Troy, OH 
Community Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #9 (Taken 10/2012)
5 / --   3 / 303ft.   3 / 303ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nine in a multi-use park

2-4    1/19/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The nice thing about the Troy Community Park disc golf course is that there are really good quality signs, and firm, level, concrete tee pads leading you to nine pleasant, lightly-treed park holes in the middle of town. Good for Recreational to Intermediate players in terms of hole distances (ranging from 225 to 420 feet in hole length), almost every hole gives you the option of several lines of attack, without being too demanding to hit a perfect line. You stand almost no chance of losing a disc here (unless you really grip lock something along the large river-retaining berm beside holes 1 & 6), and the good, level park isn't overly demanding to walk the course quickly in as little as a lunch break.
Cons: The lack of elevation and big distance limits the 'wow' factor at Community Park, and the flow tends to be a little awkward (long walks between 2&3, 4&5, 5&6, and 8&9) because the course is shoehorned in amongst over a dozen shelters, play areas, tennis courts, and so on. The bulk of the tees (hole nine being the exception) are just adequate in terms of length (though they are generously wide). I would suspect that, on a nice spring day, you'd have to be very cautious about other park patrons.

The baskets are single-ring-of-chains DGAs, which means that, though the cage itself is deep, firm putts can cut through. I could not find a sign or tee pad for hole six on my two visits to town (though I admit I wasn't in town long, and both times, there was snow on the ground, so I might have walked right by it), so threw from approximately 420', as indicated online).
Other Thoughts: This is a nice nine hole course, but it doesn't jump out at you with a signature hole to make it a must see or a destination course. It's awesome that the local community has a course, and would be a relatively nice leg-stretcher for the traveling disc golfer going up or down I-75. There is shade and play for the family, so I can imagine some players stopping here for a picnic lunch on a long trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

newbie course

1    12/24/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean. Fine for a quickie. I played it in 39 minutes. Some shot selection could vary for line practice.
Cons: Short t pads but functional. Some baskets are for 3 foot children, not near PDGA ground to basket specs. Single chains. No sign for 6
Other Thoughts: fine for a quickie but would not go out of my way, looks like it could be very busy in the summer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/12/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is spread out in a nice, multi-use park. There are concrete tees and nice tee signs that have a diagram, hole number and list the distance. The hole numbers are listed on a big sign on top of the basket.

There's a good variety of distance ranging from 225 to 420 feet but most holes are 300 feet or less. The course has mature tree to navigate on every hole. Some holes are a bit more on the open side while others have enough trees to force you to hit your line to be rewarded with a birdie.
Cons: There's a lot of walking between holes on this course. I didn't see anything that points you from one hole to the next so it can be a bit difficult to navigate the course and find the next hole.

The road is a bit close for comfort to one hole (5 maybe?). The basketball course is rather close to the fairway on hole 2. There are a couple other places where errant shots could interfere with other park users so please watch for people.

Hole one forces a turnover shot for RHBH players, but the rest are straight or hyzer shots.

The tee pads are a bit on the small side.

Hole 6 is missing its tee sign. A few of the baskets are missing the large sign on top of them, but it's easy to figure out what basket you're shooting at so I didn't find this to be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice little 9 hole course that's good for newer and more intermediate skilled players. Like most 9 hole courses, there isn't too much challenge but there doesn't need to be considering 9 hole courses are usually intended for more casual players and as a place to introduce new people to the game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park
-well maintained
-baskets in great shape
-wide variety of shots
-plenty of mature trees for shade
-no chance of losing a disc
-no mosquitos (that i noticed)
Cons: -a few holes play threw what could be heavy pedestrian traffic areas as well as near shelter houses and buildings
-1 hole plays right next to a very busy road and discs can easily go out into the road
-kind of far from the highway
Other Thoughts: fun course, would like to play it again but am never in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Community Park, Troy

1    9/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: yankeefanjln
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park, well kept. Nice Tees. No underbrush to deal with. You can use a variety of shots on this course. Nice signs on tee pads.
Cons: Busy park, be careful of wandering toddlers. :) No posted layout or signs directing to "Next Tee." The pars are too easy. Big trees with low branches make longer shots really tough (I actually call this a 'pro' also).
Other Thoughts: This really felt like a beginner course as far as scoring. There were times when I had to make a tricky shot. I loved the fact that I could take my kids there and felt safe with them wandering the park with me (they tried to play a little too). It's a good practice course or casual course for someone just learning to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Troy community park

5+    8/29/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Moser
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice terrain with good full grown trees as obstacles. Fairly easily navigable with signs at each hole.
Cons: It is really close to the playground on a few holes and so sometimes kids will be near. It is a fairly short course so if you live far away I don't think it would be worth a far drive.
Other Thoughts: Course is short so I recommend playing twice through to make it more worth the trip.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Community Park DGC

2-4    12/22/2009   12/14/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course. Large trees and mix of open and wooden holes. Close to town. Can start at almost any hole.
Cons: Small teepads. Course pars seem like they are for beginners. No par 3 holes. Don't play after rain(which I did). If you play during or after rain, the tees and baskets are surrounded by mud.Fairly easy course. Only worth the drive if nearby. Hard to navigate if playing for the first time. Only one layer of chains.
Other Thoughts: This was a nice course. I recommend this course to beginners/advanced players. Play 2 rounds in less than an hour if it is only you or a few people.

Signature hole: Hole 6. 420 ft with tons of trees to avoid.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for pratice

5+    10/26/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: bbiehn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of mature trees and and narrow lanes.
Cons: very short easy course. Only worth the drive if you live within 10-15 mins. In the summer time park is very crowded etc.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for working on forehands and rollers. Great little practice course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.