Mobile, AL 
Cottage Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #11 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 189ft.   3 / 189ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 White Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cottage chill

2-4    2/28/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Despite its location in a city park, its very woodsy, with a few 200+ yo oaks spread throughout the 20+ acres that are dedicated to disc golf. Believe it or not, the course was very clean except for a used condom---hey, maybe someone lost a bet...
This is like a slightly longer version of Chicasabouge to the north, with very defined fairways, a good mix of hyzer/anhyzer/straight shots, unforgiving rough, and disc-redirecting trees everywhere. Tommys seem like a bad idea but sometimes its all you've got. Almost zero elevation change. Expect skips and slides on the hard-packed fairways. Vertical putting is useful, as some baskets have close-in shrubbery.
From late fall to early spring, the ground cover[in the rough] is slight enough not to lose discs, and the bugs are hardly noticable.
Each 9 holes start clockwise and finish near the parking lot, but the public only sees you teeing at #1: you're hidden the rest of the course.
This is a tolerable course for rainy/windy days, though the sandy washes will collect large, shallow puddles in a downpour [I was here on an overcast, drizzly day, and was only aware of the 10-15 mph gusts when I stepped out of the woods].
Benches and trashcans on almost every hole. Most baskets have a "next hole" pole, but you shouldn't have much trouble figuring it out, as any wrong direction is heavily wooded.
Cons: When the growth is on during spring you're going to lose discs, especially among the evil thorny vines, resilient as barbwire. A spotter is a wonderful companion.
Locals do clearing in the winter[best time to play], but that only seems to encourage more dynamic plant growth in the spring--use of the course is all that keeps the fairways open. Bugginess can be overwhelming in summer.
Look at the pictures---all the holes seem similar, yes? Playing with locals, we spaced the next tee, crossed through one of the very few interconnecting paths, and threw on a hole we'd just thrown 5 holes ago. But the technical nature of the shots still intrigues you---there's no boredom here.
Other Thoughts: The park is 300+ acres with ballfields, a kids playground "city" [huge!] near #1 tee, tennis courts, several miles of wooded trails, skatepark, and plenty of parking. Stores, bars, eats, and a hookah lounge at NW corner of park[2 min. drive, long walk].

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Wooded Course

5+    9/25/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: BamaBlake
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed and layed out, secluded and peaceful in the mornings, a great course to learn to hit lines off the tee and throw solid accurate approaches.
Cons: The tee pads are concrete, but a little short for my liking. This course is going to make the ams feel like they are back at novice level, and can be crowded with idiots in the later hours of the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, it is the hardest course in Mobile to me, but that is not a bad thing. If you average around even par at most courses, expect to shoot around +5 out here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A Novice's View

2-4    4/29/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Neodammerung
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is not much more to be said that was not missed from the other reviews in re. to the pro's. As a novice (including myself), this course forces the player to be patient and attentive to their form. Paying closer attention to the reaction of each disc that a novice player may use in their learning process.This may sound like a con, but looking at it in a positive way, this will help the novice to perfect their form.
Cons: The course is not as up-kept as it should be. This course used to have multiple pins per hole. There are multiple tees although, the tee markers, pins, and some of the other course fixtures have succumb to vandalism.
Other Thoughts: The sad truth to the cons (trash included), this course is in a public park (maintained by the city). The course is NOT maintained by the P&R Dept. This course IS maintained by a few (not even a handful) of truly devoted people who truly love their course. The increased popularity of this beloved sport has put a greater burden on these few people. Any course I have the pleasure of playing, I use the Hiker's Motto: "If you pack it in, pack it out". Example, I smoke, and when I'm done w/ my cigarette I pick up my butt and put it in my pocket. I am trying to gather more info to get together w/ my friends and join up w/ the few who do keep the course up. Keeping all of this in mind is why I stretched my rating to a 3.5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/26/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Wheat
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course!!! However, that can quickly turn into a con, depending on what kind of day your are having. It is a fairly well kept course due to garbage cans on nearly every hole (and locals that actually use them), there ae benches at every hole and the tee pads are in good shape. Also, every hole is concealed in the woods, so if it is a particulary windy day, it shouldn't bother you in this course. There are 3 tees for every hole and a seperate sign for each, giving you an accurate distance for every pad.
Cons: LOTS of trees, some people like the challenge, I know it doesn't bother me, but it can get rough. There is also a fair bit of foliage once you break the tree line, so once your in, it is tough to get out...so aim for the fairway...duh
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course to go play with your friends, but the first few times you play don't expect anything better than par. If you are just begining to play, you should really think about investing in/throwing a brighter colored disc, because it won't be hard to drive it in the woods and lose it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 cottage hill park

8/1/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: peteg
Played: 73  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool challenging technical course in the woods. Not a max distance course, requires finesse more than power. Most of the fairways are surrounded by jail. On the longer holes, if you go off the fairway, it's almost guaranteed to cost you a stroke and usually it's wiser to just pitch it back onto the fairway than to try a crazy escape route. The more difficult holes really reward good decision making and course managerment. Teepads are well marked, and some holes have multiple teepads for Am/Pro. The course flows nicely and the thick woods make it very secluded so you rarely see other groups while you're playing. The thick canopy provides shade and some rain cover.
Cons: I like wooded courses to be challenging but fair. Some of the fairways should be a bit more open. Most of them are good, but removing a few select trees would provide a more clearly defined route on some holes. There tends to be trash on the course. The thick canopy makes it too dark to play before the sun is completely down.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 is shorter and easier than the back. Hole 9's basket is right by the parking lot and hole 1, so you have the option of going on to hole 10 or quitting after 9. Rec players can also just play the front 9 twice. It's very convenient for less competitive players who don't want to deal with the more challenging holes on the back 9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.