Grass Valley, CA 
Squirrel Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #17
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A personal favorite

5+    7/10/2016   7/28/2016
Review By: CK_Upshot
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Family friendly, set in a spacious park that also has a skate park and playground, among other amenities. Fair amount of parking, and not frequently crowded (based on my experience). The course is well maintained, and signage makes navigation fairly easy with the exception of a couple holes. Pretty much every hole has multiple pin locations, making for a variety of play. All shots play through the woods, although some are more open than others, with a variety of short to long and left/right shots. Benches and trash cans at pretty much every hole. Bathrooms, picnic tables and a putting green (with numbered markers) near first hole. Another course (Hanging Oaks - Penn Valley) within 10 miles makes for a fairly easy two-course, double round day.
Cons: The manzanita can eat discs if you are not careful. Some may find the course to be too short. Some may find it to be too wooded and technical. I don't happen to fit in either of those categories.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses that have played since I started playing the game. I live in the Sacramento area, and try to get up to Grass Valley (about an hour drive for me) to play this course at least 3 or 4 times a year, if not more. I like that you don't need a monster drive to succeed on the course. It takes skill (and a bit of luck sometimes) to have a solid round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

5+    5/29/2016   5/29/2016
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-baskets with number placard on top
-great tee signs with washer marking which pin placement
-multiple pin positions on each hole
-variety of shots with plenty of elevation changes, water hazards and fairways shaped by manzanitas
Cons: -Navigation can be a little confusing in some places.
Other Thoughts: This is one my favorite courses in the area. It's well kept and gets upgrades once in a while, like an alternate tee that was added on #2 not too long ago. You definitely need a variety of shots for this course, each hole has placements that are left and right of the tee and the manzanitas can be punishing if you land off the fairway. Pairing this course with Hanging Oaks in Penn Valley or Auburn makes for a fun 36 holes on your day off, or playing this and Hanging Oaks on your way through the area is well worth the time. There are restaurants and a liquor store(that carries a small selection of discs) nearby, garbage cans and benches at most holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great wooded course

1    7/24/2015   7/26/2015
Review By: Fat Dragon
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well-kept wooded course - scrub and brush are kept to a minimum so you rarely have to spend much time searching for discs after the inevitable tree kicks.
- Tons of pin positions that were all accurately marked at each teepad.
- Well-marked course with clear and accurate hole maps at each tee so you rarely have to search for the next teepad or basket.
- Two loops so you can play a short round or stop by your car halfway through a round.
- Multiple lines on almost every hole but very few gimme holes so there's always a challenge to be had.
Cons: - Few opportunities for big arms to bomb.
- Washers indicating pin position are loose and letters are written closely together on some holes - could easily get turned to the wrong letter and mislead players who don't scout ahead on some holes where the pin positions aren't visible from the teepad.
- Pretty basic baskets - not really a major con because they caught discs as well as most courses, but after a round on Delaveaga's posh Mach X baskets, there's definitely room for improvement.
Other Thoughts: Maybe it's because I had good company and a great round (by my standards), but I loved this course. I've played quite a few courses in CA, AZ, and TX, including several four or four-and-a-half star courses, but this was my favorite of them. There's a constant challenge on every hole as there should be on a wooded course, but unlike some courses, you don't have to climb into a ravine or through a morass of poison oak (we only saw one tiny sprig of it all day) or spend an hour searching through scrub to recover a shanked disc. This is a beautiful course, wonderfully maintained, and a great pleasure to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Course

2-4    5/23/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: GuidoPero
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very technical course with a handful of open long drives and most with narrow pathways and some where spending an extra moment will be beneficial. Course is very well laid out with a great map showing pin locations.

Most courses I play are open with really long drives so this great for making accurate shots trying to get through the trees.
Cons: It took a few wholes to realize, on the pole with the map there is a 2" washer with A, B, C and some with D on them. On the pole is an arrow pointing to one of the letters. After whole 3 is when it clicked what that meant. It could be a little better labeling. Blue baskets are often hard to see with the sun shinning through the trees.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in the Area

5+    12/4/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well marked, thanks to the new signs from TRULine Disc Golf.

The baskets are moved frequently to keep things from getting boring.

Terrain is varying, allowing for one to test skills.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if traveling through or to the area of Auburn, Grass Valley or Nevada City.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Technical Wooded Course

1    9/28/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 39  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course flows well through lovely scenic forest and a babbling brooke. It's a lovely idyllic setting well suited to tight, technical disc golf
- Healthy variety of lines and shots required. Enough elevation change to keep it interesting
- Great signage and quality teepads everywhere
- Holes 13 & 15 really stand out with the stream running through each. You throw across the river towards a basket on the opposite bank through the woods.
- Low probability of losing a disc while still punishing to bad shots. Fair but demanding design
- Lots of varied and smart basket placements make this course accessible and enjoyable to almost all skill levels
Cons: - I could have done without many of the "A" basket positions. They were sometimes super short <200ft and on the simpler side. I understand that they are targeting newer players with these positions but I felt the B-D positions could have accommodated that level player just fine. A few "A" positions required you to throw a putter through one line a trees. You make it through and you get a chance for a birdie. It glances off a tree and you're gonna get a par. Not especially satisfying
- Terrain and foliage are pretty uniform (wooded and hilly) throughout the course so you get a lot of 150-250ft tight wooded shots off the tee. A couple longer open holes to round out the course would have been ideal. A few too many mids/putters off the tee for my taste. Leave your distance drivers at home.
Other Thoughts: I'm very happy I visited this course. It's tight, wooded disc golf with well-designed holes. The additional of just 2-3 longer, open holes would bump my rating up to a 5 but even without those you'll have a very enjoyable round here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

1    6/28/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shorter technical course playing through a really nice forest. The fairways are clear, but there are some narrow gaps to hit and some brushy manzanita if you miss your lines. There's a fair amount of punishment for errant shots, but ample opportunity for creative recovery shots through the trees. There are some moderate elevation changes on a few holes, and they definitely add some fun drives.

The holes by the creek add some OB challenge and have the potential of rollaways with the sloped banks. There are multiple pins on all the holes, with a really good variety of lines available. You'll need a solid set of line shaping skills to score well here. The setup I played did a good job of mixing up left, right and straight shots. Having the alternates is a nice way to keep the course interesting for repeat play if they're moved often.
Cons: The course is pretty short overall, so for better players it won't test more than putter and midrange shots. The longer pins that do actually add some length had some weird lines, it looked like someone fell into the trap of making them "harder" without really looking at realistic disc golf lines.

The signs don't mark which pin placement is in use, that can make for some extra scouting when you have this many alternate locations. The fairways are showing a lot of compaction, and the holes by the creek have some significant erosion issues.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course. It might be a little punitive for really new players, but the lengths are reasonable and the lines are fair. More experienced players will find some fun short challenges but not a real test of their full range of skills. This course is worth a stop if you're in the area, it's got some really fun shots and it's a great walk in the woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A stroll in the woods playing disc golf

1    6/28/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: sumo21
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -You end where you start. Hole 1 and hole 18 are in the same vicinity, so you don't have to walk that extra distance to your car

-Bathroom's and a water fountain

-Very technical course that even a newbie like myself can play and do relatively decent

-Scenery can be a nice distraction, if you're having a bad game

-Nothing too steep, up or down, to worry about when maneuvering through the course

-Nothing really too long in distance, every hole seems to play about 200-350 on average. Although a few holes do have that near 400+ foot basket
Cons: -Some baskets you can't see from the tee, so you have to use the tee sign to estimate

-No basket indicator on the tee sign so you have to look for basket unless someone is playing ahead of you
Other Thoughts: Have a towel ready because your shoes and discs will accumulate the red-brown dirt that makes up the ground constituent of the course.

Make sure you look at the tee sign before your next hole. It will give you the general direction in which it is located.

Watch out for holes 13, 14, 15 which the creek comes into play. 13 and 15, you throw across it to get to your basket. One basket setting of 14, puts the basket near that creek, near the edge of the hill. Would love to play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Longtail Larry Leisure Loops

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 446  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
A beautiful stroll winding through the gently-undulating landscape, containing many tall pines, hovering over some mid-sized hardwoods, supported by ever-present manzanitas, atop a thin blanket of pine needles - and throw in a clear-running stream for good measure,

Tee areas: each has a bench, a trash can, a teesign (which also indicates direction of the next tee), and flat, long, and wide concrete teepad, wider at the throwing end on those holes were multiple throwing lanes are available.

Two nine-hole loops. Practice baskets. Restroom. Shaded. Minimal chance to lose a disc.
With five pin positions per (most) hole, typically not visible from the tee, it would be nice if the teesign indicated the current position.
Other Thoughts:
Obviously, with five pin positions, the length and shape challenges you face on any particular day could vary wildly - when I visited, the baskets were primarily in the longer positions, with an fairly even blend of lefts (most on the earlier holes the day I played), rights (latter half), with a smattering of straight shots needed from the tee.

While there are no extreme elevation changes, only a few holes are flat throughout - subtle up/down slopes, across valley, or up-n-over a small rise will greet you on most holes.

Throwing lanes are quite fair, as are the shapes - no pinball, no triple turns, no eye-of-the-needle, no 180s. All throwing lanes are reasonable w/o being automatic, contain more air than trees, and most mistakes, except the most egregious, will suffer a recovery.

Baskets are all quite approachable, with a few on slopes quite neat the stream - I went just over it on #14 :-), but rolled back into it on #15. :-(

I swung a bit out of my way to play the course, and am very happy I did so - also enjoying the eastward drive on route-20 afterwards. Natural beauty seemingly designed to host a disc golf course - a peaceful, pleasurable play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    3/15/2013   3/14/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 46  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical shots, open shots, skips, rolls, great scenery. Parking is plenty and easy to find. Great location and not too crowded. Bring my wife and kids here to play with some friends that are new to the game as well. Dry ground allows for plenty of skip chances. If you throw RHBH, basket placement was just where you want the left.
Cons: Easy to lose your disc. If you are not careful, you can make an errant throw and say good-bye to your plastic. Bathrooms weren't too clean either, but it is a park...can't expect it to shine all the time. Ice...during the winter months, the tee pads can get a little frosty.
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course. Great to get the family together and have a great time playing on a course, this is the one. This was the first time I had a backup on any hole here. Our group of 4 got stuck behind a "tournament" group of players that were very inconsiderate of those behind them. Each person was throwing two or more discs. This created a backup, on what is usually a fast moving course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.