Big Spring, TX 
Comanche Trail Park - Mountain Share
Uploaded By: cassini24 Hole #8 (Taken 2/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Course

1    9/11/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Kesty
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: We were here on buisness and had just enough time to play a round. Great amount of variety in Hole shots, terrain, and elevation. and a fun course to play.
Cons: No tee signs, Had to practically walk every hole before we threw, just to get an idea of where we were throwing. Luckily we were smart enough to take a picture of the Map at the beginning of the course or we may still be out there lost in the woods. Would be helpful to have better marking, Also Hole 15 on this course and hole 15 on the lake course are only seperated by about 20 feet of dense brush. When looking for the tee pad for 15 on this course we found the pin for 15 on the other course. We almost gave up on this one till we followed a small path through the brush and popped out in another clearing where we found the correct pin for 15 and subsquently the tee pad. Also the tee pads appeared to be backwards from what I'm used to. Most courses I've played have the wider end of the tee pad pointing in the direction of the Hole, This course had the narrow end pointing toward the hole.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course, and it deserves a higher review score. However, until they get some tee signs with distance, directions and some landmarks, i think the review will remain low. Bring bright colored disc's with you to play this one and avoid earth tones, If your throw goes a bit awry you will be searching the dense brush far longer than you'd like to.

 Nice West Texas Course

2-4    6/20/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At its best (1-9) the course is excellent. It has a variety of shots, elevation, and terrain to keep things interesting. The back 9 give a chance to air it out a little more. Tee boxes (concrete) and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Almost no help with navigation other than numbers on the tee boxes. The front 9 are a little obvious with well worn paths leading towards the next hole in most places, but the back 9 get a little more spread out and are less obvious. A few of the holes on the back 9 are kind of boring with not much more than open field between the tee and the basket. There are a few places where you could potentially be throwing blind towards other disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: A couple others have said it and I agree, this is an 18 hole course. The other 9 holes are a separate course in the same park, not a continuation. This review is for the 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice big course

1    10/9/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: SKnight579
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, front 9 are fantastic, well laid out and marked with stones to guide you from hole to hole. Over the tree shots are alot of fun, good layout on the hills.
Cons: In my opinion this is not a 27 hole course, this is an 18 hole course and the "lake 9" are a separate course. There is zero flow from hole 18 to the first hole on the lake 9, they are different basket styles and marked as their own 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall I loved the course. There is construction that is messing up holes 10 - 12 at the moment, but the work arounds are just fine once we found them. No course map of any kind makes this difficult, even finding the beginning took time as just the metal sign that says "Disc Gold Course" is all there is, and even it is faded. Other than that the holes etc.. once you find your way around are alot of fun and highly recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5+    6/17/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: westxchef
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For our west Texas area this course provides in one 27 hole round the greatest variety of terrain.
Good mix of shot selection.
Park includes some nice ammenities: Nice Pool, Municipal Golf Course, Many BBQ pits, Covered Pavillions, Playscapes for kids, Tennis Courts, Fishing Pond, Scenic walking trails, During Christmas an extensive "Trail of Lights"
Cons: Flow from hole to hole could be better.
Could have better signage.

Concrete tee boxes on the lake nine please.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great course.
If it is windy (around these parts that means sustained 35 mph. wind) the first nine, "Bloodstone" ,can eat your lunch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.