Turner, ME 
Cranberry Valley Share
Uploaded By: nstraz Hole #13 (Taken 9/2011)
5 / 390ft.   5 / 390ft.   5 / --   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Enjoyable course

2-4    9/10/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: mslebzak520
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Great variety. Easy to navigate. Private and peaceful. Reasonable price. Good course for beginner to pro.
Cons: Marshy in a lot of areas and if I had to mention it I would say the tee signs are a little off.
Other Thoughts: Cool course that starts and finishes through the cranberry bogs and slips into the pine forest. It sits adjacent to a apple orchard. Great market house and pro shop inside with other goodies!

 

2-4    10/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: maheus1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great bakery and donuts.
Cheap discs for sale in the pro shop.
Some nice long challenging holes like hole #8
Good flow
Well marked, good tees and new baskets with distinct red tops
nice blend of challenging holes and easy holes
Cons: can be a challenge with obstacles like cranberry bogs and water
two or three holes can be wet at times after rain

makes you work on accuracy and precision shooting
Other Thoughts: Never seems to be that any people here. Able to play course without a hassle. People should give it a try

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun but funky

5+    6/9/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Some memorable holes. Scenic use of the cranberry bogs. Beautiful newish Innova Discatchers with distinctive red bands. Attractive full color signs. You can buy a tasty baked treat before and after you play. Some tough holes which make for very rewarding dueces. One true two shot hole (#8) which at 635' and a moderately narrow right curling fairway is a fun challenge.
Cons: This course suffers somewhat from an identity crisis. It can't decide if it wants to be a family/ recreational course or one targeted for more experienced competitive players. The first 6 holes suggest a recreational type course but as the course continues fairly technical and challenging holes pop up. (7 through 13 excluding 10) Many of theses tougher holes are too demanding for the type of player the first six holes seem to court. Hole 14 doesn't have much of a true fairway and hole 15 has a strange wide open shortcut fairway which is nothing like what the tee sign shows.

Edit. Removed complaint about branches mid fairway and upped rating a half disc.

Hole 14's tee sign is directly to the right of the tee pad exactly where a RHBH player's follow through should be. This makes an already sketchy fairway fairly frustrating to hit for anyone who is concerned with not cracking their hand.
Other Thoughts: Like almost all Maine courses, the pars are calibrated for a recreational player so take them with a grain of salt. I would estimate this course as a pro par 55, maybe 56 (SSA maybe 48).
Edit. Upped my rating to a 3. A few of the branches in the middle that really annoyed me are gone and I may have been a bit harsh originally. Granted the course is in a swamp, with bad teepads, not super well maintained, and a few questionable holes. Besides that the golf is pretty solid.
This course is worth a play if you are in the Lewiston/ Auburn area or around Norway. With a few alterations (removing splitter branches and changing unsafe tee sign locations) I would probably bump my rating up a half disc or even a whole disc and recommend coming up from I95. As it stands now I would say there are better options closer to where most people live.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 what am i going to throw today?

5+    6/27/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kfitz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very easy playing coarse, tons of ace runs, 2 difficult par 5s in the middle, disc placement is way more important then power here, fun place for doubles
Cons: bogs, and lost discs, upkeep has been better this year, but has been a problem in past
Other Thoughts: mostly wooded, always a streaky place for me, 24 front 31 back, then 31 front 23 back, lots of tempting risk reward runs here in the woods, wear bug spray

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Those damn black flies!

5+    9/20/2008   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice interesting course. OUTSTANDING bakery, cider:)

A nice course and challenging with the water holes.
Cons: Wet, and flies just piss me off.

I've lost 4 discs here, but that's less then some other courses.
Other Thoughts: Mow more often. High netting by the Cranberry Bogs

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Unique Experience

1    10/22/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - beautiful, unique location
- well designed private course
- multiple, cool pin locations
- dual tees
- 1/3 of the holes have terrain challenges
- 1/3 of the holes have water hazards
- there are little white trash cans on nearly every hole
- nice, hand carved/painted wooden tee signs
- some directional signs for lonk walks, or intersections on the course
- a few signs showing where families can skip holes to play a shorter round if their kids are tired
- port-a-potty near tee 12 for a midpoint bathroom break
- at least 1 legitimate par 4
- the pro shop has a decent selection of discs and some collector's discs with the Cranberry Valley logo
Cons: - still a fairly new course, so some of the holes in the woods (like 8) still have lots of stumps, or just all-around rough fairways
- after a heavy rain lots of the course will be muddy/waterlogged, so plan your footwear accordingly
- some of the wooden signs are broken from being weathered
- older baskets, still in decent condition
Other Thoughts: Cranberry Valley is a good drive off of the freeway, but worth every minute/mile. It has a smooth, well designed layout, taking into consideration all of the terrain features the area has to offer. It is a well maintained course, and they are even in the process of switching all the old baskets with brand new, cranberry red DISCatchers.

The pro shop also has so much more to offer than just discs. There is a huge assortment of homemade goods, but I highly recommend checking out some of the donuts, cider, or fresh cranberries from the bogs.

This course plays very long, and the rough can be unforgiving, so take your time and have fun with what a beautiful course it is, and when will you ever be able to say you played around a cranberry bog again? Cranberry Valley is a truely unique disc golf experience and should be a welcome addition to any disc golf road trip that takes you through Maine.

I have pictures of the course to put up, but I keep getting an error for some reason... this is the only course I've had trouble with that on, so I'll talk to the site manager and try and get them up soon!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 love this course

5+    9/14/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: danman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very challenging, awesome layout, beautiful scenery, awesome pro shop and bakery
Cons: very muddy, a lot of water/cranberry bog hazards.
Other Thoughts: This course takes a while to get used to, but once you've played it a few times, its great.The pro shop is great, and the food there is amazing. Be careful playing hole 18 if its your first time you might want to throw to the right of the pond, its a shorter distance.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cranberry Bog

1    5/1/2006   9/1/2008
Review By: buzzman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Covers alot of terrain
Unique setting - Cranberry Bog
Some nice long and challenging holes
Good flow, no criss crossing
Well marked, good tees and baskets
Cons: Some water hazards may be too challenging for who hate to lose a disk.
Other Thoughts: A nice place to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.