Norwalk, CT 
Cranbury Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #2
3 / 325ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Woods Course

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: iDuumb
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice basket placement on multiple holes
Creative Layout that flowed very nicely
Good Elevation
Good Variety
Cons: Goes through a dog park, there were multiple times I had to wait for a person walking their dog before I could tee off. I was also worried that I would have a disc chased down by a dog but thankfully that didn't happen
Other Thoughts: Very Nice course overall, and worth the 40 minute drive from my campus. I am originally from Delaware and I am used to woods courses such as Iron Hill and carousel, I would say this is on par with both of those courses if anyone has played those.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Connecticut is apparently french for "awesome".

1    8/8/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The tee pads at this place are bigger than my house. Which probably says more about my house than it does about the tee pads. And like my house, these tee pads are covered by what appears to be roofing material. This makes for a super grippy surface. Though it didn't make my game any better. I'm not sure a wizard could do that though.
- the baskets at this place are either new or well taken care of, or both. Which makes that "or" a pretty useless bit of wording. Either way, the baskets are marvelous. And while the two baskets per hole confused me at first; I am pretty dumb. So once I got it figured out, I used the two basket thing as an excuse for my poor play. It was nice to have something like that built in.
- This course has more shots than jerry has curls. Wooded, wide open, skill, hyzer, anhyzer and what could be some circus shots if you don't play well. So guess what I did a lot. It's always nice to play a course that has variety and not just a bunch of "throw it as hard as you can" holes or holes that are so hard that you can't even see the basket because of the number of trees. Pretty amazing.
- The signage is great on this course. There are little bricks in the ground near every basket that tell you where the next tee pad is. The signs at the holes are very accurate to each basket that comes into play. And there is a fantastic map at the first hole that shows you where everything is on the course. if you get lost on this course, it's probably because your seeing eye dog ran off and started humping a fence post.
- Two practice baskets on this course really round out the "if one is good, then two is better" theme of this place. Both appear to be brand new baskets. Again, practice doesn't help me, but it was good to have in case it does help you out.
- this park is beautiful. While we don't have anything like this park in Indiana (you generally have to throw around cows and have corn stalks as your obstacle), it was incredible to just look at.
- there was a box at 18 marked as a "disc return". I don't know what it's for, but I'd like to imagine that people at this course have honor. Where as people at my home course will brain you with a cinder block to take your discs from you.
Cons: I had two cons, and they knocked this course down a .5.
1. There were a couple of holes on this course that had fairways that interfered with one another. 14 and 18 sort of intersected. It wasn't that big of a deal, but someone did throw right into me as a I was teeing off on 14. I took his disc and melted it down right there on the spot, then buried it on the tee pad as I laughed maniacally, so it felt OK. That'll learn him.
- There is a LOT of other activity on this course. Dogs were running amuck all over the joint, and pedestrians came strolling into the fairway on four or five holes. There was also a guy hitting golf balls from the shelter house towards 14 and 18. That guy was just a dick. I mean, who hits golf balls in a crowded park anyway? I wanted to stab him in the neck with a rusty bedspring. But since I didn't have one, I just called him a jerkoff and gave him the one fingered salute.
Other Thoughts: I almost aced number one on this course, so that really set the mood for me I guess. There could have been rabid wolverines attacking me for the rest of the round and I don't think that I would have noticed after that shot.
The clubhouse/shelter thing at number one was a nice touch, even if it looked like a scene out of a B horror movie. I always carry a machete with me though, so it was all good.

Awesome course you have there Connecticut. Cherish it and give it soft lil' angel kisses every chance you get.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous x2 (Disc Golf and grounds)

1    4/24/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets on the Cranbury course are by far the best I have ever seen. They are powder coated red mach V's (I believe). They also have older baskets that are painted blue, this set of baskets is appropriately named Blueberry, it also is much shorter and good for beginners. The course starts out in the open then it goes into the woods for a few holes. The rest of the holes pretty much alternate between wooded and open. There aren't really any technically overbearing holes but the basket positions make you bring your putting A-game. The hole that was my favorite had a six foot elevated basket set atop a large boulder (of course I hit the rim and three putted The tee signs are made by a local company and rival some of the best I have ever seen in sheer information and appearance. There is also space below them for an advertisement (hint hint Tim;). There are also pegs for your bags on the tee signs. The tee pads are completely flat. They are rubber laid over wooden platforms and all are uniformly long at about fifteen feet. There is at least one bench or lawn type chair at every tee, which makes waiting that much more fun. There are also trash cans scattered throughout the course on some various holes. This adds to the very clean kept grounds that the course is on. The grass is very well trimmed and the fairways are clear of any debris. There are also two or three practice baskets on top of an old cellar near hole one.
Cons: The tee pads in the woods are covered with pine needles and are slippery. No brooms are available at the tee pads to clear them away unfortunately. There is a walking trail and dog path that runs adjacent to and cuts into some of the fairways. I only had a problem with two of the twenty or so that I ran into though. The bricks at the bottom of the baskets pointing to the next tee might be the wrong way. There is no way to know which red basket location is current. They are all shown on the tee sign with no designator as to which one to throw to. On one hole, I believe it was ten, there were very low hanging power lines right in the middle of the fairway. I'm not sure if they are live or not but they could easily be a safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: The course is played on the grounds of an old mansion with beautiful grounds. There is also a very nice playground and picnic area on site.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Nice New England Course

2-4    12/4/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice park to take a stroll with broad lawns and trails winding through thick woods. Very clean with very nice tee pads, signs and baskets.

The challenges exist throughout as you will have to keep on tight fairways on all but 4 holes. On these wooded holes, hitting a tree early can make it a bogey hole due to thick spindly trees in the rough. The key is 80% power on 80% of the holes. The flow is decent, and is mixed with some modest elevation changes and doglegs in both directions.

A few holes are memorable to me - #4 because of it's narrow difficulty factor. # 9 has a pin mounted beautifully on an outcropping of stone. #13 twists uphill to the left then flattens and turns right and has an OB rock wall on the left, thick trees on the right, and trees within the fairway- two very accurate shots will get you to the pin on this one and make you feel you've accomplished something.

Cons: It's a nice relief to have some open holes in the fields. They are actually SO open, they have almost no obstacles on the way to the pin. I thought those holes would have benefitted from more protection around the pin, at least.

The course suffers from winding directly through major pedestrian pathways (primarily off-leash dog walkers). I like people, and I like dogs but it it got a little redundant running into this traffic. Many of the paths run the entire length of the fairway! I realize the designers may not have had a choice, but I'm just expressing the frustration these delays create. It really is best to seperate the disc golf from other park users- especially furry ones that like to chew discs.
Other Thoughts: There are arrows located on bricks at the base of most of the pins that point to the next tee. This was quite helpful, but a couple were missing that created a little confusion.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Cranbury Park!

1    10/19/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Connecticut has the 2 best maintained public courses I have ever encountered in Cranbury and Wickham. Cranbury Park is set on the beautifully manicured grounds of an old mansion and estate. If courses were rated on amenities this place would get a perfect 5 disc rating. Perfect huge level rubber grippy tees, precise tee signs, 2 baskets per hole(cranbury red longs and blueberry shorts) The open holes 1,14,and 18 play over golf course quality green grass and provide a chance to warm up on #1, provide relief from the technical woods on #14 and take out your frustrations and air it out over 500 ft on #18. The mansion and estate grounds are groomed beyond what you will see at most ball golf country clubs. Theres a water fountain between hole 14,15,17, and 18 area. After you park your car on a huge cobblestone lot and next to a Mansion take a short walk to the warm up area, it is one of the best I have ever seen w/2 baskets set atop a preserved 200 yr old cellar. Then you see the clubhouse and tee "complex" for #1. Loaner disc slots, returned disc slots, Great info kiosk and a huge sheltered clubhouse that looks like a Yankee version of Paw Paw's barn! They even have a foot wipe at hole #2, a first for me! The course while not providing any truly epic holes is still both challenging and fun. Beginners will be challenged by the shorter blueberry baskets, yes they are deep blue colored and experts will enjoy the more difficult cranbury reds. The course amps up at hole #4 and from there it is winding up and down hills, utilizing tight fairways, interesting rock walls and boulders to provide a truly eastern technical feel. Several fun holes in the woods featuring R and L doglegs, floaters down hills, crushes uphills, and straight low canopied fairways. Some memorable shots were a basket perched atop a boulder formation on hole 9, a split fairway on #10 that finished fast downhill, a downhill then uphill dogleg R, an interesting historic stone walls that serves as OOB on holes 12&13 and finally a huge open 500+ crush across a roller friendly manicured lawn to a low ceiling approach to finish your day on #18. the woods for whatever reason were free of thorns and heavy shule...so I was penalized for bad shots with having to be creative and not tortured by lost discs and painful thorns.
Cons: It's a busy and beautiful place with many pedestrians and people walking dogs and enjoying the dog park area throughout the course and near #15....I don't mind friendly people and happy dogs but some people do. There are no truly signature drop your eyes out of your sockets types of holes that will remain etched in your mind once you leave. Just lots of fun and varied solid shots here. No water for hydro fans. Really difficult to label a con here, it's evident why this course is rated so highly.
Other Thoughts: This course would be the perfect place to take a GF, Wife, Mistress or anyone who otherwise would not enjoy your Disc Golf hobby due to the gorgeous estate, gardens, sculptures, mansion and preserved architecture that is so apparent here. After parking your car in the lot walk with your back to the mansion and the warm up area and clubhouse will be to your right at about 0200 beyond the white cottage.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip, watch your step!

1    10/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very nice disc golf course. 18 great, very different holes. Two basket options on each hole. I played with a local and he wanted to play the longer holes. Otherwise I would have likely played the shorts on a first visit. No matter, great fun. Nice rubber tee pads. Today was wet after the rain last night and the pads had good grip. Nice tee signs on posts. There are pegs to hang your golf bag while teeing off. Nice added feature. Par, distance, pin location maps, major obstacles all indicated. Many holes have benches at each tee and some have trash cans. Woods are very clean. No trash. Baskets have an arrow to lead you to the next tee. Most are close. A few were tougher to find. Great use of woodsiness and elevation. There are holes here for every disc and every shot you have in your bag… and all the ones you don't have too. There a few narrow woodland tunnels here where a misplaced shot will punish you badly… golf disc pinball as I call it. Fortunately, every once in a while one of these trees returns a bad shot to the fairway for you as a gift. Hey, disc golf Karma, I guess. I'll take it. 16 and 18 play a bit odd as they are out in the wide open and feel weird after the 15 other holes in the woods. No real long grip and rip drive bombs here. The far baskets mostly play medium and the dog legs are more about lay it up and play for good par. Not too many real opportunities her for aces. All holes are par 3 so birdies will likely be limited to very good drive/set-up shots and well made, longish putts. If your approach game is strong you can par all day here… My suggested strategy here is: decent, focused drive, very accurate approach shot and a nice, short putt. Not too many opportunities here to use long distance drivers. This is a solid mid range and putter course.
Cons: Few. There is a lot to like here. Just one small thing and, sadly, 2 bigger, scary issues. It is hard to find the first tee as the course location is not well indicated, Small thing. With a local tour guide this was not an issue. The bigger issue(s), The course plays amongst and in some places, through a dog park. Most owners are considerate, but, there are no small dogs here. Most are the size of small horses. Owners and the dogs obviously enjoy the fact that leashes are not required. The dogs here run free as nature intended. Great if you are the dog. Not so great if you are out and about throwing brightly colored things. If I wanted to break in a disc by chewing on it I would chew on it myself. A big dog sprinting after you or your disc from around a blind turn on a trail will scare the crap out of you. Speaking of crap… The large size of the dogs here should provide a hint as to the size of the poop piles you will encounter. Tread carefully. I would have rated this course as a 5, but the dogs and the poop piles cost it a full point.
Other Thoughts: My review title says it all. Well worth the trip, but, watch your step. An added bonus is the extra baskets near the first tee for putting practice. Nice. O.K. I will give 'em back a ½ point so they get a 4 ½. Best course I have played thus far. Too bad I live 800 miles away.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Creme de la Creme

5+    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All of the tees are rubber; no dirt or roots. All of the holes are well marked, with arrows at the baskets pointing the direction towards the next tee. The holes make good use of natural terrain, and the narrow fairways either frustrate you or make you a better player. Play the advanced/expert course for added difficulty.
Cons: Way too many loose dogs. The tee the 15th hole is right near the "dog park" area, and can be quite busy. Also, no one puts their dogs on leashes; I've been rushed several times, and had my disc chased a couple times. On fairways, you frequently have to wait for dogwalkers to stroll by with their leashless dogs. I love dogs, truly - but seriously, folks.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the Westchester area, based on Waveny Park, Leonard Park, FDR Park, and Cranberry Park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good stuff

2-4    7/14/2011   7/15/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well kept, good signs, short walks between holes, two baskets per hole, very little underbrush, good rubber tee pads, benches at each tee.
Cons: A little woodsy for my taste, usually lots of leaves on the ground in the fall, but it is manageable as long as you stay in the fairway.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip...

1    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What an Amazing course. this course was a little hard to find but if was definatly worth the trip. every hole had two or more pins clearly labeled and easy to find. the tees were all rubber and had great grip to them. hole #9 had amazing basket placement where the pin is about 5 feet off the ground on top of some piled rocks. Every hole was a memorable one especially the last hole, a 550 ft wide open hole. in terms of the courses shape, i give it a 10/10. And near the entrance theres a gift shop where you can buy discs, water, gatorade and snacks
Cons: It was hard to find, its a pretty secluded park with not much stores or anything like that surrounding it. Mosquitos are everywhere throughout the course so bring plenty of bug spray and water because the course really takes alot out of you. This course hosts one of the national tournaments so its a tough course with planty of shot variety. Not recommended for beginners.
Other Thoughts: It is a tough course but dont be discouraged you will definatly leave this course a better disc golfer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    5/28/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: JohnDG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is in great shape. It has brand new tea pads as well as baskets. There are also good tea signs and benches at every hole. It is a challenging course but at the same time very fair. The holes are definitely diverse and test many different types of shots. Overall, it is a beautiful course that plays fluid and is a lot of fun.
Other Thoughts: This is a mostly a wooded course that really challenges your accuracy. The other holes that are open are also well designed. One of the best courses in CT without question.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.