Disc Golf Store
Frankfort, IL 
Commissioner Park Share
Uploaded By: blong Hole #4 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 258ft.   4 / --   3 / 258ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Yup, there is a course here...

1    6/1/2010   4/1/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Comissioner Park is a pretty average NW Illinois course that plays over open grassy areas and has just a tiny bit of elevation. The park itself seems fairly well kept up and is clean with short mown grass when I visited. The tee signs are also pretty nice (see pictures in the media section) and give you all of the information you need to know (hole distance!). Perhaps the only interesting feature of the course for the experienced player is the "Impaler" hole where a large electric line tower is in play.
Cons: Take a quick look at the 'Media' section here and you'll probably immediately know if this course is what you are looking for! The place is wide open with only very, very small pine trees and young plantings which really don't offer any challenge, yet anyway. On any hole with trees, you'll be able to easily launch up and over with big hyzers or tomahawk shots. As other reviewers have mentioned, the con that is not apparent from the pictures are the tees which are nearly unusable for any sort of runup.
Other Thoughts: The beginner and family crowd will probably enjoy playing in a park which has obstacles that aren't very menacing (small pines and the "impaler") and course-baggers will likely also enjoy the impaler just because it is a bit of a unique touch. Those looking for quality or a challenge really will not be satisfied with this 'typical' NW Illinois course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set away from other park activities, for the most part. Good space available, and the layout makes great use of it to have some longer holes. Almost half are over 300', and only one is under 240'. Some longer walks between holes, but it really helped to spread the course out nicely.
- Interesting obstacles like a small grove of pine trees and some power towers. A few baskets were in the pine grove and another was directly underneath one of the towers. #5 is a long dogleg right with a mando around a large truss. A small sliver of water is in #3's fairway as well.
- Some subtle elevation changes on some holes, which do make them play longer or shorter. Good mix throughout.
- Nice tee signs!
Cons: - Large majority of the holes have little to no obstacles. Just you, the basket, and the grass. And, the holes with obstacles are still a piece of cake, with distance being the biggest factor in difficulty.
- Horrible tee pads, sunken rubber in wood frames with overgrown grass. Some targets also in sorry shape, #3's basket was on the ground and #2's top was leaning drastically.
Other Thoughts: - Not much to this course, other than some longer tosses. One place where line-shaping is needed thanks to a mando, and some mildly sloping fairways. Anyone throwing over 300' will find it unbearable at times, beginners will enjoy the wide open terrain.
- Definitely susceptible to flooding. Another throwaway piece of land with power lines.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A little too open

1    11/14/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on open rolling fields, with a few small trees and a couple power line towers for obstacles. These towers come into play on two holes, one where the basket is directly underneath the tower, so you have to avoid the legs on your way to the basket, and one where you have to throw around the tower shortly off the tee, and there are metal spikes waiting to catch your disc if you cut it too close. There are also two holes where the baskets are in among small pine trees, which punish drives or approaches that aren't placed well.

There are a few holes with some good length, and especially with the wind provide a place to challenge your shot placement on longer drives. There are decent wooden signs with the hole layout and distance, and the course is easy to follow.
Cons: The course is basically wide open, the few holes with minor obstacles notwithstanding. There just isn't a whole lot of variety or interest here. There is a nice sled hill that would have been a good place for a couple fun holes in non-snowy season, it would have been cool to see that elevation incorporated into the course.

The tees were some of the worst I've ever seen. They are framed boxes filled with sand and weeds, and are barely large enough to stand in to drive, let alone take any steps. They, and the ground around them, are sloped on a few holes, adding to the awkwardness of the tee area. You're a whole lot better picking a spot next to the tee in the grass to throw from.
Other Thoughts: This course is an ok place for beginners, with not a whole lot of obstacles, and no chance of losing discs. The distance that makes it just a little interesting for more experienced players might discourage throwers new to the sport.

Don't drive out of your way to play this one, there's nothing here worth a trip. If you want practice throwing open shots with some wind, this is an ok place to do it, otherwise don't bother.

There is a small private course with odd baskets at Camp Manitoqua just on the other side of Sauk Trail, might as well play it if you're here anyway.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Two & Out

2-4    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 103  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice quality baskets
* No risk of losing a disk
* Ample parking/bathrooms
* Clean park
* "The Impaler" hole, no that's a sideshow obstacle.
Cons: * Boring course design & no flow
* Signs don't seem to tell the truth on distances
* Worst tee boxes I've ever seen. Literally children sized sandbox like tees. No room to run up and you risk tripping yourself forwards or backwards the tee boxes are that small.
* Baskets too close to each other
Other Thoughts: I played here once on a weekend trip hitting the courses in this area and this one was my least favorite and the only one I didn't really enjoy. I decided to try it out again today after hitting Orland Park & Frankfort Square and relived that unenjoyable experience once again. Play this once while youre in the area to get it under your belt. Hey maybe you'll like it maybe you won't.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average for a 9 holer

1    7/31/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C- (The baskets for 1 and 9 are nestled in some 8' tall christmas trees. As the trees grow these will be better holes. Other than that it is wide open and maybe only the wind provides a challenge. There is really no way to get a 4, since there is no punishment out there)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C (There are several holes in the challenging distance range for me. Other than that, it is pretty monotonous)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D (Very open course, mild terrain.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C- (Scruffy field under power lines....no beauty in the eyes of this beholder.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Course ar best

2-4    5/5/2008   7/13/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find, good amenities, ample parking.
Course is well marked, easy to follow, all signs and baskets in place.
Course does NOT conflict with the rest of the park.
Cons: Lack of variety and obstacles... aside from 2 holes w/small pines (say 5ft high) and a basket under a power line, the course is wide open. Wind is the only challenge.
Other Thoughts: Another 9 hole course in a field.. aside from practice, I can't see anyone other than novice or youth actually using the course. Worst part is to ANY side of the park is some wooded land that could make for a MUCH better course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not impressed.

1    5/16/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: blong
Played: 71  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is easy to find, parking is ample. Ok practice course. Not too hard to follow. Baskets are fairly new. (basket 3 is bent; vandalism most likely, very few trees on the course). Most holes are wide open. Tee signs are ok; appear to be accurate on distance.
Cons: Holes are uninteresting. Virtually no obstacles. Longer holes are too generous. Tee boxes are crushed gravel; too small--not worth having.
Other Thoughts: No shade, bathrooms and water fountain available. No garbage cans on the course. Baseball diamond on site; doesn't interfere with play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.