Chattanooga, TN 
The Sinks Share
Uploaded By: JohnnyWang Hole #14 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 290ft.   3 / 382ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Short Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 New Years Eve Play

2-4    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: owtdoorguy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, level. Course well maintained, holds up well after recent rains. Multiple pin options allow for creative hole designs.
Cons: Holes align well to throw into next tee boxes with a few of my errant throws...watch out if I am coming up behind you.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Trees galore!

1    11/26/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Sinks presents a technical challenge among heavy woods and well protected greens. Before you even get started on this course, there's several nice amenities to help you warm up. A nice "driving" range out in the open with tee pads goes out to around 350' with a basket placed at about 250' so you don't start the round stiff. This range is good for mid range shots but not full on drives, there isn't enough room. On the course, each hole contains dual tees and dual benches with well worn paths to each. Also, each hole has at least two pin placements with some containing three (A, B, C). I like the fact that the signs indicate which sleeve the basket is in so you don't have to go searching. Each tee sign shows the location of each tee, pin placements, their distances, as well as any relevant mandos/OBs. The layout forces a variety of shot shapes with every changing distances from hole to hole. This kept the course feeling fresh without a sense of repetition. Even from the long pads, there were quite a few birdie-able holes but not without a clean drive (or very lucky kick). A few of the holes have established multiple fairways to allow different shot shapes but not clearly picking one will leave you scrambling for a route to the green. I found many of the greens well protected with anything from hanging vines off the tree, cedars, to clusters of baby oaks in and around the circle. This increases the luck factor greatly. Without much elevation available, the use of sinkholes on several greens provides the chance for a roll away or a dangerous putting situation. Several of the deep sinkholes that would normally be dangerous footing to get into and out of have staircases built to alleviate this problem. The rough throughout the course can be a large enough headache throwing out of but have beaten in paths to at least walk on towards an errant disc. With the rough as thick as it is, it does provide a nice sense of seclusion in that you won't see many other groups on other holes and you can feel separated from everything else.
Cons: Being as I played this for the first time (yesterday) and there being plenty of leaves on the ground, I found myself stumbling in multiple baby sinkholes that were undetectable. I'm sure that this is not a problem during the warmer months but beware. I was not a fan of the artificial OB on number 18. Even a good drive there unfortunate enough to have a bad kick could be OB and without ever leaving the woods. There's too much luck involved with that shot. As with the protected greens, the luck factor of getting a good kick and a bad kick could make a 20 foot putt into a 60 putt or worse is too great to ignore. With the propensity of disc golfers to carry food/drink with them during a round, there were hardly any trash cans out on the course. Please pack it in and pack it out.
Other Thoughts: Only playing the course once, I didn't feel like I got to enjoy the entire experience of The Sinks with the multiple pin placements and tees. I'd like the come back and play these different layouts and experience the different challenges this course presents. Overall, it can challenge most any golfer to hit their lines and make those valuable birdie putts. More skilled players will enjoy it to hit their spots and work large shot shapes down the fairways while less skilled players can appreciate and learn more technical golf while having fun.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: RichMeade
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and technical...
If you make your shots... the course rewards you... If you miss your shot...It's tough but manageable...You play the wrong shot...the course will punish you!
A great place to really test your finesse game.
Very courteous locals...
The elevated basket on 9 is fun!
Cons: Not a lot or Risk/reward. The lines are pretty well defined and require precision, but it's pretty straight forward how you should play each hole to score well.
Not a lot of trashcans to keep the place tidy, but it was pretty clean nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: I played this course today in preparation for a tournament, and I really enjoyed it.
It made me really slow down and consider the path that is laid out in front of me, and punished me when I tried to get "fancy".
A lot of "technical" courses are just all woods and require a lot of luck...
This one...will reward the good shots, and not punish you with a ghost limb...
Highly recommended!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Fall Course

1    11/15/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: insaneforchains
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course to play in the Fall, the colors of the leaves were amazing. Two tees for each hole and multiple pin placements. A very technical course that challenges every shot you have.
Cons: Didn't like the amount of back tracking on the holes to get to the next tee. Didn't see many trash cans and it could probably use them. There wasn't much trash on the ground but if there were more trash cans there probably wouldn't be any.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately we were played this course while on a road trip and we got rained out after 9 holes. I would have liked to play all 18 but the 9 we played were good!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not my cup O tea

5+    11/6/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: Chigger Hamby
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements
Multiple tees
Double chains
Practice putting basket
Practice driving range
The spot to go in Chatt. for disc golf
Cons: Always a crowd there
Fairways need a little more clearing for me to enjoy this course(leaving all the little 2-3 inch trees is very bothersome)
Muddy after a rain

Other Thoughts: This is one course I usually skip to play. I just do not like SUPER tight wooded holes. I'll go to Sheperd down the road before I go to the sinks. Still a great course, if you're into that sort of thing.

Cut some of the smaller vines and trees out and open the fairways up some.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded For Sure

2-4    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: wabrown23
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The goods about the sinks far out way the bad, it is a great course. Most holes are relativity tough with the exception of 2 or three short ace race holes. Large Parking lot, putting practice area and a driving range! wow. Trash cans and benches at each tee! A guy there while we were playing mowing and maintaining the course! This course is well taken care of and a great place for any skill level with multiple tee pads and various pen locations on each hole.
Cons: Mosquitoes... they were awful. There was no way of telling which pen position the hole was in from the tee on many of the holes with out walking most of the fairway until you could see the pen. Holes 4,5,6 were dog legs that you had to back track back down the fairway to get to the next hole, I could see this causing major back up on a busier day than a Thursday morning. The driving range is only 350ft... warmed my putters and rocs up but then again most of the holes you are not going to bust out a hyper speed disc anyway, unless you enjoy bashing trees.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course was sweet, played multiple rounds and I am sure I will go back. Most of the locals we encountered seem nice and friendly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded Wonderland

2-4    9/10/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Coryan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 32.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded course requiring a variety of shots. Extra teepads and baskets (3 on a couple holes!) all for players of all levels to find something challenging. Great volunteer support to maintain and continually improve this course. Lots of benches on each hole. Good signage. Putting basket and 350+ driving range with pads. Great turnout for Sunday doubles (morning & afternoon).
Cons: Everything is in the woods. Porta-potty is only restroom near course.
Other Thoughts: Fun course and a must-play if you are in the Chattanooga area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/31/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: rltballer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. Many different types of shots, all are wooded. Pretty technical. 2 concrete tee boxes for each hole. Most holes offer multiple pin placements. Course is good about letting you know which pin placement is currently in use. There are several, 5-6 trash cans on the course, PLEASE USE, and feel free to criticize those that dont use and feel the need to litter.
Cons: Mosquitos during skeeter season ( be smart, bring spray) Course can get a bit crowded at times. Other than that, no real cons. This is a great course for all skill sets.
Other Thoughts: Great course. We like to keep it clean, so if you are visiting, please pitch in. Please no cig butts on the gound as it is very dry sometimes and can cause fires.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 best course in chattanooga

5+    5/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the only 18 hole course in the chattanooga area. The best part is 2 teepads and 2 pin locations for every hole. So basically you can play 18, 36, 54, or 72 holes. All you have to do is switch it up after each round. This course also is more evenily matched with needing a backhand or a flick shot. A lot of holes have option for either on it due to the trees. I love this course for its challenges and its diversity.
Cons: My only complaint is the croud. Not that I have problem with people but more so the waiting at each hole just to play a qauick game. Its almost impossible to do. That being said it is the only 18 hole course in chat so what else do you expect.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this course to anyone who likes a little challenge. Not every hole is challenging but 75 percent are. Also this course is played a lot as I stated earlier so anytime I go I take a trash bag and help pick up some of the garabage that people have left behind. Its not a trashed course but does have litter due to people not caring.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded challenge

1    4/23/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through dense woods on a mostly flat piece of land. Several sinkholes come into play, including a deep one that has ladders going down so you can retrieve your disc, and a couple that seemed like they were small permanent water hazards. They made for a different type of obstacle than you usually see, which is fun.

There are dual tees on every hole, and every hole has 2-3 pin positions. This makes for a great deal of variety, especially since several of the long tees offer a slightly different line or an extra pinch point to navigate. The pin positions often change things up quite a bit, if they're rotated reasonably often it would offer a nice change of pace. The set up I played had a great mix of left and right turning holes, and a decent mix of short and long holes with some ace runs and some that required longer controlled shots through the woods.
Cons: The course obviously sees a ton of traffic. It's pretty beat down, which leads to erosion and mud on a rainy day. The sinkholes that have water in them are very murky, and seem like they would swallow discs, it's always nice to be able to retrieve them from water hazards. I loved seeing the tee signs show which pin position was in use, but the washer and screw were missing on several holes.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing here, and would definitely recommend it if you're passing through. It offers great options, with dual tees and even a few holes with permanent dual pins, so different levels of players can find an appropriate challenge. True beginners might find it a little tight and punishing of errant shots. More experienced players will find some great accuracy challenges, though there aren't any holes that require all that long of shots to score well.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.