Mobile, AL 
Cottage Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #16 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good, Chanllenging Course

2-4    3/23/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1)Very challenging course, Narrow Fairways force you to pick your throws carefully.

2) Shade throughout (huge bonus on the gulf coast in the summer)

3) Nice (sometimes a little short) tee boxes.

4) Trash cans and benches scattered throughout the course.

5) Very easy course to play 9 holes at a time, Holes 1 and 10 both start in the same area. I often Start on the Back 9 if the front 9 is too crowded.

6) This course has very little issues with wind. Even when there's a moderate breeze at the South Alabama Course, you barely get a breeze in the woods.
Cons: 1)Easy to lose discs in thick forests, although many holes tend to be a little forgiving on this.

2) Beginners will struggle on this course, but will learn how to lay very quickly

3) Do not play on weekend unless you have to. Park is VERY crowded on saturdays

4) Watch when throwing, some people still use this course as a dog walking trail (even though there's a seperate one in the park) and often walk the course backwards for some reason.
Other Thoughts: Even with the Cons, this is still one of my favorite courses. A must play for anyone in the area who wants a challenge

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Challenge

1    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun coarse to play! Very challenging. I love how this coarse makes you think about every detail about every throw. You really have to have great disc control and you will have to learn to be confident in yor throw. This coarse will make you a better player. This coarse is marked well and has good baskets.
Cons: The undergrowth in the woods is overgrown. The tee pads are kinda short.
Other Thoughts: Fun coarse but not for beginners. Helps to know your disc tendencies before you play here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 You'll pull your hair out at this beast!

5+    3/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cottage Hill is one of the most difficult courses around for my game (I've been playing 5 years, mid-range arm, pretty scrappy in terms of variety of shots I throw). Pros love this course because it is such a test. Please don't take a beginner to this course unless you'd like them to quit disc golf, it's just that brutal. I'm a par player on the other blue level courses in Mobile, but the last time I played Cottage Hill I think I ended up 11 over. There is a nice variety of holes on the course, righties and lefties, pitch and putts vs. distance. The course is completely wooded, which is nice on summer days where shade is valuable or winter days when the north wind is really kickin'. The cousre is extremely well designed, lures you in with a few easy hols at the beginning, then once you're warm it's all out chunking for distance through really tight fairways with crazy think shule surrounding them. Each fairway is basically an island of clear amiodst all the trees. This course can really boost mid level players who want to improve accuracy without having to throw too much crazy distance. The course forces you to use everything in your bag of tricks, sidearms, hyzers, anhyzers, thumbers, tomahawks, even sidearm and backhand rollers are viable options on some holes.
Cons: Tee pads are concrete but kind of rough and a little too small for a big brother like me. Between 3-dark on weekdays, the course is extremely busy so expect a wait. Easy, easy, easyt o lose discs on the course. One bad kick off of a tree and you end up in the thicket, and the chances of finding even a brightly colored disc can be slim to none (underbrush in the summer, leaves on the ground cover discs in the winter). Brutal course for those who lack accuracy, not beginner friendly at all though there are red tees for those who want to take the "stank" off this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is better played in a group. When you're playing it alone, you tend to be too hard on yourself, beause there is no way you'll play a round and not hit trees. At least when you're playing in a group, you can commiserate with everyone else. If you're a pro, the course is a legitimate challenge, and lots of times pro scores in tournaments are well under par. However, for ams and novices, be realistic. You will not shoot below par most likely. Once you accept that though, you can move on to improving your game and rounding out your skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cottage H*ll lives up to its name

1    2/10/2007   8/21/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cottage hill is a very technical golf course that requires the utmost attention off the tee andperfection with any and every shot. Alternate tees allow you to choose between playing a shorter am or longer course pro course which is great for any taxing course.
Cons: Too many fairways when played from the pro tees required a bit too much luck for my tastes. Very narrow fairways may work for the few holes under 300 ft, but beyond that lines are very tough to spot if you're an out of towner just trying to grab a quick round. Its VERY easy to lose a disc in the brush around the fairways which are lined with thorns and tough to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I played this course late in the afternoon following an interview just before driving back up to Birmingham. Its also been a couple of years since I last played it so some of the critiques may be outdated. In my opinion though I made the wrong choice of courses to play in mobile that day. I only had time for one and chose this one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Woods

5+    6/6/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge your skills more than most the courses I have played. Will show you what you are doing wrong very quickly. No room for error. You mess up and have a bad throw you can kiss your par goodbye! Yes these are all pros for if you are playing against someone! If you are playing in the summer months if will be nice and shady for you!
Cons: You can beat in your discs pretty quickly here. It isnt very novice friendly as there are a lot of tight bends that will be sure to give novice players nightmares for days to come. There are a few holes with think underbrush grown up that you can easily lose a disc in. I lost one of my favorite discs in there during a tourney.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area and are up for a challenge... Head to this course. It will show you whats up pretty quickly. I have always had a great time out there and will be playing it for years to come hopefully!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A Novice's View

2-4    4/29/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Neodammerung
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is not much more to be said that was not missed from the other reviews in re. to the pro's. As a novice (including myself), this course forces the player to be patient and attentive to their form. Paying closer attention to the reaction of each disc that a novice player may use in their learning process.This may sound like a con, but looking at it in a positive way, this will help the novice to perfect their form.
Cons: The course is not as up-kept as it should be. This course used to have multiple pins per hole. There are multiple tees although, the tee markers, pins, and some of the other course fixtures have succumb to vandalism.
Other Thoughts: The sad truth to the cons (trash included), this course is in a public park (maintained by the city). The course is NOT maintained by the P&R Dept. This course IS maintained by a few (not even a handful) of truly devoted people who truly love their course. The increased popularity of this beloved sport has put a greater burden on these few people. Any course I have the pleasure of playing, I use the Hiker's Motto: "If you pack it in, pack it out". Example, I smoke, and when I'm done w/ my cigarette I pick up my butt and put it in my pocket. I am trying to gather more info to get together w/ my friends and join up w/ the few who do keep the course up. Keeping all of this in mind is why I stretched my rating to a 3.5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Woodsy

1    6/1/2005   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires technical, precise shots. Great for working your finesse game, although a few holes require some pop. Fairly easy to follow, I played it solo in the heat of summer without much difficulty.
Cons: Not a particularly inspiring course, and hard on your plastic.
Other Thoughts: I sweated out about 10 pounds playing this course in the middle of the day in June while driving from Florida to California, but played two rounds cuz it was fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/26/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Wheat
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very technical course!!! However, that can quickly turn into a con, depending on what kind of day your are having. It is a fairly well kept course due to garbage cans on nearly every hole (and locals that actually use them), there ae benches at every hole and the tee pads are in good shape. Also, every hole is concealed in the woods, so if it is a particulary windy day, it shouldn't bother you in this course. There are 3 tees for every hole and a seperate sign for each, giving you an accurate distance for every pad.
Cons: LOTS of trees, some people like the challenge, I know it doesn't bother me, but it can get rough. There is also a fair bit of foliage once you break the tree line, so once your in, it is tough to get out...so aim for the fairway...duh
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course to go play with your friends, but the first few times you play don't expect anything better than par. If you are just begining to play, you should really think about investing in/throwing a brighter colored disc, because it won't be hard to drive it in the woods and lose it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/24/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like tough wooded courses, then this is the course for you. This is a pro level wooded course, where accuracy is of the utmost importance and par is a really good score. There are long tees on several of the holes and novice tees on the harder holes, which makes this course fun for a wide range of skill levels. The variety is good, with a great mixture of long and short shots, easy and tough holes, as well as some very interesting shots forced from the tee. There are nice long tee pads on every hole and several benches throughout the course. There are also bathrooms a short walking distance from the course. The many trees and thick canopy pretty much block most wind and sunlight, which makes for great shade, but no breeze during the summer months.
Cons: With thick shule, lots of trees, tight gaps, and lots of chances for lost discs on errant shots, this is a really tough course for newer players. This is not a con for everybody, but you should know what you are getting yourself into when you play this course. The last time I played the course, it was very trashy, with trash everywhere it seemed. There were trash cans, but a couple of them were full and overflowing. Navigation can also be very tricky on several holes. You must pay attention to the little yellow wood posts with arrows telling you which way to go for the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This course has good balance in different types of shots, but there does not seem to be a lot of mid level shots. It seemed like either every hole was a short pitch and putt birdie hole or a very tough, try and get your par hole, with almost no in between. Overall, this is probably the toughest pure wooded course I have played, at least when played from the long tees. The best thing about this course and the area of Mobile, is how each course seems to compliment the other. Just a few miles from this course are 2 fairly open courses in USA and Langan Park. If you are in the area, there is something for everybody in this area and if you like wooded courses, then this course is worth a visit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    10/11/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice disc catchers on every hole. It does have multiple tee boxes and approaches that make the course vary in length and play.
Cons: I found this course a little confusing to navigate and the big painted arrows help a little, but made for a ghetto feel. This course demands skill and finesse at every turn which I think makes it unsuitable for beginners to have any real fun. The trash is unbelievable and puts a huge damper on what would otherwise be a real nice course.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes appeared grossly over grown to me and make for a normal throw off the tee almost impossible. Bring extra discs as you may lose one in the dense underbrush if you miss the fairway.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.