Big Spring, TX 
Comanche Trail Park - Mountain Share
Uploaded By: cassini24 Hole #9 (Taken 2/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Course

1    9/11/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Kesty
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: We were here on buisness and had just enough time to play a round. Great amount of variety in Hole shots, terrain, and elevation. and a fun course to play.
Cons: No tee signs, Had to practically walk every hole before we threw, just to get an idea of where we were throwing. Luckily we were smart enough to take a picture of the Map at the beginning of the course or we may still be out there lost in the woods. Would be helpful to have better marking, Also Hole 15 on this course and hole 15 on the lake course are only seperated by about 20 feet of dense brush. When looking for the tee pad for 15 on this course we found the pin for 15 on the other course. We almost gave up on this one till we followed a small path through the brush and popped out in another clearing where we found the correct pin for 15 and subsquently the tee pad. Also the tee pads appeared to be backwards from what I'm used to. Most courses I've played have the wider end of the tee pad pointing in the direction of the Hole, This course had the narrow end pointing toward the hole.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course, and it deserves a higher review score. However, until they get some tee signs with distance, directions and some landmarks, i think the review will remain low. Bring bright colored disc's with you to play this one and avoid earth tones, If your throw goes a bit awry you will be searching the dense brush far longer than you'd like to.


5+    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really great course. Great teepads and baskets. Elevation changes and a few blind shots. Course requires many different shots.
Cons: No signage for each hole. Would prefer for more trash cans and bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course, it's a must play if your in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: The woodman
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2014
Pros: Great variety of shots. Great tee pads. Several ace run holes, especially on the front nine. The back nine is longer and more open.
Cons: Would like signs by the tee pads with hole distance.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. Love it. Note for first time visitors. Most baskets have a piece of orange tape on them to point you to the next tee pad.


1    2/16/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. They have a map before the first hole which is a big plus because there are no tee signs. The first 9 holes are awesome. They have a good mix between uphill and downhill shots. It was a lot of fun shooting over the trees on hole 3. Then back up the mountain on hole 4.I also really liked a few of the back holes especially 15-17I loved how on 17, you shoot out of a gap( blindshot) to the basket.
Cons: Tees signs are always better than just a map. I didn't really like the back to much. 11-14 are boring and too long. And 18 was surrounded by power poles.
Other Thoughts: On hole 7 walk around( go on the street) The path is extremely steep. This course was a lot of fun and had some really cool shots. After hole 9 cross the street on the other side of the play ground and you will see hole 10's tee pad.

 Nice West Texas Course

2-4    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At its best (1-9) the course is excellent. It has a variety of shots, elevation, and terrain to keep things interesting. The back 9 give a chance to air it out a little more. Tee boxes (concrete) and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Almost no help with navigation other than numbers on the tee boxes. The front 9 are a little obvious with well worn paths leading towards the next hole in most places, but the back 9 get a little more spread out and are less obvious. A few of the holes on the back 9 are kind of boring with not much more than open field between the tee and the basket. There are a few places where you could potentially be throwing blind towards other disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: A couple others have said it and I agree, this is an 18 hole course. The other 9 holes are a separate course in the same park, not a continuation. This review is for the 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    1/1/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: Disc Happens
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the front nine are very nice
-course is great for those who want some challenging shots
-good elevation change on the front 9
-good baskets throughout the course
-great parking area, and great putting circle
-driving area by the putting circle
-course is very spread out, gives you a good workout
Cons: -hard to find several of the holes
-very thick brush through a good portion of the course
-last nine holes are hard to find and dont really connect with the other 18
-lots of holes with no visual on the basket so be prepared to search for your disc
-front nine is so thick with brush i was bleeding in several places by the time i got out of it
Other Thoughts: If you want a long game then this is the place for you!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice big course

1    10/9/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, front 9 are fantastic, well laid out and marked with stones to guide you from hole to hole. Over the tree shots are alot of fun, good layout on the hills.
Cons: In my opinion this is not a 27 hole course, this is an 18 hole course and the "lake 9" are a separate course. There is zero flow from hole 18 to the first hole on the lake 9, they are different basket styles and marked as their own 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved the course. There is construction that is messing up holes 10 - 12 at the moment, but the work arounds are just fine once we found them. No course map of any kind makes this difficult, even finding the beginning took time as just the metal sign that says "Disc Gold Course" is all there is, and even it is faded. Other than that the holes etc.. once you find your way around are alot of fun and highly recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: joshsauce
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: there is a large variety of shots to this course, The concrete launch pads are nice. hole 3 is an amazing shot down hill over a bunch of trees. I played on a Saturday afternoon and there was no wait to play at all.
Cons: When starting out from the course map to navigate the course, it can be a pain to find the first hole (no signs). I suggest wearing solid shoes for this course, there are alot of cactus,I got a barb stabbed in the big toe.
Other Thoughts: this was my first time playing this course, so i had no frame of reference on where the course started other than the map, so unfortunately i did not get to finish the entire thing, though everything past the first 9 seems very nice. I will come back to finish the course out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/14/2006   2/23/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best current West Texas course. 27 holes with every shot imaginable. Trees, cliffs, water, lenght, brush, elevation, you name it this course has it.
Cons: Cactus can stink but other than that, a super course
Other Thoughts: play Birdwell, the other Bigspring course while your in town.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5+    6/17/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: westxchef
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For our west Texas area this course provides in one 27 hole round the greatest variety of terrain.
Good mix of shot selection.
Park includes some nice ammenities: Nice Pool, Municipal Golf Course, Many BBQ pits, Covered Pavillions, Playscapes for kids, Tennis Courts, Fishing Pond, Scenic walking trails, During Christmas an extensive "Trail of Lights"
Cons: Flow from hole to hole could be better.
Could have better signage.

Concrete tee boxes on the lake nine please.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great course.
If it is windy (around these parts that means sustained 35 mph. wind) the first nine, "Bloodstone" ,can eat your lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.