Chattanooga, TN 
The Sinks Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #4 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 267ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee: Position B



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Love Hate Relationship....

5+    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: bulletproof88
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The more I play it, the better it gets!!! Has a huge variety of shots. Great location, cool layout, water hazards, lots of tough holes, nice driving range/putting green. Healthy disc trading market. Awesome handling of lost discs!
Cons: Odd backtracking to some tees, slows others.
Not really the best for beginners.
Crowded at times.
Also, the darn trees....
Other Thoughts: When you start to understand disc golf above the level of a recreational player, The Sinks really start to open up to you. My first round, cursing the trees and ponds. Having played it almost daily, more flight paths are opening up and the course is teaching me more every round!!!
Let me know if you are in the area and wanna play! CFDC bag tag #88
I also frequently pull discs out of the waterhazards and return them, put your name on your discs people!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 86  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The Sinks has character that you don't always find on a disc golf course. There are lots of little things that give this course personality that you just have to play to see.

-Excellent course flow! You never have to pick a path and guess where the next hole is, it's either marked by a "Next Tee" sign or was a fairly obvious transition.

-There were 2 concrete Tee Pads on every hole which were plenty long enough for a good run-up.

-The Sinks requires a wide-variety of shots to score well.
-Despite being tightly wooded, the fairways are definitely there. I never walked up to a tee pad and thought, "Wow, this is a plinko hole". Every hole had at least one distinct line and if you hit it well, then you're inside the 30' circle. If your shot is off, you will be punished with a difficult approach. This course does well at taking out luck as a factor.

-This is the only course I have ever seen with a driving range that has a basket. Nice Touch!

-The course area is disc golf only. There are no walking paths or little league to contend with.

-Secluded feel.
Cons: -Despite having 2 tee pads per hole, they were usually close together and were seldom unique from one another.

-We played during the afternoon when it was 103 degrees, so there were not a whole lot of people there, but we were told that this course tends to be extremely busy when the weather is nice. Being the only 18-hole course in Chattanooga (and a good one at that) I would expect holes to be backed up a lot.

-I would be hesitant to play this course after decent rainfall because I would expect lots of put and sink holes filled with water.

-The course could use some maintenance, there were a few stumps that were just left that you could trip over. Also, the sink holes were a probably. Although, they did provide a unique challenge on some holes, there were a couple filled with water when played which is just asking for you to lose your disc in a murky hole. There were a couple that were located near pins where it seemed to be random chance if you ended up in a sink hole or on flat land.
Other Thoughts: This course was fantastic. It's not the longest course out there by any means, but is a gem as far as tight and technical courses go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Always a fun Course

5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: .DLB.
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: •Very challenging layout with all kinds of shots welcome
•Benches at each tee pad make it really nice when having to wait for a group ahead of you
•Multiple pin placements and dual tee pads
•Driving Range and Putting Basket before first hole
•18 Holes
Cons: •Winged gorillas that snatch your discs into trees (read as, trees can be abundant on some holes)
•Sometimes (not usually) the trash cans can overflow and there will be mounds of "soda bottles and cans" around them. But that's not a serious con, just nitpicking.
Other Thoughts: I love playing at The Sinks. I don't get up there as much as most that are close to it, but I have been enough to remember what shots are required for each hole. I know that I enjoy it 10x more now that I can kind of throw versus when I first started. Great course that I always look forward to playing.

There are certainly more good things about playing here than bad. The course is well maintained and it is all done by local volunteers. I would say that the majority of holes certainly favor RHBH throws, but there are several that are anhyzer or RHFH throw friendly. I am sure that those who frequently use tomahawks or thumbers appreciate certain holes as well, I just don't throw them that often.

Given my playing level (I only play total 1-2 times a week) I consider this a challenging course, but not overly hard. There are certainly plenty of birdie opps (playing Par 3), and some holes you just have to play smart. If you really want the challenge though and are a better player, just step back a teepad and play the longer pins where there are multiples. I prefer to play short tees still, as the longer tees are just too taxing on my ability level.

There is a good reason this place always has plenty of players, you can really hone your game here.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trees galore!

1    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Sinks presents a technical challenge among heavy woods and well protected greens. Before you even get started on this course, there's several nice amenities to help you warm up. A nice "driving" range out in the open with tee pads goes out to around 350' with a basket placed at about 250' so you don't start the round stiff. This range is good for mid range shots but not full on drives, there isn't enough room. On the course, each hole contains dual tees and dual benches with well worn paths to each. Also, each hole has at least two pin placements with some containing three (A, B, C). I like the fact that the signs indicate which sleeve the basket is in so you don't have to go searching. Each tee sign shows the location of each tee, pin placements, their distances, as well as any relevant mandos/OBs. The layout forces a variety of shot shapes with every changing distances from hole to hole. This kept the course feeling fresh without a sense of repetition. Even from the long pads, there were quite a few birdie-able holes but not without a clean drive (or very lucky kick). A few of the holes have established multiple fairways to allow different shot shapes but not clearly picking one will leave you scrambling for a route to the green. I found many of the greens well protected with anything from hanging vines off the tree, cedars, to clusters of baby oaks in and around the circle. This increases the luck factor greatly. Without much elevation available, the use of sinkholes on several greens provides the chance for a roll away or a dangerous putting situation. Several of the deep sinkholes that would normally be dangerous footing to get into and out of have staircases built to alleviate this problem. The rough throughout the course can be a large enough headache throwing out of but have beaten in paths to at least walk on towards an errant disc. With the rough as thick as it is, it does provide a nice sense of seclusion in that you won't see many other groups on other holes and you can feel separated from everything else.
Cons: Being as I played this for the first time (yesterday) and there being plenty of leaves on the ground, I found myself stumbling in multiple baby sinkholes that were undetectable. I'm sure that this is not a problem during the warmer months but beware. I was not a fan of the artificial OB on number 18. Even a good drive there unfortunate enough to have a bad kick could be OB and without ever leaving the woods. There's too much luck involved with that shot. As with the protected greens, the luck factor of getting a good kick and a bad kick could make a 20 foot putt into a 60 putt or worse is too great to ignore. With the propensity of disc golfers to carry food/drink with them during a round, there were hardly any trash cans out on the course. Please pack it in and pack it out.
Other Thoughts: Only playing the course once, I didn't feel like I got to enjoy the entire experience of The Sinks with the multiple pin placements and tees. I'd like the come back and play these different layouts and experience the different challenges this course presents. Overall, it can challenge most any golfer to hit their lines and make those valuable birdie putts. More skilled players will enjoy it to hit their spots and work large shot shapes down the fairways while less skilled players can appreciate and learn more technical golf while having fun.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: RichMeade
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and technical...
If you make your shots... the course rewards you... If you miss your shot...It's tough but manageable...You play the wrong shot...the course will punish you!
A great place to really test your finesse game.
Very courteous locals...
The elevated basket on 9 is fun!
Cons: Not a lot or Risk/reward. The lines are pretty well defined and require precision, but it's pretty straight forward how you should play each hole to score well.
Not a lot of trashcans to keep the place tidy, but it was pretty clean nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: I played this course today in preparation for a tournament, and I really enjoyed it.
It made me really slow down and consider the path that is laid out in front of me, and punished me when I tried to get "fancy".
A lot of "technical" courses are just all woods and require a lot of luck...
This one...will reward the good shots, and not punish you with a ghost limb...
Highly recommended!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Fall Course

1    11/15/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: insaneforchains
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course to play in the Fall, the colors of the leaves were amazing. Two tees for each hole and multiple pin placements. A very technical course that challenges every shot you have.
Cons: Didn't like the amount of back tracking on the holes to get to the next tee. Didn't see many trash cans and it could probably use them. There wasn't much trash on the ground but if there were more trash cans there probably wouldn't be any.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately we were played this course while on a road trip and we got rained out after 9 holes. I would have liked to play all 18 but the 9 we played were good!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Wonderland

2-4    9/10/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Coryan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 32.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded course requiring a variety of shots. Extra teepads and baskets (3 on a couple holes!) all for players of all levels to find something challenging. Great volunteer support to maintain and continually improve this course. Lots of benches on each hole. Good signage. Putting basket and 350+ driving range with pads. Great turnout for Sunday doubles (morning & afternoon).
Cons: Everything is in the woods. Porta-potty is only restroom near course.
Other Thoughts: Fun course and a must-play if you are in the Chattanooga area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: rltballer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. Many different types of shots, all are wooded. Pretty technical. 2 concrete tee boxes for each hole. Most holes offer multiple pin placements. Course is good about letting you know which pin placement is currently in use. There are several, 5-6 trash cans on the course, PLEASE USE, and feel free to criticize those that dont use and feel the need to litter.
Cons: Mosquitos during skeeter season ( be smart, bring spray) Course can get a bit crowded at times. Other than that, no real cons. This is a great course for all skill sets.
Other Thoughts: Great course. We like to keep it clean, so if you are visiting, please pitch in. Please no cig butts on the gound as it is very dry sometimes and can cause fires.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

5+    4/4/2007   11/4/2010
Review By: KevinDMoses
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well-maintained, great amenities, challenging course (which makes it fun when you hit a good shot!
Cons: Tons of trees and hazards, but it's not too discouraging. Can be crowded
Other Thoughts: You need to play it! It's one-of-a-kind!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Technical but Fun

1    7/7/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well laid out.
Love the driving range.
The People are very nice!
Challenging...multiple pin placements and Tees.
Cons: Very tight quarters.
Busy.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. Coming from Florida, i am used to more open holes. Sure, we have our tight shots around trees and water but this was a bit different. I did not see an open hole. This made it challenging. I highly recommend this course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.