Durham, NC 
Cornwallis Road Park Share
Uploaded By: TAKRep Hole #1
3 / 160ft.   3 / 196ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Uphill past the mound



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A Durham version of Kentwood - (sort of)

5+    11/19/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 46  Reviewed: 36
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Convenience - super easy access off 15/501 (so from I85 as well). I recommend parking at the tee pad for #3 (it's about a half block before the playground), start there and end on #2. You could literally touch the tee pad from your car, and can practice putt on basket #2). If know one is on the course, you could get a round in under an hour - easy.
- Alternate tee pads are available for all holes. These alternate locations (for the most part) add difficulty and a different line/shot for MANY of the holes. There are a few where the two tee pads are right behind each other (within 20 feet or so), but that is the minority. I would recommend playing the standard tee for #5 IMO it is the more challenging of the two.
- decent use of elevation changes.
- relatively tight fairways are challenging
- a front nine (tight and cramped) and back (not as cramped, with a few open holes) nine that allow for a convenient stop at nine or start at ten.
Cons: - tee pads are very small. They could do with a refresh on Red vs Blue pad markings.
- layout it tight, there are some overlaps, and if you were playing 6-9 stacked up, it could be challenging. Seems like they have an active weekly group - that would be interesting to see how they play it. Stay Alert! Sometimes can be confusing (and since the baskets are old mach two baskets with a faded OB flag) - you may see a basket that isn't the hole that you are on (because the holes are short, and the signs use basic geometric shapes to show tee pad, fairway (straight of doglegged) and basket). On the signs, all the doglegs look the same, when they may not quite be in real life.
- signs are adequate (all but one were there when I played), but I think some of the distances are not correct. I list as a con, because many of the other Durham courses have very nice signage.
- since there's no underbrush, everything is kind of eroding. It's kind of monochromatic.
Other Thoughts: I compare it to Kentwood for several reasons. First, course closest to the local college. Second, it's older, mature and "worn" in good (don't have to worry about losing discs) and bad (watch out for mudslides from the eroded areas after rain) ways. There's a big of elevation on each course (a little more at Kwood). They both have some variations in types of holes as they meander through the park. Finally, the hole layout is very compact (they used every square inch available) and most relatively short.

How they are different - this course is much tighter and plays through wooded areas. You must hit your line here. This course has alternate tees, which gives you many more options when you play. If you only had the short tees at Cornwallis, I would put it equivalent to Kentwood - the alternate tees give it the edge in my opinion.

It's a solid little course. There are a few that are much better 15-20 minutes away, but if you need to get a quick round in (and the course isn't crowded) it can be slightly challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's Old School

2-4    11/12/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This older course may not bring the challenge of some the other area courses, but it's a fun play that has something to offer to both new and intermediate level players.

New players will love the short, manageable holes and lack of underbrush. Intermediate players will relish a chance to throw mids to either direction and straight. There's a lot of game that can be worked on here. The lines are fairly tight so the course will actually require some serious thought and placement.

There's some decent elevation changes for such a limited area and a few pins are nicely placed where you'll have to be careful not to slide past the basket. My favorite hole is a downhill number where there is a small creek just past the target.
Cons: There's a ton of short holes. There's a bunch of holes that are both short and straight ahead. There isn't enough distance and there isn't enough challenge for this to be a course that you would go out of your way for. But that comes with they type of course this is.

The major con of this course is the complete lack of navigation aids. There's such a mess of intersecting paths and unintuitive paths to holes, as well as places where multiple tees are in view, that it would be tough to find your way around the first time. It wouldn't be too tough, as you can't walk that far without exiting the park, but there isn't even a map online. This park needs next tee arrows more than any I've ever seen.

On the same subject, it's entirely too easy to wander into a different fairway while looking for a tee. Combine that with a walking path that pops out of blind corners and there could be some dangerous spots here on a crowded day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sir Corn of Wallis

5+    6/1/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The course is very short and technical. You'll really need a good short game and the ability to work shorter lines than you're probably used to. You can score low but you'll need to be accurate and putt well.

Two tees on each hole and many times they give you a completely different look at the hole.

Many holes give you multiple options from each tee. You can use a variety of shots here and it's a great place to work on shots you don't normally use.

There's not a lot of elevation change but for a short course it really uses what's available. Some really nice downhill holes that'll test your ability to gauge distance correctly.

I'd say it's a great course for all skill levels. Beginners will have the distance to play it and it'll help them with their accuracy. More experienced players can work on their short game.

Equipment - The pads are adequate for the size of the course. Each hole has signs.

Atmosphere - It's a fun course to play in an old park.
Cons: Layout - Some of the holes are basic pitch and putts which take no real challenge. The course is crammed in to a small area and crosses over paths in some areas.

It's mostly short technical shots through sparse trees so there's a bit of monotony to it even though the holes require different shots. It'd be nice if they could fit a few more long holes in there but there just isn't room.

Not a ton of risk/reward here, even bad shots are usually fairly easy to save par on.

There's a few places where it's a bit dangerous. Some baskets and tees are very close together. You also play down sidewalks on a few holes; come near the road twice.

Equipment - Baskets are old and suck. Only one tee has the sign and it's a pain because they're not always right near each other.

Atmosphere - The park is old and it shows, looks rough in a few places. It can get really crowded here and for such a short course that's crammed in it can be a problem.

Other Thoughts: Like I said it's a fun short technical course. Better than Kentwood down the road because it gives you a bit more of a challenge even though it's a bit shorter.

It's got it's problems but it's one of the oldest in the area so keep that in mind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 old favorite

5+    5/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 teepads on every hole.
Not too crowded usually
Weak-armed players can manage these short holes.
Well-defined fairways.
Several legitimate ace opportunities. The only place I've ever aced.
Opportunities to get great scores.
A good variety of fairway shapes.
Cons: The discs will take a beating with all the trees.
Hole 5 will have you throwing very close to a busy road.
Holes crowded together a lot.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 uphill, slight dogleg right, several trees to dodge, mando left. Alt tee is longer and straighter.
hole 2: several legitimate gaps, but none of them very wide.
Hole 3: very short, mando left, with sharp dogleg right, several trees to dodge after the dogleg.
Hole 4: short uphill, with a straight shot if you can hit a 4-foot gap from 100 feet away.
Hole 5: a problem with the road to the right. Alt tee doesn't have you turning left as sharp. One of the toughest holes for me to play.
Hole 6: blind right turn downhill from original tee; straight downhill from alt tee. The fairway goes right past the tee for 7.
Hole 7: straight narrow downhill, it might skip all the way into the 8 basket if you throw past it.
8: very short, no straight shot. I try to skip it in (succeeded once)
Hole 9 is my favorite. slight downhill; wider fairway with a scattering of tree trunks to miss.
10 is the only non-wooded hole. original tee has you throwing into the field and fading left to the basket; alt tee is a long downhill with a left fade.
11 is another ace run, but if you miss you could end up in a shallow creek. Basketball court to the left.
12 has about a 15 foot gap to hit, then you're in the open and cross the small stream.
13 is uphill, with a clump of trees blocking a straight shot. Go left or right.
14 uphill, with a slight right at the end.
15 pretty straight, slight right at the end, and dense brush on the left.
16 has a straight 100-150, then slight left, another 150, then slight right. Narrow gap all the way.
17 short, with a pretty narrow lane.
18 go to the right of the big cedar tree (original tee) or throw the alt tee (just painted on the walkway) for longer open field shot.

I've thrown 4 aces in my life, all of them here. 4, 8, 9, 11.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My go-to course for a quick lunch round!

5+    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: kdizzle1337
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short course length makes for great lunch breaks.
-Really works your short game.
-Teaches you obstacle avoidance.
Cons: -Not to0 LHBH friendly, really hard to find a line without a tree in it... but that is most courses for me haha.
- wish it had a water hole!
Other Thoughts: Great course for recs and pro's a like!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Eh

1    2/16/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: warpzilla
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Works short game
-Low scoring
-Alternate Tees
Cons: -Too crowded
-Difficult to navigate, especially first time playing and if you are playing the Alternate Tees.
-Heavy leaf coverage on ground in fall/winter. Difficult to find discs, even on good shots.
-Easy to throw shots into other people, tees and greens overlap too much.
Other Thoughts: This course jams too many holes in one place. Course layout is tight and difficult to navigate. Could be good for first timers with little distance to their game. If you are going to play in this area though, I would make the short drive to Valley Springs; a much better course for the intermediate and above players.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/3/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, short wooded-course. Good challenge for all skill levels.
- Cornwallis is your run-of-the-mill, North Carolina wooded course. Only one hole (#10 long) is open. It's also the only hole you can/need to throw driver on (376 feet.)
- Lots of interesting pin placements and hole layouts. Course makes good use of the limited elevation. Nice mix of straight & dogleg holes.
- The majority of long & short tees give different looks. There aren't many holes where the long tees are placed directly behind longer tees. I loved the different layouts for #5. Two different looks, both made for a fun hole.
- Course makes the most of its limited space. There really doesn't seem to be enough room for an 18-hole course here, which I'll describe below, but for the most part, they pull it off.
- Great course for beginners. Short tees average under 180 feet (longs are only 234 ft), so big arms aren't needed.
- Accuracy is crucial if you want to shoot low. Even on holes I was hitting trees, I was usually able to get up and down relatively easy.
- Good tee signs. Helpful with multiple baskets visible.
Cons: Course is too cramped at times, which could pose real problems when there are a lot of people playing, or a lot of people in the park.
- Several potential risky hole layouts I noticed. #5 (despite its enjoyment), is a little too close to Cornwallis Rd. A shot hitting a tree could easily bounce and sail down to the road. #18 long tee (and fairway) is a main walking path through the park. Use caution (or spotters) when throwing here.
- Some holes overlap each other. #14 long tee is before #13 basket, meaning you might have to wait for others before you tee off. #4 tee is right next to #3 fairway. Several other holes/fairways overlap meaning you might need to keep an eye out for discs coming your direction from other holes.
- Signage between holes could be improved at some spots.
- It'd be nice if there were tee signs at both tee locations when they're spaced far apart. #10 specifically has the long and short tees pretty far apart, and the tee sign is only at the short tee. Standing on the long tee, you can't see the basket, so you need to walk down to short tee to read sign, then back.
Other Thoughts: This course had a huge fun factor. I could place this course all the time if I lived close by.
- Interesting park layout with no real parking lot. The first basket is almost directly behind the big playground.
- There's not a lot of other amenities at the park, which might cut down on park traffic.
- I loved having to carve shots around trees, or squeeze them throw tight openings.
- This course can be played quickly with only a couple discs. It's only 5 minutes off I-85, so it's worth stopping by to check out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/16/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: southgrooves
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short technical course set in nice park in nice neighborhood. Park has restrooms, water, basketball courts, walking trails and a playground. It does not, however, have a parking lot. Parking is on the street on Wade.

Two concrete pads per hole. Red tees are a short confidence booster, Blues are a solid technical run through the woods. Decent use of elevation change and good use of available land. Hard to lose a disc except around #11-#13. Very easy to navigate.

Red - 4 Left, 9 Straight, 5 Right
Blue - 5 Left, 7 Straight, 6 Right

Some may count this as a Con, but I'm into the historical nature of things, so it works for me. One of the oldest courses around, built before the rise of the high-tech drivers, so it plays best with a mid and putter. Drivers ding all over the place out here and can make for some seriously difficult second shots.
Cons: Mach 2 baskets - maybe not a Con to some, but i don't like the shallower baskets and they are hard to spot in the woods.

Erosion - the front nine is all on one side of a hill that washes down to the area around Tee 1. Just looking at the tee boxes exposes how bad the erosion really is. Without some serious erosion control I fear this course may not be playable in another 10 years, definitely not the front nine.

Layout - the whole front nine and #14-#17 all play essentially on top of one another. A good tee shot is usually safe, but catch one of the many trees here and you never know what "fairway" you'll be approaching from. Also, the walking trails weave through the course as well, adding an extra level of both distraction and awareness.
Other Thoughts: Not a lot of variety and no "epic" holes, but great for a quick round or two, or to practice your short game.

Best Hole - #12 Blue, 231' over a creek, a small hill, and another drainage creek, to a basket on a short ridge on the edge of the woods.

Most Fun Hole - #10 Blue, 376' downhill off of a small ridge over a field to a basket nestled just to the left in some trees. Only true "driver" hole on the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  What I Play Most

5+    3/27/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: Sethster
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Cornwallis is a small course that offers a quick round, and some variety.

There are 2 concrete teepads for all 18 holes of the course. While some holes are different (like hole 10), most holes don't offer much other than a little more distance.

The signage for each hole is decent, but with the shorter holes most are easy to spot anyway!

That being said, this is a short course! It is great to practice with lower drivers and mid-range discs. Aces are possible, and I have seen one by someone else, but they are just elusive enough to be difficult.

This is a great course to work of hyzer and anhyzer shots. This course has really worked my approach game!

The park has new playground, basketball court, walking trail, and a bathroom. It is tucked in a nice neighborhood with lots of street parking.

Very possible to shoot low scores, with many fair birdie chances!
Cons: The multiple teepads don't seem to add enough variety.

The 18th hole is close to the 10th tee, which can cause some confusion, if you are driving on 18.

The course can be very muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This course is one closest to my house, so I play it more than others in the area.

I enjoy the shorter, wooded course. Its fun to shoot for low scores. Don't expect to throw your long-bomb drivers(boss, nuke, katana, etc.) on very many holes.

Also, I played my first doubles there last weekend. Everyone was friendly and welcoming! After the rounds, they installed a new bridge to the tee for hole 12. It looks great!

 one of first 100 courses ever

5+    7/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great mid range course, or begginer. no hole over 300. very negotiable and fun. they do hav pro pads but not that hard. the locals are exclent and treat every one the same. watch out for a few people walking. easy 10 under from am pads.
Cons: short but that allows u 2 focus on your short game.
Other Thoughts: park never closes its in a nice neighborhood. GLOW GOLF

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.