Grass Valley, CA
Squirrel Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #17
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Condon Park

5+    4/17/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: hatchet
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic course, Easy to navigate, well maintained, lots of fun shots, good variety of topography.
Cons: if you cant throw exactly where you want to, then your gonna hit a tree.
Other Thoughts: my second favorite course that ive played

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  codon park

5+    1/28/2011   1/29/2011
Review By: jaybogie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: multi-pins positions, elevation changes, water haz's, technical course
you can play a good round and be +1 a great round -8 or a bad round +8 in one day
a wide variety of shots flick, back hand, and out of the manazanita with the "tommy"
great all around course
Cons: The MAN goes out and will bust you for...
dog lease, drinking, and anyother non-sense.
alot of people play this course plan for time
but no cons on the the course you can have a good or bad round on any day just depends on the trees you encouter
Other Thoughts: beware of hard skips because of clay soil and in the mazaninta bad place to be...
need some improvements; new signs
and flag or something on hole 3 so you know where it is at
one of my top five nor-cal courses

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Some of these reviews..

2-4    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of players to help direct you to the next tee. Lots of fun over the creek shots. Clean area. Baskets. Can have dogs on leash.
Cons: It is a nice course but at the time I played it seems like there is lots of brush in the fairways. The manzanita could stand a solid trimming, too tight of fairways and too many trees for this kid at 50% of the holes. The sign set up could use some serious help. For a person who has never played this course, good luck without a guide finding any of the upper tees. I would personally rather play Westgate in Penn Valley.
Other Thoughts: Try to get a guide the first visit, as around hole 8 you will start to wonder where the heck the trail to the next tee is. Very crowded place, however the people there are awesome and there are often familys. Good course for strollers.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just Awesome

5+    8/12/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: guido
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good short hole just real techie. Lots and lots of trees. Best course that I have played. It is good and challenging. Each hole has more than one spot for the basket. It is really nice that way because you can have a different game experience week to week.
Cons: The maps that are not real clear. Other than that, nothing.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintianed
-Beautiful setting
-Narrow fairways
-Technical without being too technical
-Nice tee pads
-I like how most of the fairways are hard dirt
allowing your disc to slide an extra 10-20 feet on your drives!
Cons: -Found myself wanting more elevation change given that this couse is in the foothills.
-Wanted a couple more wide open "bomber" holes
-Signs don't indicate basket placement
Other Thoughts: This course is world class and is a must play if in Northern Cali.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Motherlode's Prestine Course!

5+    5/4/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Multiple Pin Placements
-Fast Fairways and Greens
-Great scenery and the fresh pine scented air!
-Both Technical and Semi-Technical Layouts
-Clean cold running stream through the course. (Comes into play on 13 thru 15)
-Nice benches and trash cans on each hole
-Well shaded on hot summer days
-Within 20 minutes of 3 other epic courses!
Cons: -Beginners may get frustrated
-Course has high traffic due to popularity of sport growing, but most will let any small groups play through.
Other Thoughts: This is where I began playing disc golf and have hit over 40 courses in 6 years but still this course ranks very high within all of the others due to it's flexibility, technicalities and it's overall challenge day in and day out. Even the Pro's can't lock it down non-stop.
De-La has competition... this is the condensed version in my eyes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Condon Park

5+    4/20/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Sluse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A variety of different holes... long, short, open, tight and technical shots. Also pretty mellow on the water hazzards. Just watch out for floating discs in the stream....
Cons: Some very inconveniently placed trees.
Other Thoughts: Just remember to keep that disc down!!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A MUST PLAY

2-4    3/30/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course and not for your beginner level players. The tee pads are concrete and angled proportionately towards the basket regardless of pin locations. There are tee signs at all holes giving distance and multiple pin locations. Next tee signs are placed accordingly where needed. The locals are friendly and it never seems crowded. The park is dog friendly and there are restrooms near the parking lot. Benches and trash cans are throughout the course
Cons: No current pin location on signs. This made it hard to locate the basket unless you walk down and looked for it, since some baskets were blind holes!
Other Thoughts: A very clean and challenging course! The hard clay can play a part of your game here either skipping or rolling away. This course has some incredible pin locations that will always challenge the most experienced DG'er, like hole #11. I brought a friend along and after hole#2 he said" this is my favorite course"!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: LocalsRoute
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: My favorite course of all. Has great shots. So many trees nice cool running water and the smell is jus that good.
Cons: some holes need some updating because of all new plastic.
Other Thoughts: As the popularity continues to grow in dg I hope all that find this piece of heaven cherish it.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Quickly becoming my favorite

5+    12/14/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: renotahoedg
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great concrete tee pads
Benches on each hole
Great signs showing where the next tee is
BEAUTIFUL SCENERY
Tight, technical course, which suits my stlye of play
Cons: Althought the signage is adequate, they need to find a way to show which placement the basket is at. Something like Penn Valley would work, but the spinners that Truckee, Bijou, Zephyr, and Reno use would be ideal.
Very busy on weekends
Other Thoughts: This is quickly becoming my favorite course. It was very frustrating when I was starting out as it is very tight which is tough for beginners.

I now love it because almost every hole is just as easy to deuce as it is to double bogey. Every shot must be on or your score will suffer

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.