Grass Valley, CA 
Squirrel Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Longtail Larry Leisure Loops

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
Pros:
A beautiful stroll winding through the gently-undulating landscape, containing many tall pines, hovering over some mid-sized hardwoods, supported by ever-present manzanitas, atop a thin blanket of pine needles - and throw in a clear-running stream for good measure,

Tee areas: each has a bench, a trash can, a teesign (which also indicates direction of the next tee), and flat, long, and wide concrete teepad, wider at the throwing end on those holes were multiple throwing lanes are available.

Two nine-hole loops. Practice baskets. Restroom. Shaded. Minimal chance to lose a disc.
Cons:
With five pin positions per (most) hole, typically not visible from the tee, it would be nice if the teesign indicated the current position.
Other Thoughts:
Obviously, with five pin positions, the length and shape challenges you face on any particular day could vary wildly - when I visited, the baskets were primarily in the longer positions, with an fairly even blend of lefts (most on the earlier holes the day I played), rights (latter half), with a smattering of straight shots needed from the tee.

While there are no extreme elevation changes, only a few holes are flat throughout - subtle up/down slopes, across valley, or up-n-over a small rise will greet you on most holes.

Throwing lanes are quite fair, as are the shapes - no pinball, no triple turns, no eye-of-the-needle, no 180s. All throwing lanes are reasonable w/o being automatic, contain more air than trees, and most mistakes, except the most egregious, will suffer a recovery.

Baskets are all quite approachable, with a few on slopes quite neat the stream - I went just over it on #14 :-), but rolled back into it on #15. :-(

I swung a bit out of my way to play the course, and am very happy I did so - also enjoying the eastward drive on route-20 afterwards. Natural beauty seemingly designed to host a disc golf course - a peaceful, pleasurable play.

Challenging

5+    3/17/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: Sam U
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Multiple pin locations
Convinient parking
Elevation changes
Technical lines
Benches and trash cans at each hole
Good mix of short and long holes
Cons: Hole #4 isn't a disk golf hole to me. It is more or less a basket in the middle of the woods

Can be crowded

Tough to know where the next hole is if it's your first time.
Other Thoughts: First timmers find a guide and stay out of the manzanita.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grass Valley Forest Wonder!

1    8/16/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 666  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just a great piece of land to build a great technical course. Enough elevation to keep things interesting, a clean, clear stream that runs year around and a forest of mature trees. Then you add the reddish dirt for skipping discs off and the thick manzanita bushes for sticking your discs in and you have a wonderful enviroment for a course.

Although short, the technical nature of the course will challenge any player. You must hit your lines on your drive to score well. Although thick, the underbrush is foregiving. Errant discs are not hard to find here.
Cons: The navigation would not be the easiest without local help. Much of the signage is missing or incomplete. There is no way of knowing which position the basket is in. Don't bring your drivers. Mid-range and approach discs are the solution here.
Other Thoughts: I've not seen a course where reviewers were in such agreement on regarding it's rating. This is got to be the most unified rated 4.0 course in the country! It's a beautiful course, a great challenge to your discing skills and just a really enjoyable time on the course. It's the kind of course everyone wishes they had near their home. I know I do.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Proof that you don't need distance to be fun!

1    8/16/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very technical course, rewards good decision making and punishes poor or foolish attempts.
- All the holes basically have a way to get in in 2.
- Very shady. Made the hot summer day seem significantly less so.
- Nice tee pads.
- Multiple pin positions.
- Helpful locals!
- Beautiful course.
- Year round stream, that is quite beautiful. Runs nice and cool, and is not deep, allowing for disc retrieval and crossing if necessary.
- Nice bridges over the stream!
Cons: - Ups and downs of the terrain really sucked out our stamina.
- Tee signs are rudimentary, looking like they were made with paper and crayons.
- No indications whatsoever of pin position at the teepad.
- No indication where the next hole lies. Navigation can be difficult.
- Rough is REALLY rough, severely penalizing some shots that weren't all *that* bad. Manzanita trees do a great job of making dense walls.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be technical, but not overly difficult. I learned how to make shots with discs I'd not tried to accomplish those lines with before.

The signage, according to a local, is undergoing revision as we speak. Once the new signs go up (and hopefully with a pin position indicator somewhere), the course will be even better.

(UPDATE: Went back to play Condon today. New maps have been added, and they're awesome! But still no pin placement indicators (that I am aware of, anyways - please let me know if I missed something).

I think this course really illustrated that disc golf is not just about distance, but rather, about having a full bag of abilities (and plastic!) at almost all ranges.

We wound up playing the last couple holes with a guy who took out his high speed stuff each time he stepped onto the pad, and then proceeded to crank it as hard as he could into a tree each time, without exception. I took the pad with a long mid or a fairway, and placed a shot that was not only better position, but with more distance as well, every time. I find my experience with the other player to be very indicative of the idea of the course - make shots, not bombs. Not everything is about throwing as far as possible.

Pursuant to that, I liked that there were holes that called for me to drive with mids or fairways (or even putters) to get to the basket.

I only saw two pin positions that I felt were unfair. All the other positions I saw had definite ways to get in for birdie with well placed drives.

I didn't like that navigation was not exactly intuitive. We got lost a number of times, and it could have easily been avoided by having clearly visible indicators of where the next tee was. Some holes did have these, but they were not very large, and could be easily missed.

Overall, I really enjoyed my time playing at Condon Park, and would definitely try to make it back up the hill to play it again sometime.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 worth your time

2-4    2/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very technical course, requires lots of different shots.
-Friendly people, very mellow course. Also it's out of the valley heat!
-Well maintained and alternate pin positions to keep it interesting.
Cons: -Tight fairways. Expect to hit a couple trees as it is dense. Might not be a con since playing here regularly WILL improve your game, but I list it here anyways because every time I shot a worse score than I thought I should have due to the dense brush.
-Baskets have a tendency to blend in with the topography. I only really realized that when playing at dusk and only bring it up in case you are used to those discatcher baskets with the bright yellow band.
Other Thoughts: The locals take a lot of pride in this course and it shows. Nice days it can get crowded, but overall it flows well enough and I never found myself waiting on people very long. Well worth playing and lots of fun!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Condon Park

5+    4/17/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: hatchet
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic course, Easy to navigate, well maintained, lots of fun shots, good variety of topography.
Cons: if you cant throw exactly where you want to, then your gonna hit a tree.
Other Thoughts: my second favorite course that ive played

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  codon park

5+    1/28/2011   1/29/2011
Review By: jaybogie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: multi-pins positions, elevation changes, water haz's, technical course
you can play a good round and be +1 a great round -8 or a bad round +8 in one day
a wide variety of shots flick, back hand, and out of the manazanita with the "tommy"
great all around course
Cons: The MAN goes out and will bust you for...
dog lease, drinking, and anyother non-sense.
alot of people play this course plan for time
but no cons on the the course you can have a good or bad round on any day just depends on the trees you encouter
Other Thoughts: beware of hard skips because of clay soil and in the mazaninta bad place to be...
need some improvements; new signs
and flag or something on hole 3 so you know where it is at
one of my top five nor-cal courses

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintianed
-Beautiful setting
-Narrow fairways
-Technical without being too technical
-Nice tee pads
-I like how most of the fairways are hard dirt
allowing your disc to slide an extra 10-20 feet on your drives!
Cons: -Found myself wanting more elevation change given that this couse is in the foothills.
-Wanted a couple more wide open "bomber" holes
-Signs don't indicate basket placement
Other Thoughts: This course is world class and is a must play if in Northern Cali.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Motherlode's Prestine Course!

5+    5/4/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Multiple Pin Placements
-Fast Fairways and Greens
-Great scenery and the fresh pine scented air!
-Both Technical and Semi-Technical Layouts
-Clean cold running stream through the course. (Comes into play on 13 thru 15)
-Nice benches and trash cans on each hole
-Well shaded on hot summer days
-Within 20 minutes of 3 other epic courses!
Cons: -Beginners may get frustrated
-Course has high traffic due to popularity of sport growing, but most will let any small groups play through.
Other Thoughts: This is where I began playing disc golf and have hit over 40 courses in 6 years but still this course ranks very high within all of the others due to it's flexibility, technicalities and it's overall challenge day in and day out. Even the Pro's can't lock it down non-stop.
De-La has competition... this is the condensed version in my eyes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Condon Park

5+    4/20/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Sluse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A variety of different holes... long, short, open, tight and technical shots. Also pretty mellow on the water hazzards. Just watch out for floating discs in the stream....
Cons: Some very inconveniently placed trees.
Other Thoughts: Just remember to keep that disc down!!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.