Chattanooga, TN 
The Sinks Share
Uploaded By: JohnnyWang Hole #17 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 250ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 The Sinks

1    3/26/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 101  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right away as you get out of your car you'll get the feeling that this is a one of a kind course. First of all just beyond the parking lot you'll enjoy a nice driving range. It has several tee pads of different types and sizes too. You'll find a few concrete ones, natural, artificial turf, etc. The basket was around 250' away but there was enough room behind to stretch out a 350' warm up drive if desired.

In addition to the driving range you'll see the practice basket for putting. It's also a pretty nice addition. It has benches around the perimeter and it's complete with distance markers on the ground as well.

As you walk to the first hole you'll notice little details of hard work and signature items like hand made signs, benches and walkways. You will continue to see those details along the course as you play through complete with some random decorations. You'll notice that every hole has benches with the names of the people who donated for them routed in the seat. It was nice to see a course with a big community feel to it. It is clean, safe, and seems to be well kept too. This course gets lots of love!

Playing the course itself won't leave you disappointed either. It is well designed and flows very well. This is a very fun and challenging course. Signs lead the way with all the pertinent info and they map out the fairways pretty well. Wooded holes and tight fairways are the predominate hole type with a couple that open up a little. You'll find very few that you'll be able to just lob down the fairway if you want to score well. You have to find your line, plan, and then execute, in some cases perfectly. There are left and right sweeping holes, doglegs, hidden baskets, and some strait shots with plenty of obstacles. Oh and the sinks! They are peppered along the course. You'll see a few on the front nine but the majority is on the back half. Number 12 was probably the most memorable sink encounter for me with the twin sinks on either side of the fairway full of muddy water. The sinks seem to very in size and depth, 5' foot wide to 20' wide and depth 1' deep to 10' deep. They probably were equally divided in terms of which ones were dry and which ones were full of water the day I visited. Rakes were available at all major sink holes with water to help with the retrieval but still, you don't want to end up in one.

Duel tees, both being concrete, and multiple basket placements really help mix things up too. Some holes (maybe 4 or so) had two baskets on each hole. I like that. It enables you to choose the course you want to play on any given day. There are lots of possibilities, short to short, long to long, short to long, long to short, etc. It was really nice. I played the long pads to the long pins and found this combo to be a very formidable layout. As I walked past the short tees I noted that they looked to be quite easier even though they were just shorter for the most part. Overall, there is a combo that should please/challenge everyone.
Cons: One of the biggest complaints that I've heard about wasn't an issue when I played. That's the big crowds. I can see how this would be a problem though.

I played after a day of rain and saw a few drainage problems with some excessive mud on some of the worn out areas.

Fortunately, I had a local course guide (thanks Rooster) to help me through the course. I still noticed a couple of problems that might have been fairly annoying without him. First, baskets from other fairways were visible from a few tees and it could be confusing on your first time out. Secondly the baskets are hard to spot in the woods. The duel baskets (which I think are awesome) could be confusing as well. Flags on the baskets would be a great way to help spot them. Some different color flags on the duel basket holes would be a good idea too.

My biggest complaint is some heavy shule off the fairways in many places. In my opinion a bad kick off a tree is punishment enough and is likely going to earn you an extra stroke in the first place. I don't like getting an additional stroke on top of that just because the areas off the fairways leave you no viable options to recover. They may as well be out of bounds. There are a lot of areas like this on the course.

Another reviewer brought up dogs on the course. We also saw three unleashed dogs wondering around the course with their owner just lazily walking behind them. The owners were not disc golfers. Not sure if that is a pattern or not but the park was not busy at all and we still saw them.

Those liking longer courses may be a little disappointed. I think the course makes up for it in its technical challenge though. Those who dislike heavily wooded course should stay away too.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area this is a must play! This is one of, if not the best courses in the Chattanooga area. In my opinion only Heritage Point and maybe Cloudland Canyon are in contention, depending on your preference. This one has been on my wish list for a while and I am glad I finally got to play it. Now it is on a new wish list, I wish it was closer to my house! I absolutely love wood courses and this was no exception. Try to catch Shepherd Rec Center's 9 hole course while you are in town too. I kind of thought of it as the Sink's "little sister". It makes for a great combo. I hope you like the Sinks as much as I did. Enjoy!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, Trees, and giant sink holes

1    1/29/2010   1/29/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pros: The Baskets are in very good shape and the multiple tee pads/pin locations were awesome. The course is very well laid out and a lot of work went into making this one of the most challenging courses i have played.
Cons: Cons: There were far to many trees and no holes that you could just let it rip. No open holes deep sinks holes means that you will more than likely be looking for a lost disc. You can't even see the sink holes until after your first shot and then sometimes it's too late.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course again and would recommend it but would not make it a regular stop.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 first time

5+    8/29/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the very first course i played. went to chattanooga for a beer festival ,and my buddies introduced me to disc golf... havent looked back since. short technical course with alot of variety. kicked my A$$ the first 7 or 8 times i played it
Cons: its crowded most the time, but moves pretty fast for the most part
Other Thoughts: came back a year later to challenge the course. i live in charlotte and played almost everyday since my first visit to the sinks, first round -2 my second round was -7. from the shorts. love this course, cant wait to come back for my 2 year anniversary

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    6/17/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees. Always a plus. 2 tees per hole.

-Course has personality. There are all kinds things hanging from trees, garden gnomes, and some old sinks scattered around the course.

-Many holes feel secluded from other holes. Most of the time you know that there is a hole right next to yours but you can't see it. It gives you a isolated feeling, like each hole is an island.

-Fairways are fair. This course is all in the woods. There are no "Throw and pray" holes. All holes have a fair line that if you hit it you will be rewarded. Miss the line and you will be punished.

-Driving range and practice bucket.

-Excellent use of land provided.

-Course is separate from other park activities.

-Course is clean and well kept. Good job locals.

-Good signage. there were a few tricky spots, but it was pretty easy to follow.

-Great hole variety. As a rhbh, I was forced to throw hyzer,anhyzer, and straight shots.
Cons: -Crowds. It was crowded on a weekday afternoon. I bet weekends are a nightmare.

-Some holes could use a little tlc, especially near the long pads. Just a run through with some clippers, nothing major. It looked like this had more to do with it being early summer, when bushes grow thick, and not lack of care.

-Not much of a difference between short and long pads. With the exception of 2 holes, most of the shorts were just 30' in front of the longs, and they hardly changed the line at all.

-Rec players. The course was crowded with 2 disc barneys who have no kind of golf etiquette whatsoever. l can see why there is a local rift between the more serious players and the barneys. These guys were rude gave no respect to anyone near them. How hard is it to be polite and use some common sense?

-looks like this course could be a mud pit after some rain.
Other Thoughts: There are a few other things I noticed that weren't really pros or cons, so I thought i'd put them here.

-The actual sinkholes were a letdown for me. I grew up in south fla, Where sinkholes swallow houses, so these sinks are not exactly what I had in mind.

-It looked like a few holes had some longer pin spots that never get used, or maybe just in tourneys.

This course is a gem. Don't take the cons too serious. It was well worth the 2 hr drive to from the atlanta area (Canton) to play here. If you are in north ga or near chattanooga, this course is a must play.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course!

5+    5/12/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Hophead724
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical and demanding course that requires the best of your game. The locals are friendly and are always helpful. Practice putting area and also a driving range.
Cons: Very crowded most days but, the pace of play is very good.
Other Thoughts: When playing this course for the first time, take some time to pick out your line. There are many options on this course. This one is worth planning a road trip for!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My first course

2-4    4/29/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: xElizabethx
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and laid out, has driving range and putting green, detailed signs on each hole. Really tight course.
Cons: Lots of trees, blind shots, and can be pretty crowded most days.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course, everyone has been very friendly and helpful.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must play while in Chattanooga

1    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 196  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with excellent signage. Tight, technical and varied terrain.
Cons: It's pretty well laid out but some of the holes take a little poking around to find.
Other Thoughts: Busy course even on the weekday I played. Locals seem great and willing to help out with holes and offered to let me join them to play.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    3/6/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: discwhisperer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very tight.Multiple tees and baskets.Signs on every hole.Driving range and putting basket.Overall very clean,CFDC takes pride in this course.
Cons: After 3 very busy most days.Don't even think about Sunday.Some Sunday doubles groups seem to think they own the course.After doubles watch out for tag matches.Groups of 6,8,even10 are not uncommon.Some guys are really cool but the elitest won't even think of letting you play through.Be mindful of people behind you I have been hit by a drive/dangerous,some holes are blind.
Other Thoughts: Chattanoogas best course.Most of the guys responsible for bringing us this course are really cool.Get there early and enjoy it

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Very good mixture of tight and open-wooded holes. No holes are completely open, but a lot of them have wide fairways. Can get very technical on majority of holes and make sure you stay in the fairway! Baskets are frequently rotated and you can almost always see people working on the course.
Cons: A lot of trees. There's still a lot of dead limbs and brush lying around that they haven't burned yet and some teepads are short.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really great, fun little 18 hole course and really improves your game. Tons of people playing everyday and weekend parking is hard to come by.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, limbs vines and stumps BEWARE!

5+    1/24/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: discchik
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Keeps you humble. Great for developing accuracy. Great place to play when it's windy.
Cons: Very crowded course. Hidden small stumps will trip you if you aren't careful. They keep moving the baskets every other week! Sheesh Just because you CAN bring your pet to the Sinks doesn't mean that you should. Too many loose dogs whose owners are oblivious to the fact that their precious lil angels might be distracting others.
Other Thoughts: A lot of thought and planning went into this course and it shows. For some reason while playing this course with my fiance' we have encountered several groups of 6 or more who never allow us to play through. We weren't sure if these people know disc golf etiquette or if they just don't care. The atmosphere seems a bit more intense here than other courses. No so much family friendly.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.