Mobile, AL 
Cottage Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #18 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 161ft.   3 / 216ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A lot better than you might have heard!

5+    8/19/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 203  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of trees and shade in the hot deep south. Concrete tee pads. Lots of benches. Challenging, pro-level course. If you like 'em tight, and I do, you'll like Cottage Hill.
Cons: Grafitti, and not the best baskets. A couple of holes are alike here and there, so the variety factor isn't the greatest especially since there are no open holes. Not the easiest place to get to in Mobile, it just seems like it takes forever to get there from any direction.
Other Thoughts: I don't understand the low ratings for poor Cottage Hill. Sure, it has some trash on it here and there sometimes, and the baskets are bent and vandalized often by the neighborhood flunkies, but it is fun and it's definitely a challenge. Some fairways are very tight but they are fair...if you can hit your line you will be rewarded, and if you can't you'll be punished, just as how the sport is meant to be.

I tend to rate courses by the design and variety of holes, and not as much by factors like signs and baskets and ease of navigation and trash, so that's probably why I rate this place higher than most. I really enjoy a tight, challenging course where getting off the fairway means a real struggle for par, and that's what Cottage Hill is. Yes, there are a lot of short birdies that are all around 240 feet long, but the course is well-balanced although it could be said that it favors a lefty. It does seem to be best to play this course early in the day before the crowds of kids take over. The five pro blue tees add to the challenge and I recommend playing them.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice wooded course

2-4    10/10/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: at least 2 sets of tees for each hole and sometimes 3. Nice shady course for those hot summer days. overall nice design with navigation not a big issue. in a nice park with restroom and other recreational facilities. not crowded at all on the sunday I was there. concrete tee pads.
Cons: very little variation in terrain ie no water no real elevation. All the holes are wooded.
Other Thoughts: We played 2 sets of tees and the tees often change the character of the hole not just add distance. I really like this course. although the fairways are tight I did not see any holes without a path to the basket. If you throw accurate shots you can score well. If you have a big arm and like to air it out this is not the course for you.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Chanllenging Course

2-4    3/23/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1)Very challenging course, Narrow Fairways force you to pick your throws carefully.

2) Shade throughout (huge bonus on the gulf coast in the summer)

3) Nice (sometimes a little short) tee boxes.

4) Trash cans and benches scattered throughout the course.

5) Very easy course to play 9 holes at a time, Holes 1 and 10 both start in the same area. I often Start on the Back 9 if the front 9 is too crowded.

6) This course has very little issues with wind. Even when there's a moderate breeze at the South Alabama Course, you barely get a breeze in the woods.
Cons: 1)Easy to lose discs in thick forests, although many holes tend to be a little forgiving on this.

2) Beginners will struggle on this course, but will learn how to lay very quickly

3) Do not play on weekend unless you have to. Park is VERY crowded on saturdays

4) Watch when throwing, some people still use this course as a dog walking trail (even though there's a seperate one in the park) and often walk the course backwards for some reason.
Other Thoughts: Even with the Cons, this is still one of my favorite courses. A must play for anyone in the area who wants a challenge

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Challenge

1    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun coarse to play! Very challenging. I love how this coarse makes you think about every detail about every throw. You really have to have great disc control and you will have to learn to be confident in yor throw. This coarse will make you a better player. This coarse is marked well and has good baskets.
Cons: The undergrowth in the woods is overgrown. The tee pads are kinda short.
Other Thoughts: Fun coarse but not for beginners. Helps to know your disc tendencies before you play here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 You'll pull your hair out at this beast!

5+    3/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cottage Hill is one of the most difficult courses around for my game (I've been playing 5 years, mid-range arm, pretty scrappy in terms of variety of shots I throw). Pros love this course because it is such a test. Please don't take a beginner to this course unless you'd like them to quit disc golf, it's just that brutal. I'm a par player on the other blue level courses in Mobile, but the last time I played Cottage Hill I think I ended up 11 over. There is a nice variety of holes on the course, righties and lefties, pitch and putts vs. distance. The course is completely wooded, which is nice on summer days where shade is valuable or winter days when the north wind is really kickin'. The cousre is extremely well designed, lures you in with a few easy hols at the beginning, then once you're warm it's all out chunking for distance through really tight fairways with crazy think shule surrounding them. Each fairway is basically an island of clear amiodst all the trees. This course can really boost mid level players who want to improve accuracy without having to throw too much crazy distance. The course forces you to use everything in your bag of tricks, sidearms, hyzers, anhyzers, thumbers, tomahawks, even sidearm and backhand rollers are viable options on some holes.
Cons: Tee pads are concrete but kind of rough and a little too small for a big brother like me. Between 3-dark on weekdays, the course is extremely busy so expect a wait. Easy, easy, easyt o lose discs on the course. One bad kick off of a tree and you end up in the thicket, and the chances of finding even a brightly colored disc can be slim to none (underbrush in the summer, leaves on the ground cover discs in the winter). Brutal course for those who lack accuracy, not beginner friendly at all though there are red tees for those who want to take the "stank" off this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is better played in a group. When you're playing it alone, you tend to be too hard on yourself, beause there is no way you'll play a round and not hit trees. At least when you're playing in a group, you can commiserate with everyone else. If you're a pro, the course is a legitimate challenge, and lots of times pro scores in tournaments are well under par. However, for ams and novices, be realistic. You will not shoot below par most likely. Once you accept that though, you can move on to improving your game and rounding out your skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.