Post Falls, ID 
Corbin Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 177ft.   3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good Course, Dreadful Navigation

2-4    7/8/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 112  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on an interesting piece of land that offers a combination of mature trees and slopes. The river is visible along the course, but only Hole 2 (pulled in the summer config) brings the water into play.

You start with a blind drive to the basket on Hole 1. This is the first of several blind holes on the course, so be ready to walk up and scout your first time. Holes 4 - 7 offer some interesting uphill, downhill and sidehill drives and Hole 8 is the best "tunnel" hole on the course, requiring a long straight drive down a gravel path.

Hole 13 is the "top-of-the-world" shot with an elevated platform tee and a long downhill drive. If you really fade it out badly you'll land in the river, but it isn't a difficult shot. However, the walk down to the pin is treacherous (see Cons). Hole 18 is the other big downhill drive, and a good way to finish. The course loops back nicely to finish at the parking area.

Good smallish concrete tee pads.

Ample parking and decent restrooms available.

Cons: As a travelling disc golfer, the complete lack of any tee signs, or "next tee" signs makes this a difficult course to play for the first time. I tried once last year (with an outdated map) and gave up after finding only about 2/3 of the holes. This time I found a current map and followed some locals. Some effort with signage would go a long way towards improving this course for visitors.

All of the baskets are heavily tagged, in spite of the "Please Don't Mark the Baskets" plea on the course bulletin board.

There is a lot of loose gravel on the slopes, making footing around the baskets a little dicey on a couple of holes. The walk from Hole 13 tee pad to basket is down a steep hillside covered with loose soil/gravel. The local group I was following skipped this hole, and I can see why. Borderline dangerous.

Several of the holes have a poke-and-pray look to them. There are plenty of gaps in the trees, but no real fairway. A lot of these are short holes where a clean drive will get you an easy birdie, but a (seemingly) random tree-hit will cost you a stroke.
Other Thoughts: This course is heavily used. I went early on a weekday morning and there were already several groups playing. I imagine that afternoons and weekends are a madhouse.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best short course in area

5+    7/5/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: Dadio
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 30.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is just across the Idaho border in a nicely forested park along the Spokane river. Since I started playing it a few years ago it has been greatly improved. The managers have added a hole to replace 2, a hole often pulled, and have alternate placements for many of the holes. All of the tees are improved, either concrete or fairly well done rubber.

I am glad to report they have resisted clearing out too many of the trees keeping this a tight, technical course which makes it challenging and worth multiple plays. While there are many tight fairways that are unforgiving of mistakes there are very few without a viable path to the pin. It may just be a shot that is less common. This also makes it one of the cool summer courses in the area.

I think 13 is probably one of my favorite holes ever, and now that the river is lower much less likely to lose a disc. Many of the holes make good use of the rock outcrops and hillsides to give some different looks with elevation.

Some of the holes are close together but the new pin placements help.

There are bathrooms, water, swimming area, and a picnic area to relax after the round.
Cons: The biggest drawback of this course is that on the hillside of Hole 8 fairway they have brought in local rock to stabilize it. Unfortunately it is rounded river rock and is super hazardous. The walk down from 13 can also be slick.

Now that I think about it, there are no signs so the 1st round may be a little difficult but the course is well worn in and fairly easy to follow.

The only other drawback is that 1 hole is along a parking lot and 2 are in an area of overflow parking for people floating down river. Not usually a problem but can cause some interference on busy weekends, especially in the afternoon or early evening.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park to not only play a round but have a picnic, swim, or just generally hang out. The hole lengths here haven't been updated yet, I will try to do that in the near future.

While a shorter course, it is one that will make you pay if you are off your game. Of the area courses this is probably the third one I would hit if I had to prioritize the public ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

awesome terrain

1    6/10/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: pypirate
Played: 54  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful setting and terrain, mostly short but still challenging. By far, the best "natural features" of the four courses I played in couerd'lane area. Without the confusion, I would give this course 5 stars. I suppose for local/repeat players, that's not really an issue.
Cons: Basket #2 missing, replaced by basket 4a. it looks like original #2 was much better than replacement 4a, but if this change is permanent, renumbering would seem to be in order.
Course is a bit hard to follow, maybe some "next tee" signs and "tee pad maps" would help.
Other Thoughts: I played 4 courses in couer d'Alene area this week (corbin, cherry hill, wreckerator and northstar), this was actually my favorite of the four. With a little work (signage) this could be one of my all time favorites.

durby800

5+    3/24/2015   4/21/2015
Review By: durby800
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful location on Spokane river.
Nice bathrooms
Fun course at times.
Cons: Crowded with cars and people.
Hard to find next hole at times, they move the hole to accommodate non players. makes it very frustrating finding the next hole. Lots of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees, makes for a challenging course. Would be better if they left all the disc catchers in one place.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short and full of trees

5+    10/7/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - entry level course suited for any skill level
-concrete tee pads
-not too busy
-great scenery and relaxing natural setting
-just off the highway
-friendly locals
-a few ace runs
-hard to lose a disc on the course unless the river claims it
Cons: - hard to follow
-Seasonal flooding of part of the course
- a bunch poke and pray
- blind tee offs
-lack of true fairways on most holes
-short holes
-not much indicating which road to follow leading into the park
Other Thoughts: So the story goes that I used to throw this course a lot in 2003-2005. It's been a while since I've revisited the course, but I finally made it back. Luckily, I approached a group of really friendly locals and they showed me the layout. This may rub the locals the wrong way, BUT this course kind of sucks a lot more than I remember. I knew what to expect and I was still underwhelmed.

Corbin is a short technical course with lots of trees, you won't need a full bag to throw it. Back when I lived in the area, there was Downriver, a nine hole Highbridge Park that just expanded to 18, and Corbin. My friends and I would go to Corbin to mix things up, which made it a fun break from the better courses. Now there's more variety in the Spokane area, which makes Corbin a lot less appealing. I can't believe they still have the some of the same waste of space holes plus a few new worthless additions. I'm a little disappointed that this hasn't improved over the years. I'd rather they just kept 9 good holes with multiple teepads instead of cramming in 18.

The course ratings for Corbin vary wildly. The reviews that scored this course as a 4-5 are very very generous. If you're looking for an awesome Northern Idaho course drive to Farragut State Park. If you're looking for a short quick round, or want a challenging short course then go to Corbin.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Corbin Park

1    8/2/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: deerparkrobert
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large coarse and awesome views!!!
Cons: Had to ask people where to start, there were no maps just an arrow on a piece of paper pointing to the next pad on a few of them.
Other Thoughts: took about an extra hr. of play time just searching for the next pads. But love the views and layout of the course overall....will go back for sure...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

True Inland Northwest Experience

1    4/26/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: dengsauve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Baskets.
-Hole #13 is a killer 'Top of the World' shot.
-Very Clean
-Friendly Locals
-Hole #18 is a satisfying finishing hole.
-It's a very green course, love the foliage.
Cons: One or two intersecting fairways.
-Getting down from Hole #13 can be precarious
-Even on a chilly weekend, there were quite a few people.
Other Thoughts: The trees and overgrowth can be seen as a challenge or as annoying. I think it adds character to the course.

I enjoyed the course and the park because it is tucked away from pretty much all 'outside' influences, like traffic noise, or neighbourhoods.

I gave it a 4/5 simply because there were no maps available, and navigating without one is difficult, at best.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hard to navigate

1    10/13/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Several unique holes that really challenge you. Concrete pads make for good throwing surface on almost every hole. Mostly short, good for learning how to control your disc in tight fairways.
Cons: Several crossing fairways, several areas where you have to walk up or down rocks or hills that can be dangerous. Several holes where you're throwing along or across roads and can beat up your discs or hit cars. Not marked well at all, I would have been totally lost playing this course except I was with a group of locals who knew where they were going.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun!

5+    5/18/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: ARManiac
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great challenge with the elevation differences, rocks, trees, and strong possibility of losing a disc or two in the river :^)
Cons: Hole placement difficult at high-flow.
Some tee boxes not well marked.
And if I'm being overly-critical, I would say that some holes are a little short.
Other Thoughts: Love this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice neighborhood course.

2-4    3/26/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 58  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Corbin is a great place to take the whole family and make a day of it. You can play disc golf, fish, camp, hike, swim, and play softball. It is a picturesque county park along the Spokane River. There are bathrooms and drinking fountains available in the warmer months.

The course is not long but is technical with a couple of the fairways bordering on poke and pray. The water comes into play on 1, 2, and 12. With 12 being a top of the world throw, in its newer position, with the river running parallel. There are 3 others that begin on top of another rock hill but go in different directions. The terrain goes up and down the hills and on fairways 8 and 9 you are on the side of the hill and throw farther down the side.

Accuracy is a premium here and the ability to place your throws for an up or putt is a must. Overhands, backhands and sidearms will be used. Not a good place for rollers. There is a fair split between straight fairways and those that bare left or right. With multiple pin positions on many and a couple with dual teepads it can really change things up.

Most of the teepads are concrete with alt 4B being dirt and 6 rubber.
Cons: There is a winter layout and a summer layout. The course is hard to follow in spots in the winter layout and when in the the summer layout it can be tougher. In the summer 2 is closed and there is an alt 4B that takes its place. The caveat to this is the locals are friendly and almost always willing to take a noob along.

On holes 3 and 18 be careful about throwing on someone. Three is about 30 feet directly above you and the fairway is shared with 18 going left and 3 going right.

So many of the fairways are borderline poke and pray, in the case of 9 it is poke and pray, it is hard to look on this issue with favor.

There are no tee signs and the flow is hard if you are not diligent. The map here only shows the 15 basket layout and it is not accurate. This inconsistency is why I did not give numbers to some of the basket positions in the above section.

Also the roads in the park are crossed and played along side of during much of the game so the possibility of hitting a vehicle or walker is high. Also, during heavy usage, like the 4th of July weekend parking overflow causes people to park right on fairways.
Other Thoughts: Despite the poke and pray this is a fun course to play and is very popular in the slow months. I enjoyed myself and will play it every chance I get.

The weekly held here is alternated between Cherry Hill and Corbin and is run by the North Idaho Disc Golf Club. It regularly pulls in 50 players and is a blast.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.