Boise, ID 
Columbia Village DGC Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #9 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Largely open and plays over two sand volleyball squares.



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Private Course Now Features A 10th Hole!

1    7/25/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Columbia Village is supposed to be open to residents of the Columbia Village Housing Complex. Thinking I was some kind of trespassing felon, I quietly scurried around my round like church mouse, trying to act as inconspicuous as possible.
The course starts and ends over in the small gully by the police sub-station, which is kind of right of the main rec building/pool area.
There is a course sign at the beginning with a nice large map and the course rules. The tee pads are on the small side but for this smallish recreation course, very little run up is required. The signs are small fiberglass ones giving the elevation gain/loss on each. DGA baskets are fine.
# 1 is 364' to a basket parked under the power lines.
# 8 is interesting being a 168' toss to a raised basket.
And # 3 lets you air it out with a 445' hole with fences on both sides.
# 10 was my favorite. It's a 265' tunnel shot under some branches, downhill, and the basket is barely out of your sight to the right. Just a perfect little forehand flick shot for us righties.
Cons: The terrain out back of the pool was brown and parched, and ugly here in late July.
There are a few chances to throw over fences. See previous reviewer's comments. It seem as though they all have accuracy issues.
The course lacks difficulty. It's a true rec/beginner courses.
It appears the security here is not what I has suspected. Next time I play it, I'll leave the black turtleneck and camo face paint in the car.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this little 10 hole course. I would like to see it in the spring or fall when it greens up some. It's not going to challenge most players but it's a fun throw for us total recreation level players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Alternative

5+    5/25/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Rizzle01
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not crowded.
Fun use of terrain.
Lots of potentially ace-able holes.
Cons: Only 10 holes.
Only 1 long hole.
No public restroom, use Maverik's.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I play it every time I go to Boise. I really like Ann Morrison but it is getting practically unplayable it is always sooo over crowded. You can sneak away to this course and play a round in 20-30 minutes with a friend.
I think you are "technically" supposed to be a member of the CV community to play this course but I have never once been hassled.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Too Shabby

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Casually_Dismissive
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Apparently newly redesigned course (as of Saturday the 25th). Its got some pretty interesting obstacles and elevation changes. Very fun course for a short game.
Threw my Stingray over the fence and the people in the pool area were kind enough to throw it back over for me.
Cons: Wear pants! This place is overrun by cat tails and I made the mistake of wearing low pro shoes and shorts. One hole requires you to basically throw your disc at a tree (or over it I guess). Interesting but slightly irritating.
Other Thoughts: Course starts on the right side of the pool and circles around the back of it. Had some issues finding the first hole but after that the rest of the course pretty much flowed from one hole to the next. Not too much of a concern about losing discs here though there are a couple chances of throwing your disc over the fence (which I did of course. Once into the school and once over by the pool). Overall I like this course...would play again with some friends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Confused in suburbia

1    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: PSPerkins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Like Harvey said, there are 9 baskets.

Has potential for a quick zinger with some tight technical shots.
Cons: No tee signs. They were laying in a pile around hole 7 or 8.

Basket numbers are out of order
Other Thoughts: They must be mid way through a course "redesign" or something right now because this was a total disaster.

Saw the tee sign for 2 but couldn't find the tee for #1 whatsoever.

Teed off from #2 sign but go to the basket and the number said "7".

It looks like they might be pouring some tiny concrete tee pads that are like 4'x6' at best which is kind of bizarre. But since you can throw the whole thing with a putter or a buzzz you don't exactly need a run-up on your tee shot so I guess it's not that weird.

Baskets numbers are all wiggedy-whack out of order. It was virtually unplayable.

I played through it best I could since I drove out there, guessing on tee shots but the whole layout seemed awkward and trying to make something of itself but falling miserably short.

I'd maybe rate this a 2 if they put up signage and made it make some kind of sense.
Otherwise it is a flat out waste of 9 baskets.

With the ginormous simplot sports area 1/4 mile up the street where they could easily install 18 holes it just seems absurd that the course is where it is.

I could have befitted from a course map since the signs were down. Now that I get home and look through the pictures it kind of makes sense but not really.

Updated and fun

5+    9/19/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: Harvy B.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2014
Pros: *Much better layout since the redesign last spring. The layout is much safer for other park users and makes a lot more sense as a flowing golf course.
*They added concrete tee-pads.
*The course now flows counterclockwise from the south end of the rec-center/pool all the way around the park, and ends on the south side of the rec-center.
*They have implemented Mando's which add to the difficulty of the course. (though you still rarely need more then a mid)
*They added a basket so that now it is a 10 hole course.
*updated tee-signs that make sense.
*They still use all available obstacles wisely.

Below I have left my old comments to show how much the course and my feelings of it have changed!

-It has baskets, and there are 9 of them.
-Some interesting obstacles (fences, ball fields, Swimming pool, tables, high voltage power tower, people, a church parking lot) good use of available trees and elevation
-...Um...it has a parking lot (sorry I'm searching)
Cons: *Still a private course for those that live in the area and their guests.
*Tee-pads are small, I think they are 3x6, which is only really an issue on hole 3, the only hole where you could use a driver.
*Cheat grass gets bad in some areas.
*The fairway can get extremely swampy/muddy
*Hole 5 is a little silly. It is a 149' hole that just seems a little forced. It can be fun since the basket is completely protected by trees and there is a fence close on your right that is OB on the other side. You need a great putter anny (RHBH) or flick. It is fun just seems out of place.

Old comment below:
-Private course, you have to be one of the children of the corn or friends with one to legally play.
-No driver or mid-range necessary for most holes, just a trusty putter.


-You have to actually throw over a picnic table without running into it on hole 3, don't grip-lock or somebody who might be enjoying a sandwich is loosing a tooth.
-The "activity center" steals discs if they get thrown over the fence into the pool on holes 3 and 5.
-Sure hope a kid isn't on the diving board or slide when somebody shanks a drive.
-signage sucks or is nonexistent.
Other Thoughts: The redesign really made this a fun course. I would have rated it a 3 if it was a) not private, and B) had a few longer holes. When playing please follow the mango's, it makes it more fun and makes it safer for everyone in the park, and it will keep your disc out of the neighbors yard on a few holes. (I will list the mandos I know).
I like to play this course when I am on my way out to play Lydle Gulch or Sandy Pointe, it is a great putter warm up, and great for working on my mid game. If you get a chance to play you should, just please be respectful so that the course can stay.

MANDOS
Hole 1- Disc must pass between the two legs of the power pole. If you miss the mando it is an unwind there is no drop zone
Hole 2- your dive must land in the circle of railroad ties (I use a thumber with high accuracy). If you miss you take a stroke and the drop zone is the tee-pad of hole 3.
Hole 9- Hyzer's cannot go over the swimming pool area
Hole 10- Drive must pass through the tree window directly in front of tee pad. It is technically illegal to hang a hyper out over the tree's and swimming area.

Old comments below:
Whoever has ranked this underwear stain as a 3 has their head square up the wrong end. It is a playable course at best. If the park is busy at all holes 1,2,3 and 5 are out of play, unless you like hucking discs at children. If you have never played disc golf before and are looking for a first course, go elsewhere, there are plenty of courses in Boise.
By the way this is a private course (Nothing caps off a round of disc golf like a possible trespassing charge). There is one sign that indicates this as a private course, but it wasn't until I asked the front desk of the "activities center" for a disc that went over a fence back, that they pointed it out. Luckily they were nice enough not to report me to the police... this time (which they made clear as they pointed out the video surveillance system).
If you know somebody in Columbia Village, or are visiting somebody who lives there, play the course. I believe that every course is worth a throw, but it is not a 3, it is not mind-blowing, it is not even that well cared for. Play it to say you did, but don't wish-list it or drool over it by any means. Drive down to Ann Morrison, or better yet Lydle Gulch is just up the road.

 fun ace runs

5+    11/7/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: appysdad
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: super fun course in a great setting pin placements are tricky at points, only a few big shots making it beginner friendly, some really fun little ace runs, and great use of elavation change
Cons: its not 18, its right in the middle of a subdivision ,gates around the pool are locked which can make getting your disc tricky
Other Thoughts: this is a private course so if you play it be respectful beings they let us play it

 not bad for a quick pick up game

2-4    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: doompaul
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course that is great for beginners. No big strain here, but a few good lines and some good hyzer practice.
Cons: Not the best maintained course I have ever played. The fenced in pool makes for an interesting water hazard. There are a few places where you can lose a disc in the "eternal pit of doom" where you will have to wade thru a hot dirty pit to find your disk.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course when I don't have the time o play Ann Morrison or for a quick pick up game before work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Little Engine That Could

5+    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: DRKPRNC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, no water hazards (besides adjacent swimming pools), short-armed players and beginner friendly.
Cons: One or two holes have a blank sign for the hole information. Must be a resident to play here.
Other Thoughts: It's short and very open and easy. Can birdie almost every hole. Mid-range discs only need apply here, and putters. Great place to take the tikes to start their disc golf lovin. The middle area is mostly desert-type grass, so you need to keep an eye on your disc when landing in it.
Good times for a quickie, hardly nobody every on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.