Grass Valley, CA 
Squirrel Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #14
3 / 374ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A stroll in the woods playing disc golf

1    6/28/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: sumo21
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: -You end where you start. Hole 1 and hole 18 are in the same vicinity, so you don't have to walk that extra distance to your car

-Bathroom's and a water fountain

-Very technical course that even a newbie like myself can play and do relatively decent

-Scenery can be a nice distraction, if you're having a bad game

-Nothing too steep, up or down, to worry about when maneuvering through the course

-Nothing really too long in distance, every hole seems to play about 200-350 on average. Although a few holes do have that near 400+ foot basket
Cons: -Some baskets you can't see from the tee, so you have to use the tee sign to estimate

-No basket indicator on the tee sign so you have to look for basket unless someone is playing ahead of you
Other Thoughts: Have a towel ready because your shoes and discs will accumulate the red-brown dirt that makes up the ground constituent of the course.

Make sure you look at the tee sign before your next hole. It will give you the general direction in which it is located.

Watch out for holes 13, 14, 15 which the creek comes into play. 13 and 15, you throw across it to get to your basket. One basket setting of 14, puts the basket near that creek, near the edge of the hill. Would love to play this course again.

Longtail Larry Leisure Loops

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros:
A beautiful stroll winding through the gently-undulating landscape, containing many tall pines, hovering over some mid-sized hardwoods, supported by ever-present manzanitas, atop a thin blanket of pine needles - and throw in a clear-running stream for good measure,

Tee areas: each has a bench, a trash can, a teesign (which also indicates direction of the next tee), and flat, long, and wide concrete teepad, wider at the throwing end on those holes were multiple throwing lanes are available.

Two nine-hole loops. Practice baskets. Restroom. Shaded. Minimal chance to lose a disc.
Cons:
With five pin positions per (most) hole, typically not visible from the tee, it would be nice if the teesign indicated the current position.
Other Thoughts:
Obviously, with five pin positions, the length and shape challenges you face on any particular day could vary wildly - when I visited, the baskets were primarily in the longer positions, with an fairly even blend of lefts (most on the earlier holes the day I played), rights (latter half), with a smattering of straight shots needed from the tee.

While there are no extreme elevation changes, only a few holes are flat throughout - subtle up/down slopes, across valley, or up-n-over a small rise will greet you on most holes.

Throwing lanes are quite fair, as are the shapes - no pinball, no triple turns, no eye-of-the-needle, no 180s. All throwing lanes are reasonable w/o being automatic, contain more air than trees, and most mistakes, except the most egregious, will suffer a recovery.

Baskets are all quite approachable, with a few on slopes quite neat the stream - I went just over it on #14 :-), but rolled back into it on #15. :-(

I swung a bit out of my way to play the course, and am very happy I did so - also enjoying the eastward drive on route-20 afterwards. Natural beauty seemingly designed to host a disc golf course - a peaceful, pleasurable play.

Love this course

2-4    3/15/2013   3/14/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 3/17/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical shots, open shots, skips, rolls, great scenery. Parking is plenty and easy to find. Great location and not too crowded. Bring my wife and kids here to play with some friends that are new to the game as well. Dry ground allows for plenty of skip chances. If you throw RHBH, basket placement was just where you want it...to the left.
Cons: Easy to lose your disc. If you are not careful, you can make an errant throw and say good-bye to your plastic. Bathrooms weren't too clean either, but it is a park...can't expect it to shine all the time. Ice...during the winter months, the tee pads can get a little frosty.
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course. Great to get the family together and have a great time playing on a course, this is the one. This was the first time I had a backup on any hole here. Our group of 4 got stuck behind a "tournament" group of players that were very inconsiderate of those behind them. Each person was throwing two or more discs. This created a backup, on what is usually a fast moving course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

grass valley

5+    9/21/2012   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of ace runs, good place to learn to throw through tree's, and manage your skips. Fast playing course, coupla markets in area sell discs
Cons: only the crowds, usually a whole lotta people, but the fast play of the course makes this tolerable
Other Thoughts: great intermediate course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course that'll make you think.

5+    4/8/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: CSGgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short, alot of ace runs and "local routes", doesn't really favor any particular throwing style, and the pins change just about every couple weeks.
Cons: Most people get lost without some sort of local to help them navigate the course.Alot of nasty bushes and thick trees. (Accuracy is forsure a must when playing this one). The fairways and greens are very fast so expect alot of skips. The worst part for me is all the people. You're lucky to get a round in on a nice day in a couple hours, playing through multiple groups of 6 and 7 people. ALSO it gets very hot during the summer so BRING WATER!
Other Thoughts: Brighton St Market right down the road sells discs and will be a "lost&found" of sorts for discs. So if you lose one don't freak out, come back in a day or two and the chill locals should have fished it out for ya. Have fun & remember the "2 meter rule".

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging

5+    3/17/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: Sam U
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Multiple pin locations
Convinient parking
Elevation changes
Technical lines
Benches and trash cans at each hole
Good mix of short and long holes
Cons: Hole #4 isn't a disk golf hole to me. It is more or less a basket in the middle of the woods

Can be crowded

Tough to know where the next hole is if it's your first time.
Other Thoughts: First timmers find a guide and stay out of the manzanita.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Grass Valley Forest Wonder!

1    8/16/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just a great piece of land to build a great technical course. Enough elevation to keep things interesting, a clean, clear stream that runs year around and a forest of mature trees. Then you add the reddish dirt for skipping discs off and the thick manzanita bushes for sticking your discs in and you have a wonderful enviroment for a course.

Although short, the technical nature of the course will challenge any player. You must hit your lines on your drive to score well. Although thick, the underbrush is foregiving. Errant discs are not hard to find here.
Cons: The navigation would not be the easiest without local help. Much of the signage is missing or incomplete. There is no way of knowing which position the basket is in. Don't bring your drivers. Mid-range and approach discs are the solution here.
Other Thoughts: I've not seen a course where reviewers were in such agreement on regarding it's rating. This is got to be the most unified rated 4.0 course in the country! It's a beautiful course, a great challenge to your discing skills and just a really enjoyable time on the course. It's the kind of course everyone wishes they had near their home. I know I do.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Proof that you don't need distance to be fun!

1    8/16/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very technical course, rewards good decision making and punishes poor or foolish attempts.
- All the holes basically have a way to get in in 2.
- Very shady. Made the hot summer day seem significantly less so.
- Nice tee pads.
- Multiple pin positions.
- Helpful locals!
- Beautiful course.
- Year round stream, that is quite beautiful. Runs nice and cool, and is not deep, allowing for disc retrieval and crossing if necessary.
- Nice bridges over the stream!
Cons: - Ups and downs of the terrain really sucked out our stamina.
- Tee signs are rudimentary, looking like they were made with paper and crayons.
- No indications whatsoever of pin position at the teepad.
- No indication where the next hole lies. Navigation can be difficult.
- Rough is REALLY rough, severely penalizing some shots that weren't all *that* bad. Manzanita trees do a great job of making dense walls.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be technical, but not overly difficult. I learned how to make shots with discs I'd not tried to accomplish those lines with before.

The signage, according to a local, is undergoing revision as we speak. Once the new signs go up (and hopefully with a pin position indicator somewhere), the course will be even better.

(UPDATE: Went back to play Condon today. New maps have been added, and they're awesome! But still no pin placement indicators (that I am aware of, anyways - please let me know if I missed something).

I think this course really illustrated that disc golf is not just about distance, but rather, about having a full bag of abilities (and plastic!) at almost all ranges.

We wound up playing the last couple holes with a guy who took out his high speed stuff each time he stepped onto the pad, and then proceeded to crank it as hard as he could into a tree each time, without exception. I took the pad with a long mid or a fairway, and placed a shot that was not only better position, but with more distance as well, every time. I find my experience with the other player to be very indicative of the idea of the course - make shots, not bombs. Not everything is about throwing as far as possible.

Pursuant to that, I liked that there were holes that called for me to drive with mids or fairways (or even putters) to get to the basket.

I only saw two pin positions that I felt were unfair. All the other positions I saw had definite ways to get in for birdie with well placed drives.

I didn't like that navigation was not exactly intuitive. We got lost a number of times, and it could have easily been avoided by having clearly visible indicators of where the next tee was. Some holes did have these, but they were not very large, and could be easily missed.

Overall, I really enjoyed my time playing at Condon Park, and would definitely try to make it back up the hill to play it again sometime.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

2-4    5/15/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: SnowvsFire
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awesome course with a lot of variety. Got to play two different pin positions in one day. Fun place with good folks. I like this style of disc golf, finding tunnels and weaving trees is how disc started, not these big wide open golf course style courses people are playing these days.
Cons: Litter :(
Besides that it was alot of fun.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this spot :)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 worth your time

2-4    2/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very technical course, requires lots of different shots.
-Friendly people, very mellow course. Also it's out of the valley heat!
-Well maintained and alternate pin positions to keep it interesting.
Cons: -Tight fairways. Expect to hit a couple trees as it is dense. Might not be a con since playing here regularly WILL improve your game, but I list it here anyways because every time I shot a worse score than I thought I should have due to the dense brush.
-Baskets have a tendency to blend in with the topography. I only really realized that when playing at dusk and only bring it up in case you are used to those discatcher baskets with the bright yellow band.
Other Thoughts: The locals take a lot of pride in this course and it shows. Nice days it can get crowded, but overall it flows well enough and I never found myself waiting on people very long. Well worth playing and lots of fun!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.