Chattanooga, TN 
The Sinks Share
Uploaded By: JohnnyWang Hole #8 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 238ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket (D Position)



Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >
 Appropriately Named

2-4    4/12/2013   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 230  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Major update for this review! I played it years ago when it was pretty new- wow, it is amazing to see how courses can mature and improve!!! The fairways are now reasonable as trees have been removed and ground worn in often made of mulch/woodchips. The dozens of weird decorations are now gone and tastefully reduced to 1-2 a hole. Still plenty of sinkholes, however now they have pumped in water to fill up some of them!

Two sets of concrete tees. Excellent tee signs. Multiple baskets. The basket suspended over the sink hole was cool. You could play this course many different ways using different combos of tees and basket locations!

Nice putting area surrounded by benches. Practice driving range with distance markers and several concrete pads!
Cons: First timers may have a little trouble navigating as there are many paths on the course that do not take you to the next tee. There are next tee arrows, but they are dark red, small, and hard to see.

I like each hole to have 2 or 3 basket locations. However, many holes had 2 or 3 actual baskets in play, but not all the holes were like this, and the tee sign only listed 1 hole location, so you were unaware that you could play at the other locations until you got further down the fairway. Maybe soon they will put baskets in every possible location to solve this problem? They had a system on the tee sign to tell you if the basket was in A or B- if there is a basket in both, why not mark both!
Other Thoughts: Very popular course, a lot of people play it and it is the best course in the Chattanooga area. Good local club and the sport is growing here as there are now multiple courses in the area.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great course if you can get a round in.

6/14/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: chucker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are many good things about this course. 2 concrete tee pads per hole.Multiple pin placements on most and dual baskets on a couple of holes. Very beautiful and extremely fun to play.
Cons: Don't even try this course on sunday. Locals play doubles and have no regard for others trying to get a quick round in. This course is packed every day after 3 pm and etiquette is non existent. Groups of 6 or more are common and you have to insist or you will not be allowed to play through.
Other Thoughts: Get there early or just go elsewhere. The fun of the course can be offset by the stress of heavy traffic. Also, too many unsolicited lessons being given out. I like the way I play just fine.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5/2/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: Rogue Skunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Driving range and putting green are extremely nice to warm up on before a round. Hole design/layout is very well done. Excellent use of natural terrain. I see volunteers working to improve/maintain this course all the time.
Cons: It is rare to catch the course at a slow time. The past four or five times I've played the parking lot was overflowing and was constantly slowed down or was slowing down other players.
Other Thoughts: The Sinks definitely reward accuracy over distance. I really enjoy this course. All of the negatives I can think of stem mainly from this being the only course within a short drive of Chattanooga. If there were other courses around to spread out the crowds and change the pace a little this course would be even more enjoyable.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Always Worth the Stop

3/10/2007   4/4/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The driving range is a sweet feature. Varied terrain, including sink holes...Duh. No shot or disc is left unused at this course. It is a nice walk. Not too hilly. Great signs and directions increase course flow fluidity.
Cons: Good course. Well above average. But not on the great level as some championship courses. But easily a top 5 in Tennessee and the best in the Chattanooga area.
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome risk/reward challenge. Me, I am a risk taker. I ended up climbing the ladder into at least 4 bunkers along the way, the first time I played this course. But it was a fantastic challenge and one that most disc golfers will never get to exprience because courses built around sink holes are rare. Mostly wooded tunnel shots.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Sinks

5+    3/20/2010   3/20/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Driving range and putting green before first hole. Pro and amateur tees and signs designating holes number and par. Most holes have multiple hole placements to keep the course interesting. Great variety of shots through heavy to moderately wooded areas. Sink holes surrounding most of the holes will either sharpen your aim or add strokes. Can be used for pro tournaments.
Cons: Sink holes tend to fill up when it rains, making it harder to find discs after a storm. The course doesn't drain very well so it can get muddy if a lot of people play on it after it rains. Also, some of the holes can be hard to find if you can't see the markers, so it's best to go with a native if you've never played the course before.
Other Thoughts: This course is beautifully designed with pros and amateurs in mind. My favorite course that I've played so far. The Chattanooga Disc Golf club obviously knows what they're doing.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The "Sinks" DGC

7/14/2007   7/14/2007
Review By: shaggydabomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Driving Range, Putting Green, Sweet Long & Short TeePads, Multiple Pins Placements, very challenging, Tight Wooded Technical. After you've finished you just want more.. Continuous improvements just keeps getting better
Cons: limited facilities - Port-a-let, No water. Maybe too tough for beginers, even with short tees because some baskets are long in normal setup..
Other Thoughts: This course will punish bad shots and generate big scores.. The addition of long pin on # 5 & # 15 have creaated true Pro par 4s, only 3 great shots will generate a 3 here! Boggies are not bad 6-7 are seen regularly...

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.