Chattanooga, TN 
The Sinks Share
Uploaded By: JohnnyWang Hole #16 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 302ft.   3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Trees, Trees, and giant sink holes

1    1/29/2010   1/29/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pros: The Baskets are in very good shape and the multiple tee pads/pin locations were awesome. The course is very well laid out and a lot of work went into making this one of the most challenging courses i have played.
Cons: Cons: There were far to many trees and no holes that you could just let it rip. No open holes deep sinks holes means that you will more than likely be looking for a lost disc. You can't even see the sink holes until after your first shot and then sometimes it's too late.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course again and would recommend it but would not make it a regular stop.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 first time

5+    8/29/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the very first course i played. went to chattanooga for a beer festival ,and my buddies introduced me to disc golf... havent looked back since. short technical course with alot of variety. kicked my A$$ the first 7 or 8 times i played it
Cons: its crowded most the time, but moves pretty fast for the most part
Other Thoughts: came back a year later to challenge the course. i live in charlotte and played almost everyday since my first visit to the sinks, first round -2 my second round was -7. from the shorts. love this course, cant wait to come back for my 2 year anniversary

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    6/17/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees. Always a plus. 2 tees per hole.

-Course has personality. There are all kinds things hanging from trees, garden gnomes, and some old sinks scattered around the course.

-Many holes feel secluded from other holes. Most of the time you know that there is a hole right next to yours but you can't see it. It gives you a isolated feeling, like each hole is an island.

-Fairways are fair. This course is all in the woods. There are no "Throw and pray" holes. All holes have a fair line that if you hit it you will be rewarded. Miss the line and you will be punished.

-Driving range and practice bucket.

-Excellent use of land provided.

-Course is separate from other park activities.

-Course is clean and well kept. Good job locals.

-Good signage. there were a few tricky spots, but it was pretty easy to follow.

-Great hole variety. As a rhbh, I was forced to throw hyzer,anhyzer, and straight shots.
Cons: -Crowds. It was crowded on a weekday afternoon. I bet weekends are a nightmare.

-Some holes could use a little tlc, especially near the long pads. Just a run through with some clippers, nothing major. It looked like this had more to do with it being early summer, when bushes grow thick, and not lack of care.

-Not much of a difference between short and long pads. With the exception of 2 holes, most of the shorts were just 30' in front of the longs, and they hardly changed the line at all.

-Rec players. The course was crowded with 2 disc barneys who have no kind of golf etiquette whatsoever. l can see why there is a local rift between the more serious players and the barneys. These guys were rude gave no respect to anyone near them. How hard is it to be polite and use some common sense?

-looks like this course could be a mud pit after some rain.
Other Thoughts: There are a few other things I noticed that weren't really pros or cons, so I thought i'd put them here.

-The actual sinkholes were a letdown for me. I grew up in south fla, Where sinkholes swallow houses, so these sinks are not exactly what I had in mind.

-It looked like a few holes had some longer pin spots that never get used, or maybe just in tourneys.

This course is a gem. Don't take the cons too serious. It was well worth the 2 hr drive to from the atlanta area (Canton) to play here. If you are in north ga or near chattanooga, this course is a must play.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course!

5+    5/12/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Hophead724
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical and demanding course that requires the best of your game. The locals are friendly and are always helpful. Practice putting area and also a driving range.
Cons: Very crowded most days but, the pace of play is very good.
Other Thoughts: When playing this course for the first time, take some time to pick out your line. There are many options on this course. This one is worth planning a road trip for!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My first course

2-4    4/29/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: xElizabethx
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and laid out, has driving range and putting green, detailed signs on each hole. Really tight course.
Cons: Lots of trees, blind shots, and can be pretty crowded most days.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course, everyone has been very friendly and helpful.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must play while in Chattanooga

1    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 193  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with excellent signage. Tight, technical and varied terrain.
Cons: It's pretty well laid out but some of the holes take a little poking around to find.
Other Thoughts: Busy course even on the weekday I played. Locals seem great and willing to help out with holes and offered to let me join them to play.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    3/6/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: discwhisperer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very tight.Multiple tees and baskets.Signs on every hole.Driving range and putting basket.Overall very clean,CFDC takes pride in this course.
Cons: After 3 very busy most days.Don't even think about Sunday.Some Sunday doubles groups seem to think they own the course.After doubles watch out for tag matches.Groups of 6,8,even10 are not uncommon.Some guys are really cool but the elitest won't even think of letting you play through.Be mindful of people behind you I have been hit by a drive/dangerous,some holes are blind.
Other Thoughts: Chattanoogas best course.Most of the guys responsible for bringing us this course are really cool.Get there early and enjoy it

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    3/3/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Very good mixture of tight and open-wooded holes. No holes are completely open, but a lot of them have wide fairways. Can get very technical on majority of holes and make sure you stay in the fairway! Baskets are frequently rotated and you can almost always see people working on the course.
Cons: A lot of trees. There's still a lot of dead limbs and brush lying around that they haven't burned yet and some teepads are short.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really great, fun little 18 hole course and really improves your game. Tons of people playing everyday and weekend parking is hard to come by.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, limbs vines and stumps BEWARE!

5+    1/24/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: discchik
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Keeps you humble. Great for developing accuracy. Great place to play when it's windy.
Cons: Very crowded course. Hidden small stumps will trip you if you aren't careful. They keep moving the baskets every other week! Sheesh Just because you CAN bring your pet to the Sinks doesn't mean that you should. Too many loose dogs whose owners are oblivious to the fact that their precious lil angels might be distracting others.
Other Thoughts: A lot of thought and planning went into this course and it shows. For some reason while playing this course with my fiance' we have encountered several groups of 6 or more who never allow us to play through. We weren't sure if these people know disc golf etiquette or if they just don't care. The atmosphere seems a bit more intense here than other courses. No so much family friendly.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Too many trees!

5+    2/5/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: disccrazy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Trees provide shade in the summer. Well maintained course.
Cons: Basket placement. No wide open holes. Groups who get together to play doubles are often rude and will tee off regardless of whether or not you are done . It's almost as if they are saying, "Get out of my way, I'm playing league doubles"
Other Thoughts: Why did the designers of this course not include a few open holes? Why does every hole have to be in the thick woods?

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.