fairways on the grass portion of the course. Very little trash on the course and plenty of trash cans on the park part of the course.
Local DGC offers weekly ace pots, and holds two pdga sanctioned tourneys a year ( that I know of) Plenty of friendly locals who will guide you in the right way if you are lost.
Cons: Parking can be an issue on a busy day. There is a parking lot next to hole 18 were you can start your round or a walk to hole 1. There could be a few more signs on the course. A few of the holes are not marked but the ones that are have excellent info.
The wind can just plain suck on this course! When it gets blowing it makes playing for a noob like me tough. On a busy day this course can get crowded, but that is true for a majority of courses out there.
The highway running along part of the course. I gripped locked a disc and threw it on the freeway. Lucky for me I found it on the median later on the way home.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course. there is a few holes that allow you to air an arm out and quite a few technical holes as well. Only about 3 holes where water comes into play and if you needed to you could wade to retrieve the disc. I just like this course a lot it can be friendly to beginners and still give a challenge to some more advance players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  great course

5+    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: grizzle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: awesome course! this is my home course. we offer great tourneys all year round hoseted by the tcdgc. including pdga santioned events like the windy river open and the nuklear meltdown
Cons: the only con is only playing the 18 hole b course and bay holes during tourneys
Other Thoughts: come visit and enjoy!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Very Fun Course

6/7/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: sk8architecture
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course sits right next to Columbia River which makes for some cool views. This course has a good mix of long holes, short holes, narrow window shots, right holes, left holes. Many holes have two baskets and tee pads so you can always mix it up. My visit saw freshly cut grass and no trash at all making a great time. Hats off to the crew out there taking care of it. Some minor elevation shots.
Cons: I would personally like to see longer holes but I think that they are limited to how much park they can use. A shot along the river would be nice but the city may not approve it. On a crowded day there are some potential areas where you can drive into a crowd but nothing that a "heads Up" won't solve.
Other Thoughts: Part of the course backs up against the main hwy that goes through town. To some people the rush of cars traveling at 60 MPH about 60 feet from where your about to drive may be a con, but to me I like the rush. Great Course took me a little over a hour to play by myself and with no crowd waits.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.