Eureka, CA 
Cooper Gulch Share
Uploaded By: mike shoys Hole #9
3 / 245ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee (Photo by Jackson Robbins)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 COOPERS

5+    5/23/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: IT PLAYS QUICK , SO IF YOU GOT A MINUTE THESE NINE HOLES ARE FUN.
Cons: THE OVER GROWN FOLIAGE MAKES IT EASY TO MISS PLACE A DISC FOR A MINUTE, AND THE WET WATER IS SMELLY AND THE LOCAL FOOT TRAFFIC IS RIFF RAFF. BUT YOUR THERE TO PLAY SO KEEP YOUR FOCUS AND NEVER MIND THE BUMS
Other Thoughts: AN SOFT HELIX ON 5 WILL GET YOU THROUGH THE TREES. VERY SIMULAR TO THROWING HOLE 9 AT COLLEGE OF THE RED WOODS

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Poop on my hand = bad taste in my mouth

5+    5/22/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Coopers Gulch is a decent 9-hole DG course. The holes are well designed for what they have to work with.
- Hole 3 could be on any DG course and would be a great hole.
- They fixed the course so that there is 9 holes now... without the use of taped telephone poles.
Cons:
- OK... to explain the review title:
Once - about the last time I played there (went back recently just to be fair) - my drive landed in a pile of what I would call Human Shit! I didn't see it a first and when I picked up my disc it was all over my hand. I started freaking out because you never know what kind of diseases you could catch from one of the tweaker-bum-heroin addict locals. Yikes!
- The local tewaker-bums are sketch... and for that matter so are some of the local Coop golfers. There is just a different vibe there.
- Most holes fairly straigh forward birdies.
- Creek on side isn't as nasty as Manilla's, but still bad. My hand was burning and turned red after grabbing a disc from it.
Other Thoughts:
- If I was to rank Humboldt's 9-hole courses, I would rank Coopers 1, Mad River 2, and Manilla 3 - with Coopers and the River being a toss-up and Manilla being a distant 3rd.
- My Best Score: -6

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/5/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy to get to for most humboldtians
-pretty good selection of shots and holes when you consider what they're working with
-multiple pin locations
-#3 is a bitch in the long position (i roll downhill 40-50 feet about every third round. AAARRRRGHHH!!!)
Cons: -not quite enough acreage to make a really legit course here
-tweekers in the bushes (though sometimes its just a happy drunk guy glad to bullshit for a minute)
-can get crowded (for humboldt)
-1A, 3A, 4, 6, and 8 are all very reachable straight away shots (so is 5 but the window is tiny)
Other Thoughts: -in the last couple months they added a new hole (quite challenging, #5) making 9 baskets total. They also moved #4 back making it a bit tougher, and moved the teepad for #6 back. A badly taped off telephone pole used to act as hole 4, but isn't needed now...

Coop is what it is. Easily accessible and in a public park that gets some use. That being said, its a great course considering the amount and lay of the land. There was obviously a lot of really good course designing on just enough land to make it happen. You don't show up to a course in Eureka expecting the Redwood Curtain feel...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets on every hole
Signs on every hole
Most pins visable
Multiple pin locations on most holes
Good amount of trees
Skatepark on site
Cons: Tweekers on the course
Short holes
Short course
A local botanist told me that the creek that flows along the course has lots of salmonella
Usualy crowded
Big crowds make a short round take alot longer
It's in Eureka
Muddy and nasty most of the winter.
Other Thoughts: This course is getting better, there are alot of good people working hard on it. They have put in new basket locations that are longer and funner. The last few times I went down there, there were less tweekers and bums there, which made it better, but there have been alot in the past.

Edit: New hole 5 was put in to replace the hole taken out by skatepark bulding.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.