Eureka, CA 
Cooper Gulch Share
Uploaded By: mike shoys Hole #3
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign (Photo by Jackson Robbins)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Can't really complain

5+    3/20/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Lots of foliage make for some challenging lines.
-Holes are relatively easy to navigate.
-Ball fields are good for working on distance, also skate-park looks nice.
Cons: -While it does appear to be getting cleaner, it still has some trash around, evidence of homeless dwellings.
-Foliage is easy to lose a disc in.
-Muddy and or swampy, though like a previous review pointed out, not much more than the other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a decent course. More technical than distance holes. As with any course in Humboldt you'll need a rag and good shoes. If you're traveling through the area I would recommend the courses at CR and HSU, but, for those that live here it's a fine change of pace.

UPDATE (4-14-13)
Thought it was worth mentioning that there is a tone-pole back nine here. You will need a guide for that for the first time around but I found it to be very enjoyable. Lots of challenging shots, dense brush, adventurous you could say. Muddier than the front nine, and I'd recommend pants due to the brush, also some trash heaps around.

In general this whole course has gotten more fun the more I play it. I do wish it was cleaner (if it was I would give it a higher rating), but given the location, well, I understand why it is like it is. Anyways, hope this helps.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Under-Rated

5+    2/18/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After reading many of the negative reviews the gulch got I felt like it deserved some defence. Though I have noticed some of the previously mentioned, bums, trash, mud, mosquitos, stinky water, etc. Its honestly not that much different anywhere in the area. Gulch has more trash and homeless but no more than other courses I've played on the East Coast or in the Cen. Valley that get good reviews. It does appear that work is being done to make the course a cleaner, safer place to play.
DETAILS: Though #1 is simple enough the shots that follow offer a variety of Hyzers, Tomohawks, Annhyzers and whatever else you can throw. Its worth a stop and also has a pretty sweet skatepark next door, which can never hurt :)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Eureka's finest

5+    3/12/2012   10/3/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Varied throws needed for every hole
-Some tunnel shots and good elevation change
-Nice flow and lay out
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Some holes cross pathway of the park
-Some holes can get flooded after a hard rain
-No tee pads
Other Thoughts: Good course for the city of Eureka if you dont want to go to Arcata. Has some nice holes that can challenge a good player, but also easy holes for the beginner. Overall a good course for the use of the area and it is in the middle of Eureka.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My first disc golf course...

5+    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: richardcraniu00
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to find holes, nice baskets, challenging but fun to learn on.
Cons: maybe a bit short for more advanced players
Other Thoughts: I have only just started hucking, and cooper's gulch is the only course I have been to. That having been said, it has been a great course to learn on. It was not difficult to find or navigate, but I was still challenged by more than a few of the 9 holes here. All in all, a good course, but probably not the best course ever.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.