Chattanooga, TN 
The Sinks Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 329ft.   3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee: Position B

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Course

5+    8/31/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: rltballer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. Many different types of shots, all are wooded. Pretty technical. 2 concrete tee boxes for each hole. Most holes offer multiple pin placements. Course is good about letting you know which pin placement is currently in use. There are several, 5-6 trash cans on the course, PLEASE USE, and feel free to criticize those that dont use and feel the need to litter.
Cons: Mosquitos during skeeter season ( be smart, bring spray) Course can get a bit crowded at times. Other than that, no real cons. This is a great course for all skill sets.
Other Thoughts: Great course. We like to keep it clean, so if you are visiting, please pitch in. Please no cig butts on the gound as it is very dry sometimes and can cause fires.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 best course in chattanooga

5+    5/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 26  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the only 18 hole course in the chattanooga area. The best part is 2 teepads and 2 pin locations for every hole. So basically you can play 18, 36, 54, or 72 holes. All you have to do is switch it up after each round. This course also is more evenily matched with needing a backhand or a flick shot. A lot of holes have option for either on it due to the trees. I love this course for its challenges and its diversity.
Cons: My only complaint is the croud. Not that I have problem with people but more so the waiting at each hole just to play a qauick game. Its almost impossible to do. That being said it is the only 18 hole course in chat so what else do you expect.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this course to anyone who likes a little challenge. Not every hole is challenging but 75 percent are. Also this course is played a lot as I stated earlier so anytime I go I take a trash bag and help pick up some of the garabage that people have left behind. Its not a trashed course but does have litter due to people not caring.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded challenge

1    4/23/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through dense woods on a mostly flat piece of land. Several sinkholes come into play, including a deep one that has ladders going down so you can retrieve your disc, and a couple that seemed like they were small permanent water hazards. They made for a different type of obstacle than you usually see, which is fun.

There are dual tees on every hole, and every hole has 2-3 pin positions. This makes for a great deal of variety, especially since several of the long tees offer a slightly different line or an extra pinch point to navigate. The pin positions often change things up quite a bit, if they're rotated reasonably often it would offer a nice change of pace. The set up I played had a great mix of left and right turning holes, and a decent mix of short and long holes with some ace runs and some that required longer controlled shots through the woods.
Cons: The course obviously sees a ton of traffic. It's pretty beat down, which leads to erosion and mud on a rainy day. The sinkholes that have water in them are very murky, and seem like they would swallow discs, it's always nice to be able to retrieve them from water hazards. I loved seeing the tee signs show which pin position was in use, but the washer and screw were missing on several holes.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing here, and would definitely recommend it if you're passing through. It offers great options, with dual tees and even a few holes with permanent dual pins, so different levels of players can find an appropriate challenge. True beginners might find it a little tight and punishing of errant shots. More experienced players will find some great accuracy challenges, though there aren't any holes that require all that long of shots to score well.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

5+    4/4/2007   11/4/2010
Review By: KevinDMoses
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well-maintained, great amenities, challenging course (which makes it fun when you hit a good shot!
Cons: Tons of trees and hazards, but it's not too discouraging. Can be crowded
Other Thoughts: You need to play it! It's one-of-a-kind!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course!

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big parking lot with excellent signage and putting area. Lost disc drop box should be standard at all courses. Very pretty course (cool scenic walk to 13) Nice locals. I liked the baskets. They had thinner chains and really crashed when I hit them.
Cons: Could be more trash cans. Lot of sharp dogleg holes (left or right) I felt like I was shooting around corners a lot.
Other Thoughts: I felt like there was a bit of overlap. When we would walk from the the hole to the next tee, we had to walk through the fairway. I feel like people getting hit by discs is probably a common problem out here. The driving range was basically hole 19. Road on the left and fairway to the right. Thought it would be more open.... Very enjoyable course and I hope to be back soon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical but Fun

1    7/7/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well laid out.
Love the driving range.
The People are very nice!
Challenging...multiple pin placements and Tees.
Cons: Very tight quarters.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. Coming from Florida, i am used to more open holes. Sure, we have our tight shots around trees and water but this was a bit different. I did not see an open hole. This made it challenging. I highly recommend this course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not just a clever name

1    7/6/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Sinks has almost everything you could ask for in a disc golf course. Two concrete tee pads on each hole. At least two pin placements on most holes. Some holes had baskets in both positions. A driving range along with multiple tee boxes. A putting practice basket. Benches and signs at every hole. Water when it's hot outside, a gnome, and the kitchen sink. This is a very versatile course containing a good mix of shots at any distance. Through woods without much elevation (unless you land in one of the "Sinks"). One of the most well equipped courses I have had the pleasure of visiting.
Cons: The sinkholes scattered through the course looked very intimidating (some of them had ladders to climb out of them). I showed up just before a league tournament that played everything from the short tees to the short pins, and was able to avoid them. I'm sure the longer layouts would make them more prominent. Water was in play on two or three holes when I played, after a dry spell. I heard it gets a little more messy after rain.
Other Thoughts: The group I played with at the weekly were good guys, and I enjoyed the local wisdom imparted by the TD Josh, and Jim and Russ. Finding the park was sort of tough, but the directions posted are as good as I could do if asked to describe them. If you make it through the traffic circles on the right path, be looking to the left for the park entrance across from the plant.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice wooded course

5+    12/18/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 51  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Baskets are all Chainstar baskets and appear to be in good shape for the amount of use that they get. There are multiple pin positions on many holes that get changes 4-5 times a year. These changes actually change the whole hole and don't just add on a couple of feet. These alternate pins were well thought out and are a delightful challenge when they are changed.

Tee pads are concrete and are of average size. All holes have pro tees and vary in distance behind the am tees from 20-50'. Tee signs are by the am tees and list distance and pars. (4 from am, 3 from pros)

The front 9 and back 9 each make a loop and makes it easy to just play 9 and get back to the parking lot without a long walk. Upkeep on this heavily wooded course is great. Ivy is sparse and schule is kept to a minimum. Most of the fairways have wood chips down. Each tee has a bench and trash cans are about every 3-4 holes on the course.

Most of the holes are very technical, requiring hyzer and anhyzer shots to do well. This course will test your patience the first few times you are out here but it wouldn't be Chattanooga's top rated course if it was easy. Hole length varies from ~150'-450' depending on which tees you throw from.

Access to the park is easy enough with plenty of parking a port-a-john, a practice putting green, and a 350' driving range. Doubles events and weekly tourneys go on throughout the summer and every single person that I have met there have been super friendly.
Cons: The course can get a little bit crowded on the weekends but rarely during the week before 4pm. After a good rain, a few holes will have standing water for a day or so but nothing too bad. Closest place to get discs would be Play it Again Sports and they are a little overpriced I think.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course that I ever reviewed and I realized that I needed to be a little more objective in my review so I updated it.

The sink holes though out the course are pretty cool to look at, particularly the one to the left of tee 9. It is about 20' deep and 40' across. But don't worry, there is a ladder in case your disc goes in.

The Signature hole I think is hole 12 on the far pin which plays blind up hill with about 15' rise in elevation with two sink holes that are almost always filled with water on either side of the fairway at the top of the hill. The pin is then 60' past the sinkholes, slightly downhill.

In the summer, bring your bug spray!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Driving range with basket and "putting green" are one of a kind. All teepads are concrete. Multiple teepads on each hole. Well-maintained course ie: mulch/gravel placed to eliminate muddy trails, weeds/poison ivy cut back and sprayed, trash cans on a good number of holes, pin placement is changed often. Plenty of "conveniently located" trees force a variety of shots. Most holes are separated by heavy woods, so they are rather secluded. Very little wind.
Cons: Crowded, especially on weekends. Needs another 18 holes added or another course to open nearby to thin out the masses. Crowds can turn a 1hr round into 3hrs very easily.
Other Thoughts: Tree Love!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 From the Pros

5+    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
This review was updated on 6/9/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well designed, especially for the allotted space, with a variety of shots required.
The sink holes add a very unique element, especially when they're holding water. It's about as close to a sand trap as disc golf gets. Tees are placed creatively when sinks come into play.

From the short tees, the course will allow newer players (and wives, in my case) to enjoy the course without feeling overwhelmed, yet still allow more regular players to be challenged, without feeling overwhelmed with big D holes.

From the long tees (and especially to the long baskets) it's a very challenging course. It's amazing how much tighter a window gets when you move 40' back to the longer pad.

The "driving range" is a nice touch, as is the putting practice pin.

Though this can be said of many courses, I think it's especially true at The Sinks, simply because there's no other high caliber course options in the area--the community of players here is great. There are some very, very good players that frequent this course, and the doubles play on Sundays lets newer players mingle with the local bad asses. Also, the Chattanooga Flying Disc Club does a lot of good work for the inner city kids.
Cons: No long, air-it-out holes. This is understandable, considering there's not enough real estate to allow for one. But it would be nice to have a breather, and get "out of the woods" once.

It can be crowded at times. A lot of newbie players. I've been stuck behind a large group or family with a stroller a number of times.
One more 18 hole course in the area would/will really help this issue.

Driving range terminates in trees and brush after 350 ft.

Tee signs are outdated from time to time, as pin location changes.

Other Thoughts: Best course in the Chattanooga area. It has quickly gained a special place in my disc golf heart.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.