Tulsa, OK 
Course Dovillio Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 257ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Loosen up that arm kid

1    8/3/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a long throwers dream. Many of the holes are lengthy and will provide your arm with a solid work out, if thats your thing.
The tee pads were ample and the signage was adequate.
There was a playground area in the north end of the park.
There are a good amount of trees to navigate around, more so on the interior holes.
The threat of losing a disc is very slim here.
Parking was very generous.
Cons: My main beef with this course is to me its too repetitive in its shots that are offered. The first 3 holes are long, and the length isn't my main gripe, its just that after a couple of holes of the same thing then lets break the monotony and try something different. So that brings you to the middle of the course. Now there are more moderate length holes and more trees but several of those holes feel like the last one or the next one. There wasn't a whole lot of variation.
I saw a lot of beer cans and trash on the grounds here. I don't recall there being but maybe 1 or 2 trash cans on this course.
This course has some length to it so some benches would be nice to offer you a chance to rest.
The hard packed dirt around the tees does get slippery after a good rain.
No elevation changes at all.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't all that bad, but at the same time it isn't a top notch destination must play course. There just wasn't a whole lot of variety. The course does use the land that is available as best as it could. I personally would've like to see more technical style of holes here. If you are a player that like longer holes with a few trees on each hole to navigate around then this course is right in your wheelhouse. If you are a more technical/woodsy course lover then you might want to look elsewhere.
I thought this was a decent course but it didn't leave that I must go back here and play this course again impression. If you are in the area then hit this course up and its counterpart to the west McClure as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Most boring course this side of the Mississippi

5+    4/28/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads.
Nice baskets.
You will almost always be alone no matter how nice of a day it is.
Virtually no water hazards.
Cons: Loooooooong hole after looooooong hole.
Mostly open shots.
The course layout is confusing.
Signage is nothing more then a post with the distance.
Drainage ditches run throughout the course and could be rough on anyone with knee or ankle problems.
Boring.
Other Thoughts: Easily the worst course in town. I feel like the par 3 straight through is lazy. I understand par 3's for minis, but almost 700' is not a par 3 to me. If you live in Tulsa and wanna try this course go for it. If you're from out of town go to McClure or Mohawk park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

What?!!! Another Long Hole?

1    12/22/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good concrete Tees
Good baskets
Tee signs
A few not as long holes for variety
Well kept
Chances to air it out and really stretch your arm
Good place to work on your distance shots
A few lines that you have to hit
Playground area for the kids
A few trash cans
A couple of places to sit and rest nearby
Not crowded EVER
Plenty of parking

Favorite Hole(s): 5
Cons: Tee signs only had distance (don't need anything else the course is that boring)
Not much variety
Sooooooo flat (the only elevation change is the 5ft deep ditches that you walk through between some holes.)
Almost no risk/reward
Seems so long because it is and there are very few lines to hit
Not many trashcans
Not many benches
No bathrooms/water fountains
Several times you throw across roads/walking paths
Navigation is not necessarily difficult but not logical either
Download the map from DGCR it is easy to read
Other Thoughts: All in all this course is the place to go if you are bored or sick and tired of all the good courses in Tulsa. Not a great place to take family or newbies. Their arms will fall off about hole 9 or 10. If you need to work on your length swing by.

I don't regret going by, but, I probably won't be back. Don't make a special trip to play Dovillio. If you are at McClure park and want to bag another course, drive east about one mile and pass into the boring zone. I guess I should quit bashing this course, but,I do want you to have enough information to make the choice to play here or not.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward the fun factor and this course has a little but it has almost run dry.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Move along, nothing to see here

1    12/22/2012   12/25/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads and good baskets.

Not very crowded. Plenty of parking.

Would be hard to lose a disc.
Cons: There's really not a lot of bad things about this course, there's just not enough good things. No real variety, no real obstacles, no wow factor holes. No restrooms, water fountains, or any other amenities. Signs only show distance to pin. Just plain boring.
Other Thoughts: This course has some good long distance holes. If there was anything exciting about this course, I would have enjoyed playing here. It's just throw, pick up your disc, throw again, repeat as many times as necessary. With McClure just a mile away it would be hard to convince me to ever return.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fairly Open and Long

2-4    7/14/2012   11/22/2012
Review By: EDMONDOKDGER
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open, well groomed park with a few long shots through fairly mature trees and a few open medium distance shots. Overall a good course to play. Not a very crowded course.
Cons: Tulsa has so many courses that are better that it is hard to put that one on the list unless you live close to there. McClure is right around the corner and much more entertaining.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrator

5+    8/6/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Challenging, with technical and distance holes. Must use a variety of shots and discs out of the bag.
Cons: Flat mostly, not the best part of town. Lots of OB in play.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a lot of the years and it never gets any easier.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Dovillio

5+    5/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this course, it isn't super technical but it is really well designed IMO. The first few holes and the last few are definitely crusher holes, but even the beginner player can enjoy the rest of the course. There are some really well thought out hole placements in the back nine.
Cons: There is no elevation change whatsoever, and the tree obstacles are somewhat few and far between. But the trees that are there are used very thoughtfully.
Other Thoughts: I would say that this course caters more to the intermediate/advanced players, but everyone can find something to enjoy in Dovillio.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but not un-fun

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well groomed, very convenient to the interstate and airport.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Mach baskets in good condition. Tee signs are present some holes and next tees are marked on the basket, so course navigation is not much of a problem.

My memorable holes:
1,2 - Throwing along a huge water runoff canal on the right, 600+ feet holes, don't turn your drive over, or you may be turning your disc over to the water!
14 - Long, winding hole through lots of trees, with the basket protected by several trees, tough hole.
15 - Very cool tee with two large bushes surrounding your drive, not terribly difficult to clear, but has that certain intimidation factor.
Cons: Almost every hole after number 3 is pretty much the same, 250-300-ish length, a few trees to avoid, and flat. Not very much variety at all in this course.

The entire course has almost no elevation change, but that is to be expected in this area, although I think that does detract from the overall DG experience.

Tee signs were missing on many holes, and I was unable to find a course map online. Luckily as stated above, each basket has the rung in the direction of the next tee painted white, making navigation decent.

No trash cans, and only a couple of benches. No bathrooms or water fountains that I saw, which would have been very welcome considering the 110F heat index when I played.
Other Thoughts: My rating of 2.5 is based on the lack of variety and lack of basic course features. While the grass is cut, and the tees and baskets are in good shape, that just doesn't make up for the lack of the wow-factor at this course.

If you are in the Tulsa area, don't miss this as it is very convenient to the interstate and airport.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    4/9/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: tenkiller
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of parking. Basketball courts near by. Totaly flat. Great tee pads and most holes have signs to show where the baskets are and approch angles.
Cons: Rough neighborhood. Totaly flat. No place to hide. Several holes are loooooong. Everything is par 3. Would like to see a couple of par 4s

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee pads. Pretty good mixture of long and short holes. Long throwers will have some advantage on the first few holes but there are some shorter holes later that will reward accuracy although I think being long is better on this course since most baskets are not hidden by trees or otherwisw protected. A good tee shot is essential.
Cons: Some of the holes play across roads and the course is mostly flat without a lot of real challenges to contend with. Somewhat of a challenge to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was just OK the first time I played it but I just played it two more times and like it a little better. McClure park is nearby and a much better course in my opinion.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.