Grand Junction, CO
Matchett Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What a course!

1    2/11/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: jugglerbri
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to begin... This course is TOUGH! The risk reward relationship is huge here. Make a good shot and you're loving life. Make a bad shot and you spend 15 minutes finding your disc. The course runs through a bunch of gullies/arroyos/washouts or whatever you want to call them. There is a stream that runs through the middle of the course that is pretty much a small canyon. Shoot into the canyon and you're looking for your disc.

On almost all of the holes, the stream comes into play (with the exception of the first few). You either shoot over the stream or along it. One of my favorite holes you actually play down along the bottom of one of the arroyos towards the stream.

All of the holes I played (hole 1 seems to be missing) had excellent concrete tee pads and the number 13 tee is on top of a tall hill shooting out over the stream. What a great hole!

Bring a map, the map posted here was perfect. I got turned around finding the 11 tee but that was my own fault for following what I thought was a trail to the tee but wasn't. Other than that, I didn't have any problems navigating the course.
Cons: Hole 1 seems to be missing. I looked and looked but couldn't find it anywhere. I did see what I thought looked like an old tee pad where the tee was marked on the map so perhaps it was removed. It did look as though there was some earth moving activities recently so that might have been the reason.

I played in the winter so the weather was perfect (a little on the chilly side, just the way I like it) but I can definitely see this course being a scorcher in the summer. Bring lots of water! There weren't any facilities and no where to get water during the round.

The stream/canyon can be a doozy if your disc goes in there but, that's one of the things that makes this course interesting. After rain, this place would be crazy muddy to try and navigate. I would recommend avoiding it when it's muddy (I stepped in a couple muddy spots and it was really slick).

Playing across the stream can be challenging as you have to cross the stream several times to get to the next basket or tee. It wasn't too bad if you can find the path most people use but if you have to go down there to find a disc it can be treacherous.

There wasn't a single sign along the entire course letting you know where you were or what hole you were on which is why the map is critically important.

If you are out of shape, it's definitely a work out. Take your time and catch your breath and enjoy the exercise.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really enjoyed the course and if in the area again with time to play, I would definitely go back to it.

Take your time, place your shots well, and enjoy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Par 3

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: dmbfan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: -Extremely challenging. Definitely the hardest par 3 course I've played yet.
-Great use of space and the surrounding geography.
-There were no garbage holes. Each one seemed to be thoughtfully designed and required careful shot selection.
Cons: -Not a good place to take a beginner as this course is very unforgiving to misplaced shots, especially tee shots.
Other Thoughts: YOU MUST USE THE MAP! I followed mine religiously and never once had to wander around for the next tee pad. I did have to search for a few baskets that weren't visible from the tee. I appreciated those basket locations though because it made for fun and challenging tee shots. I suppose that a basic sign at each tee pad showing the location of the basket would be helpful for the first timer (like myself). But after playing the course once no signage is needed.
Overall I'd say that this is a great course and I can't wait to get a chance to play it again.

 It will fool you!

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: Bohica1010
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First 2 holes are nice warmups which can give you a false sense of security. Starting on 3, anyone who can throw 250+ and their disc goes right to left has to worry about the sharp drop and creek on the left side. The map is great! The tee pads are excellent and point pretty much right at each pin. Great use of elevation and distances. 13 has a great view, but when you look around from most tee pads or pins, it is great.
Cons: Some baskets could use flags due to elevation changes and trees/bushes hiding the pins. Paint on tee pads has faded and the baskets could have arrows paingted to help point to next tee pads. If you haven't played before, you probably should take a spotter for a couple holes. We couldn't find the water faucet by the 13th hole. We looked south of the creek by the unfinished building and the foundation next to it. A dot on the map or better directions would be great. Directions to get to course could be better. It says it is a right if you are going East, but you want to go left (North) into the dirt lot. We had to U-turn at the light at 28 3/4 to go back. First tee is near the "dog waste" bag station.
Other Thoughts: A number of the pins between 3 and 8 are set next to the creek where some might consider it high risk/ high reward, however I felt like it was just high risk since the areas around the pins were pretty tight. River bottom dirt/sand that are small to medium hills throughout, so wear hiking boots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course that needs signage.

1    4/24/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/16/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the true "badlands" course on the western slope. You start hole one playing uphill around some big bushes, then you play over dry desert terrain that includes rolling dirt hills that merge into a narrow arroyo that plays on most of the holes. I really enjoyed playing this course because it has some good challenge avoiding the arroyo. You play over and down the dirt hills and even have to avoid some steep cliffs that drop down to the creek. The pads are nice big concrete slabs that are perfect for driving.
Cons: There is no signage for the course at all. It's somewhat difficult to navigate and even find the course for the first time. There's no parking lot and we didn't see any designated areas. We just picked a spot to park in the dirt. Be prepared because this course is pretty isolated from any facilities.

I wouldn't recommend this course for beginners or rec players due to the technicalities of the holes. If you can't throw 250' to clear the arroyo on most holes, you will have a long round searching in the thick brush.

Although conditions were fine when we played it, I can see why it would be nearly impossible to play in wet conditions. A few holes require you to walk down into the arroyo to cross the ditch to the other side. When the ditch fills up, it may be risky to cross it.
Other Thoughts: I liked the feel of this course and would play it again if in the area. If it had decent signage of any kind, I might have given it a 4 out of 5.

Favorite holes: #3, #5, #8, #13

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    7/30/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Brad T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
Pros: Very challanging for the beginner. Great course for experienced golfer. Lots of ups and downs. Great workout if you jog it. Nice view of the valley off #13 tee. Excellent to play and watch awesome sunsets year round. Nice tees big cement great job GVDG!!
Cons: Hot in the middle of the summer and it is muddy after a storm...but it hardly ever rains in GJ. City took out the water faucet last fall (08) so pack h2o.
Other Thoughts: The course is next to my back yard so if your out of town or first time email me for directions or help. If I am not busy maybe play a round with you.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.