Durham, NC 
Cornwallis Road Park Share
Uploaded By: TAKRep Hole #1
3 / 160ft.   3 / 196ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Uphill past the mound



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A fun, birdie filled round

5+    12/3/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very short course filled with birdie chances. Wooded course with narrow but open fairways. Requires players to be able to move discs left to right and right to left to get close for birdies and ace runs. Can play entire course in less than an hour. Significantly different course from two different tee pads. Go real low from the reds and hang around par from the blues!
Cons: Course is crowded but play generally moves quickly. You really don't need much more than some mid range discs and bigger arms could play the entire course with a putter. Walking trail throughout course puts passer-byers in occasional danger and prevents dogs from running around off leash. If you're looking to stretch out your arm, head over to UNC or maybe even Valley Springs.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners and a fun course for advanced players to score low. Not as many ace holes as you might think considering how short the course is.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Short Course

1    12/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really surprised me. Usually the words "Heavily Wooded" turn me away from a course because they translate to "you will spend the entire game screaming as your disc collides with trees over and over and over...". This course, despite being considered heavily wooded, was not bad all. The fairways were tight, but were always wide enough to get your disc near the basket, even if your accuracy isn't perfect. The course had tee signs that clearly showed the hole layout and length. Also, there are two tees for every hole, so there are basically two courses here (though some of the alt tees are extremely close the the normal tees and therefore do not change the layout that much...). You could easily birdie all holes except for alt 10 and alt 18. Very few holes are more than 200 ft so its a short course and you could play it in about 45 minutes.
Cons: I played the day after it rained, and there was mud everywhere. The terrain was often slightly difficult to traverse because the mud was so deep.
Other Thoughts: When I played, there were two groups of about 5 kids below the age of 8 out there playing. They were playing extremely slowly, and the adults accompanying them never asked us to play through. I don't know if this kid traffic is a very regular occurence, but it definitely detracted from my experience. I'm all for kids getting into disc golf at a young age, but a group of six should always let a pair play through.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/28/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good short game practice, Nice wooded holes, Multiple birdie and hole in one attempts, Concrete tee boxes, alternate tees, no ground brush, never crowded.
Cons: Extremely short, non DISCatcher baskets some bent,
Other Thoughts: fun, nice course. Not too challenging good for practice and beginners, two very long holes if you play alternate number ten, and eighteen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too short

2-4    4/15/2006   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Occasional or beginner course

5+    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in good shape and well signed. Holes are short-to-medium distances--including a few ace opportunities--with a variety of shot types needed. Pin positions do not change but there are separate red and blue tees for each hole. Nice course to get a quick and fun round in with practice on technical shots for veteran players. It's also a nice course for beginners to cut their teeth a bit and work on their game; it will provide challenges but is fair.
Cons: As others have mentioned it can get crowded and, because of being beginner and family friendly, can often lead to slow rounds for more experienced players. Also there is a walking path through the middle of the course so you have to watch out for non-golfers.

Most holes are tightly packed because it is a small course so it is easy to throw onto another hole's fairway. A couple of tees are alongside or in the throwing path of previous holes. 10's blue tee is particularly bad because it is actually between 18's tee and basket. You have to be fairly aware of the people playing around you to make sure a disc doesn't come for your head.

Others have mentioned that 5 is alongside Cornwallis Road and I agree that it is a poor layout choice. The shot required is a significant right-to-left shape and it is too easy to throw straight or turn it over right to send it spraying onto the road. There is a line of trees but they are not thick enough to consistently stop discs. To make it worse, the course is elevated from the road so it can be a bit of a pain to get down the steep hill.
Other Thoughts: I have to say that I do have fun here. For better players the blue tees provide a bit of challenge and the shorter holes make for plenty of ace or birdie opportunities and a good score for the wall when you're done.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/8/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Short and long holes
-Alternate tee boxes
-Score cards sometimes available
-Plenty of shade in the summer
-Fun course
-Weekly doubles, monthlies, etc...
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Can be difficult to find the next hole or exactly which basket you are going for on some holes
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course. Heavily wooded with a lot of technical shots. I would recommend checking it out

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great "Short Track" Course...

5+    11/22/2008   1/15/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cornwallis DGC is a great "short track" type of course, and is perfect for practicing your short game. The terrain is fairly fair-to-moderate, so you won't really need your hiking shoes on this course.

~ Concrete beginner and alternative tees.
~ Signage provides approx distances.
~ Perfect for a quick round on the weekdays.
~ Great for perfecting your game in heavily wooded conditions.

Cons: My major issue with this course involves the fact that for new players, this course can be extremely confusing due to it's layout.

~ Extremely crowded on weekends.
~ Heavy pedestrian and pet traffic.
~ Difficult to locate next tees due to overlapping fairways.
~ Extremely wet and muddy after rain storms.
~ Heavily wooded areas.
~ One hole requires banking your shot far left, otherwise you risk landing your disc on a major road (major hazard).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but challenging

5+    12/20/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very tight course, requires very controlled shots. Shorter distance makes it more fun if you don't have a big arm. Alt tees are typically a different line, not just longer. Fairly easy to navigate. Lots of trash bins. Not too crowded, and the locals are cool. Close to Valley Springs and UNC courses.
Cons: Lots of dog-walkers, which means you occasionally have to ask them to get out of your way to throw (especially from long tees), and watch out for poo. The course gets very muddy with rain and takes awhile to dry out (lots of cool mushrooms though). Between ricochets off of trees and the many rocky patches on the course it can be hard on softer discs. Older baskets (Mach2?) which are more shallow.
Other Thoughts: Although the holes are very short, most fairways are very tight and many have trees in the middle that you must shoot around, which I like compared to some other woods courses. Considering this course was built in something like 1985 I think it still holds its own.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Tight, but not to shabby

2-4    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: kunipshunfit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll try to be as detailed as possible. This course is short on distance, however tough on windows. Ultimately this course makes up for its decided lack of distance with some very difficult angles. There are some great Hyzers and Annie opportunities on this course. ultimately the windows are TIGHT, if you miss your window you will most likely dink it off of a tree and either have a blocked lie, thick lie or a tough shot for your 2nd shot. This says something when each hole is a realistic birdie opportunity.

Ok, time for the list of things I like

1. Tight Windows - I actually like this because it forces the you to work on your approach shots. Not every shot needs to be 500-600ft long. I personally like this course for it's ability to help hone ones mid-range/approach game.

2 - Variety of Shots - This course does not force you to only throw one type of shot. Sure your either throwing a putt/approach or a mid-range for 90% of your shots, but you have to be able to control them on different angles (hyzer, anhyzer, Thumber, Scooby, etc).

Length - This course is not so long that it takes forever to play. I routinely play this on my 'extended' lunch break at work - Meaning it takes about an hour to play the course, less if you know it well, it's not so much walking that you are exhausted, and not so short that you are bored.
Cons: Just in a list format
1. Some of the holes (specifically #3, 16, 17 and 10/18) are just laidout on top of one another. Often times when you are eying your shot, you are ultimately in the fairway, or the 'window' of another hole. The earliest example is hole #3, playing from the Blue tee's you are standing directly in the fairway of hole #2.

2. Dual purpose course - There have been quite a few 'walkers' and 'mountain bikers' out each time I've played this course

3. Course Flow - The Sign's are ultimately detailed when you arrive at the pin, however the signs are only on the RED tee's (SHORT) - so you have to do a little looking around for the longer tee pads (BLUE) - this is a pain when the leaves are down. Beyond that, between holes, the layout is a bit hard to grasp. Some holes flow pretty well, but others you have to take a moment or two and look for if you are not familiar with the course.

4. Parking - There is no parking lot, you have to park on the side of the street. I have never seen this course 'packed' so it does not appear to be to big of a problem.


Ultimately these Con's are not terrible, and I would not read them and think "I should not play this course". I enjoy playing this course.
Other Thoughts: I have updated the hole footage information into the hole info. I have attached a JPG that I scanned of the scorecards, in case you wanted to print your own before getting to the course.

Ultimately this course is not a Championship caliber course (IMO) However, I think courses like this are GREAT for working on various parts of your game. I absolutely think this course is great for working on your putt/mid-range game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simple Course - Easy to shoot under par

1    9/15/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: Gos2xtrms
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shade from the rain was good by all of the tree's canopy at every hole. Good for tuning up your approach shots. The holes requiring driver's off the tee are the most enjoyable ones out of 18.r
Cons: Tee pads could be better. Don't bring a bag that requires quad shocks, you only need a midrange and a putter at most, maybe one driver.
Other Thoughts: I think 3 holes I played that I threw my driver on, and they were extremely tight. Every other shot off the tee was with a 1080 putter. Granted I think they're a faster speed putter than an aviar but they were all I really needed out there

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.