Norwalk, CT
Cranbury Park Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #15 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice New England Course

2-4    12/4/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice park to take a stroll with broad lawns and trails winding through thick woods. Very clean with very nice tee pads, signs and baskets.

The challenges exist throughout as you will have to keep on tight fairways on all but 4 holes. On these wooded holes, hitting a tree early can make it a bogey hole due to thick spindly trees in the rough. The key is 80% power on 80% of the holes. The flow is decent, and is mixed with some modest elevation changes and doglegs in both directions.

A few holes are memorable to me - #4 because of it's narrow difficulty factor. # 9 has a pin mounted beautifully on an outcropping of stone. #13 twists uphill to the left then flattens and turns right and has an OB rock wall on the left, thick trees on the right, and trees within the fairway- two very accurate shots will get you to the pin on this one and make you feel you've accomplished something.

Cons: It's a nice relief to have some open holes in the fields. They are actually SO open, they have almost no obstacles on the way to the pin. I thought those holes would have benefitted from more protection around the pin, at least.

The course suffers from winding directly through major pedestrian pathways (primarily off-leash dog walkers). I like people, and I like dogs but it it got a little redundant running into this traffic. Many of the paths run the entire length of the fairway! I realize the designers may not have had a choice, but I'm just expressing the frustration these delays create. It really is best to seperate the disc golf from other park users- especially furry ones that like to chew discs.
Other Thoughts: There are arrows located on bricks at the base of most of the pins that point to the next tee. This was quite helpful, but a couple were missing that created a little confusion.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Cranbury Park!

1    10/19/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Connecticut has the 2 best maintained public courses I have ever encountered in Cranbury and Wickham. Cranbury Park is set on the beautifully manicured grounds of an old mansion and estate. If courses were rated on amenities this place would get a perfect 5 disc rating. Perfect huge level rubber grippy tees, precise tee signs, 2 baskets per hole(cranbury red longs and blueberry shorts) The open holes 1,14,and 18 play over golf course quality green grass and provide a chance to warm up on #1, provide relief from the technical woods on #14 and take out your frustrations and air it out over 500 ft on #18. The mansion and estate grounds are groomed beyond what you will see at most ball golf country clubs. Theres a water fountain between hole 14,15,17, and 18 area. After you park your car on a huge cobblestone lot and next to a Mansion take a short walk to the warm up area, it is one of the best I have ever seen w/2 baskets set atop a preserved 200 yr old cellar. Then you see the clubhouse and tee "complex" for #1. Loaner disc slots, returned disc slots, Great info kiosk and a huge sheltered clubhouse that looks like a Yankee version of Paw Paw's barn! They even have a foot wipe at hole #2, a first for me! The course while not providing any truly epic holes is still both challenging and fun. Beginners will be challenged by the shorter blueberry baskets, yes they are deep blue colored and experts will enjoy the more difficult cranbury reds. The course amps up at hole #4 and from there it is winding up and down hills, utilizing tight fairways, interesting rock walls and boulders to provide a truly eastern technical feel. Several fun holes in the woods featuring R and L doglegs, floaters down hills, crushes uphills, and straight low canopied fairways. Some memorable shots were a basket perched atop a boulder formation on hole 9, a split fairway on #10 that finished fast downhill, a downhill then uphill dogleg R, an interesting historic stone walls that serves as OOB on holes 12&13 and finally a huge open 500+ crush across a roller friendly manicured lawn to a low ceiling approach to finish your day on #18. the woods for whatever reason were free of thorns and heavy shule...so I was penalized for bad shots with having to be creative and not tortured by lost discs and painful thorns.
Cons: It's a busy and beautiful place with many pedestrians and people walking dogs and enjoying the dog park area throughout the course and near #15....I don't mind friendly people and happy dogs but some people do. There are no truly signature drop your eyes out of your sockets types of holes that will remain etched in your mind once you leave. Just lots of fun and varied solid shots here. No water for hydro fans. Really difficult to label a con here, it's evident why this course is rated so highly.
Other Thoughts: This course would be the perfect place to take a GF, Wife, Mistress or anyone who otherwise would not enjoy your Disc Golf hobby due to the gorgeous estate, gardens, sculptures, mansion and preserved architecture that is so apparent here. After parking your car in the lot walk with your back to the mansion and the warm up area and clubhouse will be to your right at about 0200 beyond the white cottage.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip, watch your step!

1    10/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very nice disc golf course. 18 great, very different holes. Two basket options on each hole. I played with a local and he wanted to play the longer holes. Otherwise I would have likely played the shorts on a first visit. No matter, great fun. Nice rubber tee pads. Today was wet after the rain last night and the pads had good grip. Nice tee signs on posts. There are pegs to hang your golf bag while teeing off. Nice added feature. Par, distance, pin location maps, major obstacles all indicated. Many holes have benches at each tee and some have trash cans. Woods are very clean. No trash. Baskets have an arrow to lead you to the next tee. Most are close. A few were tougher to find. Great use of woodsiness and elevation. There are holes here for every disc and every shot you have in your bag… and all the ones you don't have too. There a few narrow woodland tunnels here where a misplaced shot will punish you badly… golf disc pinball as I call it. Fortunately, every once in a while one of these trees returns a bad shot to the fairway for you as a gift. Hey, disc golf Karma, I guess. I'll take it. 16 and 18 play a bit odd as they are out in the wide open and feel weird after the 15 other holes in the woods. No real long grip and rip drive bombs here. The far baskets mostly play medium and the dog legs are more about lay it up and play for good par. Not too many real opportunities her for aces. All holes are par 3 so birdies will likely be limited to very good drive/set-up shots and well made, longish putts. If your approach game is strong you can par all day here… My suggested strategy here is: decent, focused drive, very accurate approach shot and a nice, short putt. Not too many opportunities here to use long distance drivers. This is a solid mid range and putter course.
Cons: Few. There is a lot to like here. Just one small thing and, sadly, 2 bigger, scary issues. It is hard to find the first tee as the course location is not well indicated, Small thing. With a local tour guide this was not an issue. The bigger issue(s), The course plays amongst and in some places, through a dog park. Most owners are considerate, but, there are no small dogs here. Most are the size of small horses. Owners and the dogs obviously enjoy the fact that leashes are not required. The dogs here run free as nature intended. Great if you are the dog. Not so great if you are out and about throwing brightly colored things. If I wanted to break in a disc by chewing on it I would chew on it myself. A big dog sprinting after you or your disc from around a blind turn on a trail will scare the crap out of you. Speaking of crap… The large size of the dogs here should provide a hint as to the size of the poop piles you will encounter. Tread carefully. I would have rated this course as a 5, but the dogs and the poop piles cost it a full point.
Other Thoughts: My review title says it all. Well worth the trip, but, watch your step. An added bonus is the extra baskets near the first tee for putting practice. Nice. O.K. I will give 'em back a ½ point so they get a 4 ½. Best course I have played thus far. Too bad I live 800 miles away.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Creme de la Creme

5+    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All of the tees are rubber; no dirt or roots. All of the holes are well marked, with arrows at the baskets pointing the direction towards the next tee. The holes make good use of natural terrain, and the narrow fairways either frustrate you or make you a better player. Play the advanced/expert course for added difficulty.
Cons: Way too many loose dogs. The tee the 15th hole is right near the "dog park" area, and can be quite busy. Also, no one puts their dogs on leashes; I've been rushed several times, and had my disc chased a couple times. On fairways, you frequently have to wait for dogwalkers to stroll by with their leashless dogs. I love dogs, truly - but seriously, folks.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the Westchester area, based on Waveny Park, Leonard Park, FDR Park, and Cranberry Park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good stuff

2-4    7/14/2011   7/15/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well kept, good signs, short walks between holes, two baskets per hole, very little underbrush, good rubber tee pads, benches at each tee.
Cons: A little woodsy for my taste, usually lots of leaves on the ground in the fall, but it is manageable as long as you stay in the fairway.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip...

1    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What an Amazing course. this course was a little hard to find but if was definatly worth the trip. every hole had two or more pins clearly labeled and easy to find. the tees were all rubber and had great grip to them. hole #9 had amazing basket placement where the pin is about 5 feet off the ground on top of some piled rocks. Every hole was a memorable one especially the last hole, a 550 ft wide open hole. in terms of the courses shape, i give it a 10/10. And near the entrance theres a gift shop where you can buy discs, water, gatorade and snacks
Cons: It was hard to find, its a pretty secluded park with not much stores or anything like that surrounding it. Mosquitos are everywhere throughout the course so bring plenty of bug spray and water because the course really takes alot out of you. This course hosts one of the national tournaments so its a tough course with planty of shot variety. Not recommended for beginners.
Other Thoughts: It is a tough course but dont be discouraged you will definatly leave this course a better disc golfer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    5/28/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: JohnDG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is in great shape. It has brand new tea pads as well as baskets. There are also good tea signs and benches at every hole. It is a challenging course but at the same time very fair. The holes are definitely diverse and test many different types of shots. Overall, it is a beautiful course that plays fluid and is a lot of fun.
Other Thoughts: This is a mostly a wooded course that really challenges your accuracy. The other holes that are open are also well designed. One of the best courses in CT without question.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New and BOLD

5+    5/20/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Whit
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very very tough, with constant focus needed to get off the tee. Tight fairways and sloped greens make for some tough, but rewarding golf. The new putting green is great with its two baskets and multiple shots.
Cons: Some minor dog/walker issues, but most people at the park wait for you to throw and control their dog.
Other Thoughts: Thursday Night league are at 5:30 and Sundays at 11am

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic!

1    4/19/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: JohnnyLounge21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding course that plays through woods and open terrain alike. The majority of the holes play through the woods and without a straight throw, you'll hit some trees for sure. The signage for the course is fantastic. Multiple pins on each hole make for a choice of just how challenging you'd like the course to be. One pin is built into granite (picture included) and it's a real doozie. I made one of my best puts on this hole (about 40 feet) and my girlfriend just loved it. Right when you want the course to open up - it does. And in the distance is a beautiful mansion that we referred to as "the clubhouse." Each t-box is tar-padded and nice and large for a great toss to get the holes started. I consider this course the best I've ever played. I would have paid to play this course and it was free. Got through all 18 holes at dusk and it was a wonderful evening. Great for girls too.
Cons: There's no water and having a little water sometimes adds a little more fun. Sometimes the holes can get cumbersome b/c so many are through the woods and you can't see the pins at times (one toss and once closer you'll find them if you make note of the hole map at the beginning of each hole. If there were leaves (we were early spring) even more may have been knocked down.
Other Thoughts: The first hole was tough for us to find. It's back behind a 3-car garage by a shack with picnic tables underneath it. But once you find the first hole, you'll be on a roll. There are loaner discs that can be used via the honors system and a nice message board with announcements, etc.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  AWESOME NEW DESIGN

5+    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: soldier
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has transformed from a flat over walked woods to an incredible elevated piece of discgolf design perfection. Every hole is a new challenge blending every shot you have in the bag!!! Dogs on trails are now enforced so much less traffic.
Cons: One hole has walkers with dogs and the shot requires a roller. LOL. The dog area will be fenced in soon.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.