Tulsa, OK 
Copperhead Canyon YMCA Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    10/26/2012   8/6/2013
Review By: dontbl1nk
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great design risk/reward
-variety of different holes
-tons of elevation
-scenic views
-signature holes
-fee is for a good cause
-never a crowd
Cons: -mulch pads
-lack of tee signs
-sometimes it can be overgrown
-need a guide to navigate the first time
Other Thoughts: This course is the best Tulsa has to offer as far as difficulty. A hidden gem! If it had cement pads, better tee signs, and was better maintained it would be a 5 stat course. It is similar to the well loved Blackhawk, but this course has tons of elevation. If you are traveling be sure to hit up this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Copperhead Canyon

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed course. The space is utilized very well, requiring a number of types of throws. There are lots of tight lines through the trees to be found here, and there is actually a pretty significant amount of elevation change - a rarity in Oklahoma.

The staff were all very nice people, they did not charge us when we were there - and they let us play even though the camp was having some sort of a public event that day. They actually even let us use one of their canoes to retrieve an errant disc from the island in the lake.
Cons: No concrete teepads is by far the largest drawback to this course. If they got out there and poured some solid pads, I would have rated this course a 4.

I've only played here once, and didn't see any, but I would imagine this place is a breeding ground for snakes, and the like (hence the name).
Other Thoughts: This is a well designed course, that will challenge all levels of players. Many of the lines are very tight and technical, while others still offer some considerable open space (the 17th is a 600 ft straightline bomber with a gorgeous view of downtown in the backdrop). I enjoyed playing here as it challenged many parts of my game - and provided some fun elevation change and variety.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great potential

1    12/19/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 183  Reviewed: 17
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This could be an amazing course if somebody loved it. The hole design is great. I especially enjoyed the front nine, where the two small ponds are well used. My favorite was hole 4 which starts as a tight tunnel shot, then goes over a small pond to a basket on the far hillside. Hole 8 was also intense, following the edge of the lake with a precariously placed basket behind a gully. The back nine are through a hilly wooded area, where the windows are always tight. And 17 is a big 600 foot downhill with woods on both sides.
Cons: Unfortunately, no one is busy loving this course. The tee pads are just wood chips. The tee signs are often unreadable, and one was knocked over. The baskets are worn, beat up. Some really ought to be replaced. Even with a map, navigation is a bit confusing. Without a map it would be impossible. A couple holes on the back nine are also near the highway, which ruins the ambience a bit.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a drizzly morning in December. It was still lots of fun. But it also made me a bit sad, because with some renovations this could be a 4.5 rated course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SnakeVille

1    11/21/2008   2/5/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 181  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of tees Blues long Red short,Decent signage,Paint on the basket points towards next holes trail,Enough trees to make the shorter shots somewhat difficult,decent use of elevation changes. Hole 17 a Doosie.
Cons: Dirt Tee-pads Signs lack distances,Some very short holes. The day would come when a Moccasin pops its head out when your climbing the rocky hills.Water hazard mildly.
Other Thoughts: Rugged Terrain somewhat,Blue arrows painted on rocks point the pathways,Nostalgic value if you went to summer camp there,Play from the long tees the first time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad At All...

2-4    10/2/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: notrpmp
Played: 91  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great looking shots, up and down hills, heavily wooded, couple open wide, few over or around water excellent 600ft downhill tunnel shot with a view of the downtown skyline of tulsa.
Cons: a little confusing getting around the first time but the office has a map if you ask for one also you have to pay 5$ per day it says course is open 3-6 but i have gone up there and played at 9am and then again at 3pm you sign in and they usually remember you for the day. also closed for the summer time which this would be prime time to play this place in my opinoin.
Other Thoughts: Paying isnt so bad your helping the local ymca and the more kids that can get exposed to the sport the better i think.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center