Chattanooga, TN 
The Sinks Share
Uploaded By: JohnnyWang Hole #8 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 238ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket Locations: D is short and hard left around a private thicket



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Two very different courses

5+    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: zensuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is excellent for a control player and rewards only accurate power. My son and I play it from the front pads together and it's a very different course from there.

From the back, it can be daunting but from the front it really lets a novice learn the game without being one of those grass and more grass metro courses.
Cons: None, really.
Other Thoughts: Great place, the Grapevine should be honored for pouring so much energy into supporting disc gold in Chattanooga.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I'm a tree hitter

5+    12/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent diversity of holes -- some short, some long, some wide open fairways, some tight fairways, some favoring left-handed shots, some favoring right-handed shots. The assortment of holes guarantees you won't get bored with this course.

The Sinks offers a nice practice area -- for both drives and putts.
Cons: A few holes have trees in the middle of the fairway that punish accurate drives. What's the point of several huge trees in the middle of the fairway 150 feet from the tee pad? On holes like these, it's better to be lucky than good.
Other Thoughts: I've played at the Sinks several times -- other players seemed friendly and let our smaller group (of two or three) play through.

Post a lookout on Hole #12 to keep tee shots from disappearing into either of the muddy water sinkholes.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Time

1    12/13/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: branden14
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was a really cool course. I really enjoyed playing around the sink holes, I was scared one of my disks were going to fall in one. I liked all the turns on the course as well, it made for a good challenge.
Cons: I wasn't sure where to go next on a few of the holes. And each hole as an A and B target marked on the map, but a lot of the holes only have one target.
Other Thoughts: This may be a dumb question, but what causes the sinks?

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hey! Let's put the basket right behind this tree!

5+    10/23/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: insane4chains
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great landscaping quaint woodsy feeling, It has become the place to see and be seen among the "better" disc golfers. Well maintained, Driving range is a perfect addition.
Cons: Basket placement on some holes was done with an almost "LETS SEE HOW RIDICULOUSLY DIFFICULT WE CAN MAKE IT" feeling in mind. The whole course is trees trees vines and more trees. No real open shots here. Would be better if there were a few open holes so one could experience the best of both worlds. The regulars at the Sinks can be quite rude and almost have an elitist GET OUTTA MY WAY demeanor to them, especially during doubles on Sunday. Too many times I have almost been decapitated by a disc from a player who has no regard or concern for others safety. The couse is loaded with 2-4 inch small stumps that cause you to trip and fall. I appreciate challenging courses but some of the holes here are just ridiculous. Need to have disc golf etiquette signs to remind the veteran and beginner players how to act. Very difficult to find the next hole unless you've played the course several times. There have also been a few car break-ins in the parking lot as evidenced by the glass found on the ground. No trashcans near the 1st hole which would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: A great place to test your skills. Needs to be more diverse. Throwing through trees gets boring after a while. At least CC has both open holes and ones that are not so open. Would be really nice if there were some trashcans on maybe 3 or 4 of the holes. It would reduce the amount of debris considerably.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/16/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: discflinger
Played: 96  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2008
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I played this course the first week it was officially opened and thought it was acceptably challenging. I liked the idea of using logs for OB and the uniqueness of the sink holes was tickling, though I sometimes wondered about my safety. I'm sure that the routes are probably more defined by now and can't wait to make a trip back.
Cons: Can't remember being displeased with anything, but it has been 2.5 years since I was there.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your short game

5+    8/4/2007   9/12/2008
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2011
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Practice basket
Driving range
Multiple tees and pin placements
Cons: Questionable pin placement on some holes: baskets too close to obstacles or otherwise obstructed.
Other Thoughts: Chattanooga's first real disc golf course and its a stunner. Very tight and very technical, but still somewhat beginner friendly due to the red tee option.
Play is very quick (less than an hour per round)
Better played in winter and early spring where the lack of foilage makes it easier to find discs gone astray.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gee, I Was Expecting The Sinkholes To Be Scarier!

1    8/19/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see that a lot of work and effort has gone into this course. Two teepads and different basket placements help keep local players from getting bored. The pads were great, the course was well signed. Played it for the first time, our group was able to navigate it very easily. We played on a weekday afternoon and it wasn't crowded, maybe a dozen cars there. We thought the course was well designed, certainly a challenge, even from the short tees that we played. The long tees would be killers. The driving range is a very nice feature. Some fun, interesting terrain for a course. The roughs can be pretty unforgiving here.
Cons: I (we) were a little disappointed in these famous sinkholes. I was expecting, like 12' well shafts or something. Although, I can see how they would make things interesting after a rainstorm. It's not a course for beginners/families. We had a professional baseball umpire from the AA Southern League playing disc golf for just the second time. "The Sinks" pretty much handed him his jock.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing "The Sinks". I normally suck on technical wooded courses and this round was no exception. I'd love to go back and challenge it again.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 good course for all

7/10/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is only 3 years old or so, but is in great shape and constantly being improved. I've been playing on this course every other week for about 2-3 months, and I have seen about 20 significant improvements. Also, with the two tee pads and the two pin placements for each hole, this course is a great course for any player past a beginner (and if there are some beginners looking for a challenge, they can find it here.) There is also a putting green right between the parking lot and hole #1, a drop box for lost discs (which are placed in the grapevine, the local disc shop), and a 350' driving range also adjacent to the parking lot.
Cons: Since this is such a good course, many people are playing it often, sometimes resulting in waits. however, other courses have been recently built in the area and many more (4ish) are in the works, so that should slow down the traffic significantly. This course gets somewhat muddy when it rains, but the real problem is the humidity. This course is extremely dense (especially in the rough), and when it rains, the trees don't let the water evaporate at all. I have come out of the course with my shirt completely covered in sweat. Completely.
Other Thoughts: This course is very wooded, often resulting in an airway no wider than 20 feet, sometimes as small as 8 feet or so. In detail of hole by hole: 1. straight hole, starting off with 20 feet or airspace and narrowing towards the hole, with one tree in the direct middle 30 feet before pin A. Pin B is slightly back to the left. 2. even more narrow hole, with random trees placed in the fairway, but not impossible. a little shorter than 1, but there is a big sinkhole (from which the course takes it's name) to the right of pin B and behind pin A. A is dead ahead, while again, B is back to the left. 3. dogleg left. the back tee forces a huge hyzer for RHBH players. Also, just before pin A there is a mass of small trees that are annoying to try and get through. These are a little much, although I have seen 2 strokes beat the hole a few times. I have never seen the pin placed at B, but B is about 60-70 feet more in the dogleg than A. to go to B the dogleg is about a 110 degree turn. 4. a great hole for anoyone who can throw a beautiful anhyzer (RHBH) a good distance. this one is wide open in the airway, with maybe one tree at all, but go into the rough and it's really rough-trees every foot in every direction. This hole starts in the shade, goes into the wide open, and comes back into the shade. pin A is barely out in the open, while pin B goes back into the shade. 5. another dogleg left hole. again, there are a good amount of trees guarding pin A, but these are bigger and much more spread out. this hole has a wide open space to go straight, but it doesn't at all. pin B is again, 65 feet or so past A, but not curved anymore. It's open between A and B. 6. this hole can get ridiculously hard. This is an S curve hole, but the turns are less like a curve and more like a 90 degree angle. the fairway is very slim, with thick rough on both sides. There is some thin rough to the right of the first half of the hole and the left of the second half. pin A is only about 300 feet, and it's reasonable to 2 this pin, but B is 100 feet or so straight past A, and almost impossible to birdie. This is one well made hole. 7. This hole is a slight dogleg right, with a semi-low ceiling. There is one four-pronged tree in the middle of the fairway, called "The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse". It has killed many birdie chances. A forehand throwers dream, though I love it and i never throw forehand. 8. along with the B pins of 6 and 15, this is one of the three hardest holes on the course by far. dogleg left, and from the back tee there is a small tree that has been hit hundreds of times (as you can tell by all the marks in it), which stops many players afters the first throw. it's around 400 feet at pin B, and starts off straight, takes a hard, 70 degree left turn around a big bush, and gets open until the hole. this is another hole that's wide open in the airway, but surrounded by ridiculous rough. 9. very cool hole layout. this hole begins by going slightly uphill and straight for 150 feet, drops down hard and to the right to pin A, with a sinkhole right behind it. going to pin B from there it continues slightly to the right, going back up the hill, with two airways going around both sides of the sinkhole where many trees are growing out of. again (as with most holes) there is significant rough off to the sides of the fairway. 10. another hole with 2 airways, one that is to the left and comes back to the right at the end, and the other going right that curves around back left slightly the entire way. this hole is on a hill just a little bit, but behind the hill is another sinkhole. (I only know where one pin is on this hole). 11 is a beauty, with a small hole in the left side of the airway to get through, and then pulling back to the right ever so slightly the rest of the way. there are trees here and there in the airway, with sinkholes around the edges of the rough. pin A is on the right side of the fairway, and pin B up the hill on the left. 12. the easiest hole. I think there are three pins on this one. this hole goes up a hill 15 feet, and then levels out to flat then slowly dips back down and then up. during the flat part, there are two water areas that are OB on both the left and the right side. the short pin is just past the two water areas, with a big tree right behind it still on the flat part. A is beyond that to the left, while the hole is beginning to slightly dip down. B is on the upside of that part, at the back. between A and B there is a lower ceiling, but not that low. 13 is another easy hole, with two mando trees with arrows on them right at the start. this hole curves back to the left at the end, or goes straight, left, and then a 20 foot 90 degree right turn. there are a bunch of trees guarding the hole, but not so many that you can't putt through them. 14. pretty open, again with 3 pins. the short one is dead ahead, just as there begin to be a few trees in the airway. A is just behind that to the left, as usual, and B is 60 feet past is to the right. this is another wide open hole with crazy rough on both sides. 15 is the hole to conquer. There are 3 pins on this one also. the tees are separated by 100 feet. the short pin is to the right, in the open again the rough. A is 50 feet away to the left, and B is another 100 feet past that. from the back tee to pin B it's 561 feet, and with a very similar layout to hole 6, be happy with a 4 on this hole. or even a 5. getting a 3 here is a job that Ken Climo would have trouble with. 16. very similar to 11. in fact, the only difference is the sinkhole to start out 11 isn't in this one. that's about it. 17. not a very good airway to start. There are 5-6 small trees right in front of the front tee, so backing up 40 feet to the other tee makes this hole a little nutty. you are suppose to S it going from left to right and back left. A is flat and somewhat straight. B is back and to the left, in a sinkhole surrounded by small trees. 18 is a big dogleg right hole. there is really only one path to the hole, and it's a continuous right curve the whole way. Only one pin is used on this hole. hope this helps.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Appropriately Named

2-4    4/12/2013   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Major update for this review! I played it years ago when it was pretty new- wow, it is amazing to see how courses can mature and improve!!! The fairways are now reasonable as trees have been removed and ground worn in often made of mulch/woodchips. The dozens of weird decorations are now gone and tastefully reduced to 1-2 a hole. Still plenty of sinkholes, however now they have pumped in water to fill up some of them!

Two sets of concrete tees. Excellent tee signs. Multiple baskets. The basket suspended over the sink hole was cool. You could play this course many different ways using different combos of tees and basket locations!

Nice putting area surrounded by benches. Practice driving range with distance markers and several concrete pads!
Cons: First timers may have a little trouble navigating as there are many paths on the course that do not take you to the next tee. There are next tee arrows, but they are dark red, small, and hard to see.

I like each hole to have 2 or 3 basket locations. However, many holes had 2 or 3 actual baskets in play, but not all the holes were like this, and the tee sign only listed 1 hole location, so you were unaware that you could play at the other locations until you got further down the fairway. Maybe soon they will put baskets in every possible location to solve this problem? They had a system on the tee sign to tell you if the basket was in A or B- if there is a basket in both, why not mark both!
Other Thoughts: Very popular course, a lot of people play it and it is the best course in the Chattanooga area. Good local club and the sport is growing here as there are now multiple courses in the area.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great course if you can get a round in.

6/14/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: chucker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are many good things about this course. 2 concrete tee pads per hole.Multiple pin placements on most and dual baskets on a couple of holes. Very beautiful and extremely fun to play.
Cons: Don't even try this course on sunday. Locals play doubles and have no regard for others trying to get a quick round in. This course is packed every day after 3 pm and etiquette is non existent. Groups of 6 or more are common and you have to insist or you will not be allowed to play through.
Other Thoughts: Get there early or just go elsewhere. The fun of the course can be offset by the stress of heavy traffic. Also, too many unsolicited lessons being given out. I like the way I play just fine.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.