Post Falls, ID 
Corbin Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 283ft.   3 / 180ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Short and full of trees

5+    10/7/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 42  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: - entry level course suited for any skill level
-concrete tee pads
-not too busy
-great scenery and relaxing natural setting
-just off the highway
-friendly locals
-a few ace runs
-hard to lose a disc on the course unless the river claims it
Cons: - hard to follow
-Seasonal flooding of part of the course
- a bunch poke and pray
- blind tee offs
-lack of true fairways on most holes
-short holes
-not much indicating which road to follow leading into the park
Other Thoughts: So the story goes that I used to throw this course a lot in 2003-2005. It's been a while since I've revisited the course, but I finally made it back. Luckily, I approached a group of really friendly locals and they showed me the layout. This may rub the locals the wrong way, BUT this course kind of sucks a lot more than I remember. I knew what to expect and I was still underwhelmed.

Corbin is a short technical course with lots of trees, you won't need a full bag to throw it. Back when I lived in the area, there was Downriver, a nine hole Highbridge Park that just expanded to 18, and Corbin. My friends and I would go to Corbin to mix things up, which made it a fun break from the better courses. Now there's more variety in the Spokane area, which makes Corbin a lot less appealing. I can't believe they still have the some of the same waste of space holes plus a few new worthless additions. I'm a little disappointed that this hasn't improved over the years. I'd rather they just kept 9 good holes with multiple teepads instead of cramming in 18.

The course ratings for Corbin vary wildly. The reviews that scored this course as a 4-5 are very very generous. If you're looking for an awesome Northern Idaho course drive to Farragut State Park. If you're looking for a short quick round, or want a challenging short course then go to Corbin.

 Corbin Park

1    8/2/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: deerparkrobert
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Large coarse and awesome views!!!
Cons: Had to ask people where to start, there were no maps just an arrow on a piece of paper pointing to the next pad on a few of them.
Other Thoughts: took about an extra hr. of play time just searching for the next pads. But love the views and layout of the course overall....will go back for sure...

True Inland Northwest Experience

1    4/26/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: dengsauve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Baskets.
-Hole #13 is a killer 'Top of the World' shot.
-Very Clean
-Friendly Locals
-Hole #18 is a satisfying finishing hole.
-It's a very green course, love the foliage.
Cons: One or two intersecting fairways.
-Getting down from Hole #13 can be precarious
-Even on a chilly weekend, there were quite a few people.
Other Thoughts: The trees and overgrowth can be seen as a challenge or as annoying. I think it adds character to the course.

I enjoyed the course and the park because it is tucked away from pretty much all 'outside' influences, like traffic noise, or neighbourhoods.

I gave it a 4/5 simply because there were no maps available, and navigating without one is difficult, at best.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hard to navigate

1    10/13/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: Beautiful course. Several unique holes that really challenge you. Concrete pads make for good throwing surface on almost every hole. Mostly short, good for learning how to control your disc in tight fairways.
Cons: Several crossing fairways, several areas where you have to walk up or down rocks or hills that can be dangerous. Several holes where you're throwing along or across roads and can beat up your discs or hit cars. Not marked well at all, I would have been totally lost playing this course except I was with a group of locals who knew where they were going.

Great Fun!

5+    5/18/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: ARManiac
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great challenge with the elevation differences, rocks, trees, and strong possibility of losing a disc or two in the river :^)
Cons: Hole placement difficult at high-flow.
Some tee boxes not well marked.
And if I'm being overly-critical, I would say that some holes are a little short.
Other Thoughts: Love this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice neighborhood course.

2-4    3/26/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Corbin is a great place to take the whole family and make a day of it. You can play disc golf, fish, camp, hike, swim, and play softball. It is a picturesque county park along the Spokane River. There are bathrooms and drinking fountains available in the warmer months.

The course is not long but is technical with a couple of the fairways bordering on poke and pray. The water comes into play on 1, 2, and 12. With 12 being a top of the world throw, in its newer position, with the river running parallel. There are 3 others that begin on top of another rock hill but go in different directions. The terrain goes up and down the hills and on fairways 8 and 9 you are on the side of the hill and throw farther down the side.

Accuracy is a premium here and the ability to place your throws for an up or putt is a must. Overhands, backhands and sidearms will be used. Not a good place for rollers. There is a fair split between straight fairways and those that bare left or right. With multiple pin positions on many and a couple with dual teepads it can really change things up.

Most of the teepads are concrete with alt 4B being dirt and 6 rubber.
Cons: There is a winter layout and a summer layout. The course is hard to follow in spots in the winter layout and when in the the summer layout it can be tougher. In the summer 2 is closed and there is an alt 4B that takes its place. The caveat to this is the locals are friendly and almost always willing to take a noob along.

On holes 3 and 18 be careful about throwing on someone. Three is about 30 feet directly above you and the fairway is shared with 18 going left and 3 going right.

So many of the fairways are borderline poke and pray, in the case of 9 it is poke and pray, it is hard to look on this issue with favor.

There are no tee signs and the flow is hard if you are not diligent. The map here only shows the 15 basket layout and it is not accurate. This inconsistency is why I did not give numbers to some of the basket positions in the above section.

Also the roads in the park are crossed and played along side of during much of the game so the possibility of hitting a vehicle or walker is high. Also, during heavy usage, like the 4th of July weekend parking overflow causes people to park right on fairways.
Other Thoughts: Despite the poke and pray this is a fun course to play and is very popular in the slow months. I enjoyed myself and will play it every chance I get.

The weekly held here is alternated between Cherry Hill and Corbin and is run by the North Idaho Disc Golf Club. It regularly pulls in 50 players and is a blast.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth a play

5+    2/5/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty course. A few outstanding holes. Nice tee pads. Tight technical. Cool rock outcroppings. Nice swimming area during the summer with cliffs to jump off of by swimming across the river.
Cons: Dangerous at times. Crossing fairways and lots of park goers and nice summer days can make it a nightmare, if you're in any kind of hurry. Cars can sometimes park in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course that could have been put in for the funky piece of land that was available. Totally worth a play. Probably the lowest rated course in the area, but it's still really popular for good reason.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OK, I guess...

1    9/15/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: JamesXC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was an interesting little course close to I-90. It is in a picturesque little park right next to the Spokane River. There were several interesting lines to attack off of the tee pads, the baskets were all in good shape, and the tees were all paved. The course had good flow (4 to 5 was confusing and a long walk), and following it was not too hard, though I was playing with a couple of locals starting on hole 5.
Cons: This course is very short. I only had to throw a driver once in the entire round, and it was on a 400+' shot that I would have had trouble reaching in ideal conditions. There are also lots of tee shots that you are throwing with very little control over how it ends up because of how thick the foliage and trees are. The difference between a perfect shot and an awful one can be extremely minute (a foot or two right or left 200' from the tee).
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty little course set right against the river. It makes good use of the land that it has, including a top-of-the-world shot that turns out to be a RHFH hyzer out over the river and fades back toward the basket. If you are going through the area and only have time to play one course, Cherry Hill is probably better, but I would not fault someone for liking Corbin.

Also, the map is no longer accurate. They have updated the course from 15 to 18 holes by adding several after hole 4. If you can find the old teebox for 5, keep going across the road until you get to a large asphalt area. There are two tees spray-painted into that area, and hole 5 plays back along the way you walked (it is fairly obvious).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course!

1    4/13/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: rstevens77
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Great mix of thought provoking shots mixed with some nerve racking holes. Will definitely play this course when I'm back in the area this summer.
Cons: Even with a map, was a little tough to find a couple tee boxes...but that is a very slight complaint.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and fun

1    9/10/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautiful course located in a scenic park setting. This course offers a course through fun rugged terrain. The course is mostly technical, but offers a few open shots are challenging and fun. The course uses elevation throughout which adds difficulty as well technicality within these shots. The variation of shots required is ok, but you won't have to pull out any new shots. The course is in a desert like setting and rocky so the course doesn't really needed to be kept up. Concrete tee pads help with grip. There are trashcans throughout the course. Restrooms are available at the front of the course as well as plenty of parking. The tee signs and maps are there, but they are confusing due to the lack of accuracy of where the holes are. The course design was done well, but the course lacks a solid flow throughout. #9 on this course is a epic hole for the ages. You are shooting on the side of a cliff into the woods with a rock drop-off and river to the left of you which adds the risk reward aspect as well as a very scenic shot.
Cons: This beautiful park does have its flaws. The flow of the course really lacks which makes for trouble following the course, even with a map. The course also has 18 holes, not 15 like was posted before on the front page. #16 doesn't have a tee pad so it is difficult to find.
Other Thoughts:
Overall the courses difficulty was a 3.5/5, and was a lot of fun. It's tucked away in a park with scenic views and enough challenge that is worth going to if you are in the area of passing through going to Spokane or out East. The locals were very friendly which was nice when we got confused of where to go.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.