Tolland, CT 
Cross Farms Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good clean family fun

1    4/23/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course that is located on a family-oriented public park. The course isn't overly technical but at the same time it isn't all ace runs; very good course for intermediate players. The tee pads are nice thick rubber (all but two anyways) and long enough for all holes. There are also brooms on the tee pads that are under large trees. The tee signs are very informative and easy to read. Overall course signage is well placed and easy to follow. The course itself is very clean and free of trash. This might have something to do with the trash cans spread throughout the course. There is a practice basket right near the welcome sign before the first tee. A porta pottie is also available in the parking lot. There is a good mix between tight and open holes. Although some of the open holes are wooded but with wide clear paths. The basket positions are challenging; quite a few of them have guardian trees around them and one is an elevated basket on a dirt mound.
Cons: The tee signs are super high, so unless you're the jolly green giant or ten feet tall you won't be able to see them straight. Holes five and six play right through a children's playground. The walk between ten and eleven is very muddy and there are only a few sparse rocks to step on. The tee pads are dirt underneath the rubber and need to be releveled pretty bad. There is an abundance of fallen trees in the rough which make it quite easy to lose your plastic. There are some swampy areas and steep hills that would greatly benefit from some steps. While there are a bunch of good holes there is no signature hole.

Other Thoughts: There are a bunch of local fields on site and several nice walking trails. Parking is also abundant. So bring the family and have fun!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fast and fun

5+    1/22/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: luvmyvalkerie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The technical aspects of this course have made my game far more precise. There are only two open grassy fairways, and all other holes require a deliberate throw. Even the open holes, 5 and 6, demand appropriate choice of disc and throw. I have played this course through all four seasons, and I have enjoyed the fall and winter the best. Channels are much more noticeable and discs are harder to lose. Also, the regulars at this course are very good about returning lost discs. They regularly post on NEFA.com
Cons: There is little not to like about this course. The tees do become rutted, but the crew at cf is actively working toward fixing that problem.
***** They have added level rubber pads to four of the holes already (5,6,12, and 13) and they are adding ten more as spring emerges (maybe sooner).***** As of late march, all pads have been installed! now the only tees that lack pads are 3, 8, and 9. 3 and 9 really don't need pads. Also, alt tees are set up for 9 and 14. A few trees were also removed! Don't miss this course!
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house, only 4 miles away, and if I could I would play daily. I can squeeze in 18 in well under an hour if I move fast and am by myself. The sunday doubles (in the winter) is set up very well and is often well attended. If you have not played this course, you should definitely check it out. Give yourself enough time to play 36, it will be worth it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: falmond
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good course for beginners. Wooded but yet open. Most of the holes are at or under 300' but the trees make you make good shots.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes are need of repair. Not much maybe a good raking to level them off and maybe cover with rubber matte. If you want to throw bombs this is not the course for you.
Other Thoughts: Great scenery this time of the year. lots of color with the leaves. With that said, with the leaves falling could be tough to find disc in the leaves. Love the rock wall that go all over the course.
P. S. Watch your step. Alot of stumps, rocks , and roots under the leaves.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 prime New england course

1    6/27/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 440  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice scenic NE woods course. Well keep and defined fairways. Minimal undergrowth mostly just ferns so hard to lose a disc. Fantastic and detailed signage. Course felt remote.
Cons: Gravel tees were rutted from use. No major elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This course started the day for me and a friend and was only his second time out and we both had a great time. He had some issues avoiding trees first off but got it together by the end. The course plays in the woods above the baseball fields that take up the remainder of the park. The Park didn't have much more than ball fields that I saw and didn't notice where the restrooms were if any. You park by the lower field and can see the Rooster sign in the woods, I guess before the nice signs they have now they had roosters for tee signs. You find a nice detailed course map at the top of the hill and then head into the woods. Only two holes play out of the woods after that but the woods holes provide lots of variety from left to right and right to left, using mounds, stone walls, and pin placement to make things fun. The fairways were well define and not over crowded, felt I had some flight path options that weren't based on luck. The landscape that your playing through is lovely NE woods with lots of rocks little to no undergrowth, and hand stacked stone walls all over. There were a bunch of trash cans through out the course near some tees and a good bit of effort made to make some benches near tees as well. The tees were nice built boxes with gravel but have formed to big ruts from play which made a run up interesting. The tee signs looked brand new and were extremely detailed even showing detailed pieces of exercise equipment that line two of the holes. The signs were mounted like 7 or 8 ft in the air, i'm guessing to keep people from messing with them but you can still see all the details needed. Navigation from tee to tee was easy as most paths were lined or next tee arrows were placed where needed. The course ends up bringing you full circle back to the parking lot .

This type course is what I think of when I think about courses in CT. They did a great job with this place and hopefully it will only get better, fix the tee issue and maybe go for a second set of tees. I Loved the technical woods aspects but it still had fair fairways. Favorite hole was 18, flat to the edge of the woods basket but go to far and you end up at the bottom of the hill behind it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.