Disc Golf Center
Thousand Oaks, CA 
Conejo Valley YMCA Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #5 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 100ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket in clearing beyond the trees



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty awful

1    4/13/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on the grounds of the Y. A few holes use a hilly area with cactus and other desert plants, these holes offer some risk/reward with rollaway potential and plenty of spiky lies if you miss your landing zone. The remainder of the holes play around and through the other activities on the Y campus. These are flatter and a little longer. It's great to see disc golf included with other activities for kids, it's a great way to introduce new players to the sport.
Cons: The course seems to have been thrown in without any regard to design or safety. Too many shots cross over one another or play directly through playgrounds and other activities. None of the holes is all that interesting, they all offer straight shots at the hole (except the one that forces a shot over the high fence of the basketball court that kids won't be able to make anyway).

The equipment is in terrible shape. Of the 6 remaining baskets, only a couple had more than a few links of chain left and all were bent enough that discs went right through the bottom even if you made a putt. The tees are overgrown and not level, a few are no longer marked.
Other Thoughts: I like the idea of a beginner friendly course in this location, unfortunately the execution and maintenance are sorely lacking. The course is frustrating for beginners without enough real challenges for more experienced players. I don't recommend this course at all unless you (like me) want to check off every course in the area.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Awwww...

2-4    3/6/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: IamDangerboy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Close to home. Short course, good for kids.
Cons: The course is in disrepair. The baskets have plastic chains, and most of them are broken or missing. Cacti are near most of the holes and will easily poke through your pants. You play around and over a baseball field, playground and basketball court.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 On the way to rabbit flats

1    9/11/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to find.
Good for beginners.
Free.
Cons: Cactus and lots of it, if your not careful they can really mess up your disc.
Short but its a little pitch and putt
Many of the baskets are broken.
Other Thoughts: Well I headed out to Thousand Oaks to go play at Rabbit Flats, and decided that along the way i'd stop along here. Parked near the bottom by a little soccer field and a short walk to the first tee. Which was short but not a bad hole for what it is. Continued on until hole 3 where the cactus starts playing a major role bringing a hazard into play. And once you get to hole 9 you get this 1 1/2 foot tall basket which i squated down and sunk my putt was quite hilarious.

I'm not sure if i would ever play here again, but i cant say I didn't have a good time, if you're looking for something to warm you up before Rabbit Flats go play a round.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 ummm....okay

1    4/26/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
29 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee's AND baskets at all 9 holes
-Varied terrain
-Bright baskets are easy to see, and are numbered.
Cons: -Too short!
-Tee markers are just bricks on the ground, no elevated marking for route finding
-Plays in potentially busy areas with preferred shots going over playgrounds and sports equipment
-Most of the baskets are broken beyond repair
-Plastic chains do not catch anything, really.
Other Thoughts: Course plays along a sloping edge of the local YMCA. Starts on grass, and works its way up a brush and cactus studded hillside to a flat dirt area up top, then comes back down the hill. Starts roughly by 3rd base of the diamond, near the entrance to the park.

All tees are marked with blue and yellow numbered bricks, same color as the scheme on the baskets.

I couldn't stand reading all the hype about how bad this place was so I went to check it out. We WERE able to play and find all 9 holes, so that was nice.

Arrived and parked, and a nearby employee greeted us. We asked where the course started, he pointed the way and did not mention anything about a "$5 non-member fee," so we played.

Most holes are under 100 feet. A couple up top, notably 5 and 6, allowed for a little arm, but not much. Maybe 200 feet a piece.

All of the baskets had 'something' wrong with them, with most looking like they came out of a Dr. Seuss book. A couple had very narrow openings between the top and the basket, basket 9 has to be seen to believe, 6 was lying on its side next to the building (we propped it up), and most allow for the disc to fall through the basket if you are not careful. Most also don't have the hanging plastic chains actually attached to anything at the bottom.

While all of the other reviews are correct, we managed to find all 9 holes and play them, all were 'there' in one way or another. They were so easy though, that this fabled cactus everybody talks about was really simple to avoid. In fact some even helped me at one point. Either way, it is only present on two holes (2 and 3).

The land could be used more effectively to make a better course, and if you really care, you can play it however you want. That being said, I don't think they are trying to draw a crowd or anything anytime soon.

This is not a destination course by any means, but if you come out to play Rabbit Flat, check it out first just to get a weird little round in. Why not? I think it's fun to play these strange little dilapidated courses every once in a while so we can appreciate the REAL courses we have available.

I rated this course 1 FULL disc because we went out there kind of knowing what to expect, and actually had a little bit of fun playing it. Was not busy, played the whole course, and had a good time for what it was worth.

UPDATE: Hole distances have been uploaded since my visit. They are totally inaccurate. Hole 7 for example is at least 140 feet (crosses a basketball court with fences with some approach as well), and hole 5 is easily 200.

29 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Arnold-Call Out The Guard!

1    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've sent a letter of the utmost urgency to Governor Schwarzenegger requesting that he, without a moment's delay, immediately call out the California National Guard to come out to Thousand Oaks and remove, disassemble, or cordon off this disaster area. I've also requested an autographed 8" x 10" picture of him in his Terminator jacket, but that's another story for another time. The only pro for this course is that someone at some time put some effort into designing and building this abberation of a course. For that reason alone, I'm giving it my Lucky Eagle Casino, Pick of the Week, 1/2 star rating. And I saw some rabbits happily hopping about. At least, they liked the course. Also because I played early in the morning, no-one was there to charge me the non-YMCA member price of $5.
Cons: Where to start! Probably with the basket in the center of the low lying cactus field. The rabbits I observed couldn't hop through this prickly mine field without getting thorns in their little bunny behinds. My next favorite lowlight was the # 9 basket. It stands about 6 inches off the ground. Maybe the rabbits can't throw high enough for a standard height basket? Add to that the fact for a very small course, navigation is nightmarish. The design is abysmal and you have a very poor excuse for a course.
Other Thoughts: If you rush, you might be able to get there before Arnold's National Guard stormtroopers. If not, you haven't missed anything at all. Wait for the new Rabbit Flats course which is scheduled to open in another two months..

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Conejo = Don't Go!!!

1    12/23/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: Big Papa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/30/2009
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: None. Please avoid this place. Well, actually, use it as a road marker on the way to Acorn Park, which should be completed by Spring 10.
Cons: They charged us non-Y members $5 to play. The course is extremely poorly marked. Beyond cheapo baskets, like from a lego set. Cactus everywhere, including my legs. Pitiful, if non-existent tees. What were they thinking when they listed this as a course? Please remove this course from the list of availble places. I think it's actually a set for Candid Camera, cause you really can't believe this is for real, plus you PAID $5 to be insulted and afflicted by the cactus. The holes are super short, maybe take your putter, that's it, and some tweezers and a long pole to retrieve your disc from the cactus
Other Thoughts: I think "Conejo" is Spanish for "What a Joke". I can't believe this hasn't made it in a Simpsons episode, or something along those lines. We weren't mad when we left after playing the only 4 holes we could find. We actually felt as though we had partaken in a rite of passage into the realm of the absurd. If you go here with serious intent to play, I'm thinking you were out whizzin when they passed out brains.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 not worth it

5+    12/20/2008   7/27/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it's a place where you can throw discs at baskets
there are bathrooms and a water fountain
a small field where you can play catch, practice approaches or play some other sports once you realize that this course sucks and is not worth playing.
could be fun in a warped kind of way, since it's possibly the worst course you'll ever play.
Cons: short, terribly designed, cacti everywhere, poor tees, absurd obstacles, and the baskets are practically worthless.
Other Thoughts: this is a pathetic pitch & putt course. i would never bring anyone to play here. gives a terrible impression of what disc golf really is. only reason i ever come is to get a few holes in when i'm in town but don't have time to drive to sylmar or ventura.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 No way.

1    4/18/2008   5/18/2009
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2010
31 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are none to speak of except that there is a small field to practice your mid-range game
Cons: Poorly marked, impenetrable cactus makes up a majority of the fairways, baskets have plastic chains that don't catch. This course should only be played by people that don't call the phone number on found discs.
Other Thoughts: Fortunately, the city of Thousand Oaks will be installing a course by October 09. (edit: new completion date will be May 2010) That should help fill part of the void from Ventura to Sylmar.


31 of 33 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
26 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can usually find a positive in most things, but this course does not really have anything good going for it. I wish I could say it generates interest for people new to the game, but this course is never used because it is in such poor condition. I would rather have the course taken out than to have people think this is what disc golf is.
Cons: The baskets were "home made" with rebar and not to size specifications. The original plastic chains are either missing or broken. Holes are very, very short. Several holes are surrounded by cactus. Teepads in disrepair and unkept. Teepad for Hole 7 is gone now. There is a new temporary building where it used to be.
Other Thoughts: Even when I went to college about a mile from this course, we never played here. Only if we were really desperate would we even consider playing this course. As far as I am concerned based on the current condition of the course, it should be removed from the course directory since it is essentially unplayable.

26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

  Dilapidated

1    12/29/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: clanang
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16 Years
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes and a few interesting settings on the hillside.
Cons: Plastic chains on the baskets are almost all in disrepair. Tee-boxes are often difficult to locate since many are unmarked. The holes are not all numbered and the ones that are face in random directions. Structures are built close to the holes in a seemingly haphazard way. The 1st and 7th hole are nearly flush against a fence and a building. The 9th hole is so overgrown that a tree is covering the tee box giving you about 4 ft underneath to tee off from... Most of the course is close to a busy road.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't impressed with this course and would only play it if I happened to have a membership to the YMCA and lived really close. Even then, I'd really have to be Jonesing for a quick round...

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.