Grass Valley, CA 
Squirrel Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
grass valley

5+    9/21/2012   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of ace runs, good place to learn to throw through tree's, and manage your skips. Fast playing course, coupla markets in area sell discs
Cons: only the crowds, usually a whole lotta people, but the fast play of the course makes this tolerable
Other Thoughts: great intermediate course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, fair play

2-4    11/15/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: miniboult
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to get to and parking is close to tee#1
-Baskets in good shape
-Tee pads are in good shape
-Variety of shots, with a few short holes and a few long holes (for those of us without monster arms)
-Shady and cool (at least in the autumn)
Cons: -Trees everywhere!!!!
-Signage not great, can be confusing to find a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is all about making sure you stay in the fairways. With so many trees to hit, it is likely you will bounce of the fairway and into some rough that is really hard to get out of. A few of the holes only give one route to the basket off the tee (I believe every hole should have two possible drive routes off the tee). This course can be unforgiving unless you make good first drives. For beginners, the fairways may not be wide enough. For seasoned players, a good course to hone your finesse drives.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A MUST PLAY

2-4    3/30/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course and not for your beginner level players. The tee pads are concrete and angled proportionately towards the basket regardless of pin locations. There are tee signs at all holes giving distance and multiple pin locations. Next tee signs are placed accordingly where needed. The locals are friendly and it never seems crowded. The park is dog friendly and there are restrooms near the parking lot. Benches and trash cans are throughout the course
Cons: No current pin location on signs. This made it hard to locate the basket unless you walk down and looked for it, since some baskets were blind holes!
Other Thoughts: A very clean and challenging course! The hard clay can play a part of your game here either skipping or rolling away. This course has some incredible pin locations that will always challenge the most experienced DG'er, like hole #11. I brought a friend along and after hole#2 he said" this is my favorite course"!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 My experience with Condon

5+    10/16/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Shaggles
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great to sharpen your medium to short range game shots. This course is also a very good course to practice technical shots on.Has a lot of gaps and or obstacles on every hole through out the course. Not an easy game for the begginer. I like this courses layout its well designed and the signs to the next tee are clear and visible. I also enjoy the fact that hole 9 and hole 18 both end at the parking lot. One of my favorite tee offs is hole thirteen, which is the first hole you tee off over the creek. Hard in the fact that if you don`t throw far enough your disc rolls down the steep hil into the creek. I think this is a good "short game" course and can be played in aout an hour. When I want a good challenge I lay at Condon. You`ll alwaysfind your disc when you throw off thefairway because there are alot of foot paths through the bushes which is very convienant.
Cons: This course has a lot of thick manzanita and trees so if yourtrhow is off your in the bush lookin for your disc and it can be tough to get out ofsometimes. I think a major downfall of this course is the approach tothe pin on hole 11 its only got a narrow 8ft. wide hallway to throw down so If your of even by a little your bush wackin. Hole 3 can be a little frustrating aswell the pins far down the hill and up the next one and the fairway runsaway from it to the right generally. So you got to throw hard and long otherwise your in the bush. The tee off signs show where the pins are but they don`t mark which spot the pins at so that can be sloghtly confusing to someone who is playing for their first time there. Very crowded almost everday after 12 noon :(.
Other Thoughts: GREAT course to sharpen your technical throwing capabilities on. The firstcouple times I played throguh it I hated it because of allthe trees on the course. But then after playing for a while I got better came back and was more successful at getting the pins in par or birdie. Definately a course for someone who knows howto manipulate thier disc through complicated/ noarrow gaps. All in All I give Condon two thumbs up. I invite you to try it out if you are ever in Grass Valley.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Grass Valley ... Need I Say More?

1    5/10/2005   8/21/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great Course, Great Design.
- Good mixture of hole types
- Good Community of Golfers
- Nice Elevation changes and water in play
- Good facilities too (bathroom, other park amenities)
Cons:
- Busy Busy Busy
- Other than that a really nice course to challenge players of all levels.
Other Thoughts: Played this on my NorCal disc golfing adventure in 05. Great course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.