Eureka, CA 
Cooper Gulch Share
Uploaded By: mike shoys Hole #9
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee (Photo by Jackson Robbins)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Odd little course

1    6/30/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a small multi-use park, staying out of the central gal fields and playing mostly through the woods. The course is short, but fairly technical with plenty of trees in play to make you hit specific lines and brush waiting to punish errant shots. A couple holes make you shape some interesting lines to have a good look at birdie. Elevation comes into play a little, no huge hills but lots of small ups and downs with a couple tricky rollaway pin locations.
Cons: Half of the tees are nice and flat, the other half are rutted out and unlevel making for poor footing on drives. The signage is in poor shape, many of the tee signs are missing or vandalized badly enough to be unreadable. That combined with long unmarked walks between holes makes the course tricky to follow the first time through, especially with random paths leading in different directions from some of the baskets. The walking path is in play on several holes, with a couple blind corners where a pedestrian can come into play without being visible from the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course has some fun shots, if I lived nearby I'd probably play it fairly often when I only had time for a quick round. It's too bad the maintenance and navigation are so bad, it makes it a lot less friendly to new players picking up the sport and travelers passing through. Beginners will find the course tough, but not too long. More experienced players won't be tested much, but it has some nice putter and midrange challenges.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Third Member Of The Trifecta Of Nine Holers!

1    8/15/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cooper Gulch has the same vibe that the other two nine hole courses (Manila Bay & Mad River) have. That is, the typical nine park course around here, kind of a fun little throw, maybe a little run down, lots of shady characters hanging around but a course that has a niche in disc golf and gets a decent amount of use.

The gnarly looking, bent over twisted trees made for some interesting and challenging approach shots.

The holes are fairly short, easy birdies. It's definitely plays as a recreational level course.
Cons: I actually had kind of a hard time finding my way around. There were paths leading off in all sorts of direction. I needed a guide!

The creek was pretty rank. I'd try to keep my discs out of it at all costs.

Mix of natural and concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: I guess the lovely coastal California climate attracts the homeless types. I'm not used to seeing them in such numbers up north. Makes me a little uneasy.

Of the three local nine hole courses, I'd probably frequent Coops the least. I was a little more comfortable over at Manila Bay.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/22/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Ioreks
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of discers out enjoying themselves. Variety of shots and approaches.
Cons: No signage. The tees were indicated by footprints in the dusty dirt. Course did not have flow. Lots of garbage, signs of homeless. Will be frustrating for beginners like me.
Other Thoughts: Don't even try the " back 9" without a guide.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Can't really complain

5+    3/20/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Lots of foliage make for some challenging lines.
-Holes are relatively easy to navigate.
-Ball fields are good for working on distance, also skate-park looks nice.
Cons: -While it does appear to be getting cleaner, it still has some trash around, evidence of homeless dwellings.
-Foliage is easy to lose a disc in.
-Muddy and or swampy, though like a previous review pointed out, not much more than the other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a decent course. More technical than distance holes. As with any course in Humboldt you'll need a rag and good shoes. If you're traveling through the area I would recommend the courses at CR and HSU, but, for those that live here it's a fine change of pace.

UPDATE (4-14-13)
Thought it was worth mentioning that there is a tone-pole back nine here. You will need a guide for that for the first time around but I found it to be very enjoyable. Lots of challenging shots, dense brush, adventurous you could say. Muddier than the front nine, and I'd recommend pants due to the brush, also some trash heaps around.

In general this whole course has gotten more fun the more I play it. I do wish it was cleaner (if it was I would give it a higher rating), but given the location, well, I understand why it is like it is. Anyways, hope this helps.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where is the Tee?

2-4    9/15/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: rcbclbcdb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of trees makes for a challenging course.
Good sized parking lot.
Play area for the youngins if you bring them along.
Softball fields make for a good distance practice area.
Cons: Standing water = Mosquitos.
Holes not numbered correctly takes directions and a few times playing to get the order correct.
Bumbs and Pot Heads all over.
Lots of brushy areas to lose a disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 COOPERS

5+    5/23/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: IT PLAYS QUICK , SO IF YOU GOT A MINUTE THESE NINE HOLES ARE FUN.
Cons: THE OVER GROWN FOLIAGE MAKES IT EASY TO MISS PLACE A DISC FOR A MINUTE, AND THE WET WATER IS SMELLY AND THE LOCAL FOOT TRAFFIC IS RIFF RAFF. BUT YOUR THERE TO PLAY SO KEEP YOUR FOCUS AND NEVER MIND THE BUMS
Other Thoughts: AN SOFT HELIX ON 5 WILL GET YOU THROUGH THE TREES. VERY SIMULAR TO THROWING HOLE 9 AT COLLEGE OF THE RED WOODS

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Under-Rated

5+    2/18/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After reading many of the negative reviews the gulch got I felt like it deserved some defence. Though I have noticed some of the previously mentioned, bums, trash, mud, mosquitos, stinky water, etc. Its honestly not that much different anywhere in the area. Gulch has more trash and homeless but no more than other courses I've played on the East Coast or in the Cen. Valley that get good reviews. It does appear that work is being done to make the course a cleaner, safer place to play.
DETAILS: Though #1 is simple enough the shots that follow offer a variety of Hyzers, Tomohawks, Annhyzers and whatever else you can throw. Its worth a stop and also has a pretty sweet skatepark next door, which can never hurt :)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/1/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: tehrain
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, creative holes. Convenient location.
Cons: It's built in a swamp. Mosquitoes and squishy in the summer, downright mud pit in the winter. Wear boots or trashed tennis shoes.
Other Thoughts: It's better than it was when it was created. Druggies/swamp paraphernalia are/is less common now. Don't bother taking a driver, mid-range and putter is fine. Decent practice for the short game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Eureka's finest

5+    3/12/2012   10/3/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Varied throws needed for every hole
-Some tunnel shots and good elevation change
-Nice flow and lay out
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Some holes cross pathway of the park
-Some holes can get flooded after a hard rain
-No tee pads
Other Thoughts: Good course for the city of Eureka if you dont want to go to Arcata. Has some nice holes that can challenge a good player, but also easy holes for the beginner. Overall a good course for the use of the area and it is in the middle of Eureka.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My first disc golf course...

5+    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: richardcraniu00
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to find holes, nice baskets, challenging but fun to learn on.
Cons: maybe a bit short for more advanced players
Other Thoughts: I have only just started hucking, and cooper's gulch is the only course I have been to. That having been said, it has been a great course to learn on. It was not difficult to find or navigate, but I was still challenged by more than a few of the 9 holes here. All in all, a good course, but probably not the best course ever.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.