Beaver Dam, WI 
Crystal Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 194ft.   3 / 278ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Scenic PnP

5+    5/4/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 73  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crystal Lake is a solid pitch n putt type course set in a beautiful, scenic park with some elevation and a little water. What it lacks in difficulty, it makes up for with fun factor.

Solid catching (albeit older) DGA baskets.

Two concrete tee pads on almost all holes (hole 9 is the only one with one),plenty long enough for most players. The shorts tees are great for beginners, as most are pretty straight forward shots, with most offering several lines to the basket.

Tee signs at every hole (at the shorts only), with distance and line.

Elevation comes into play on several holes, with a sledding hill shot on 18. Rollaway putts are possibly on a couple holes.
Cons: This course isn't the biggest test of skill. Many holes are straight ahead shots without a lot of intrigue. While the course does have long tee pads, many of them solely add distance (and not all that much in many cases).

The baskets are held in place by a big mound of asphalt. Hate this. Not only is it an eyesore, but it has the potential to really chew up your discs.

It's a shame the water doesn't come into play more often. Just one complete water carry would be fantastic.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for a casual round, especially with beginners or kids. The park itself has picnic areas, playgrounds, sledding (winter, of course), a beach and plenty of space aside from the course for activities.

While this course won't challenge advanced players, having ace runs all day isn't always the worst thing, either.

The park is almost always well manicured and just wonderful looking. Worth a spin if you're close, for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid, accessible course.

5+    11/2/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Keithzilla
Played: 55  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great flow. You can almost lose yourself on this course. It seems to move seamlessly from hole to hole. No long walks between holes, No guessing where to go next.

- Very well maintained. My favorite thing about these park courses is that there's minimal vandalism. The course is respected by park users and players alike. older baskets still look brand new. The course is always mowed and looking pretty.

- Very easy navigation. Out-of-towners will appreciate how easy it is to find the next hole, on every hole. No need for a map.

- Ace runs! everyone loves a shot at an ace, and there's a plenty of them here.

- Baskets, 'crete pads, and signs. It's a full service course. The tee pads are well done, the baskets are Mach 3's with plenty of ching, and the signage is adequate and accurate.

- Nice location. Play a round, then go swim at the beach, then jog the exercise course, then go eat at one of the numerous eateries close by. This is a great place to bring the family.

- Competitive. This course has tournament written all over it. There's no real bottleneck holes, and a 90-degree penninsula out in the lake around hole 3-4 would make a temp-hole that even top pros would drool over.

- Loner-no-more. I think I've played this course alone maybe twice, and I frequent this course. There's always people playing it, and I've never been turned away if I want to join a group. The locals are quite friendly.

- Parking. There's a nice, big, central parking lot. I've never NOT been able to park here.
Cons: - Bathroom access. There's 1 port-a-potty. Gotta pee? Find a tree. And in a busy park, hope you don't mind being watched.

- Repetitive. 8 or 9, maybe even 10 holes are all about the same. Straight mid range shot sets up a deuce more often than not. Not a ton of variety.

- No pets. I take my dog with me a LOT. This park does not allow pets. This is always a con in my mind.

- "Pro Tees" not so pro. For the most part, the Pro tees don't add any challenge to the holes. Most of them are the same shot, just 30-40 feet longer. To me, an alternate tee should add a new dynamic to the hole, such as an obstacle or a totally different shot angle.

- You might get wet. 18 is a downhill hole where most people will throw a driver. Sail your drive 10 feet long and you will be swimming to get your disc back.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course played when I moved to the area, and my most frequently played since. It's a busy, fun course that anyone can enjoy in the middle of a very nice park. This is an ideal course for beginners, intermediate players, leagues, outings, and tournaments. It's the kind of course that you can play a quickie round or play all freaking day. This is a great "has it all" course.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

5+    8/3/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: Awol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2014
Pros: - Variety of shots
- Some elevation changes to play with
- A little water in play
- The water from the old style well pump is *delicious*
- Tees are in good shape
- Frequent garbage cans make for a pretty clean course
- Well maintained
Cons: - Pretty open for most holes
- More experienced players won't find it challenging
- Goose droppings are EVERYWHERE along the water. Sometimes the pro pads get a bit nasty. So watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: A great beginner course. Nice and open while they learn the game. Scenic, nice breeze blows through on hot days. Trees that you have to skip around add a bit of variety, and the long lefty hole is a great spot to work on your forehand if you are normally a RHBH player.

Great course overall, but intermediate or advanced players might get bored.

Crystal Lake

2-4    7/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: AH14203
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun to mix it up from the rec tees to the pro tees. some of the tees are long and test your skills others you need to place your shot. mix of hazzards also a practice putting basket. Great Tee pads
Cons: hard to find the first hole if you havent played there. goose poop all over some tees
Other Thoughts: Got an ace on 7 from pro tees, fun tees to play from and unload.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cystal Lake

1    10/2/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Barren
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice rolling hills. Water isn't much of a factor in the holes but provides a nice atmosphere. Pro tees add quite a bit of distance to most holes. Lots of trash cans and recycling bins.
Cons: Relatively short course but still plenty of fun. A little hard to navigate some of the holes.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short Holes, Nice Course

1    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: HeavyCritters
Played: 90  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Concrete Recreational and Pro tees are a nice touch.
-Good obstacles, and good overall use of trees, water and landscape at Crystal Lake Park.
-Park is well maintained and the fairway grass was nice and short when played.
-Good hole signage
-Hole 18 is a fun hole to drain your bag of drivers and try to hit an ace (I birdied it).
Cons: -Holes are a bit short, so you don't get to air out your drives a lot.
-Getting from Hole 1 to Tee 2 can be a bit challenging for first timers (same with Hole 9 to Tee 10).
-Even with Pro tees, the course was more of a beginners' course, which I guess isn't necessarily a con.
Other Thoughts: Although it's a fairly short 18 hole course, I found it overall to be fun to play (I scored par over 18).

My 8 year old son loved the course because it was very challenging for him and he could still manage a par or two over 18 holes.

I will definitely be back to play in the coming months.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

5+    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 97  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 2 tee pads on most. Baskets, tee pads, and signage are all in good shape and the park seems to be well maintained. Baskets are well placed to take advantage of natural terrain, with some elevation in play on at least a half dozen holes, including an elevated tee on holes 10 (throwing through a hole in the brush) and 14, and a good sized drop on hole 18. Mature trees and smaller bushes are used nicely on a lot of the holes. There is a practice basket new this year. There is a porta-potty near the start (nasty, but I'm glad it was there).
Cons: 6 or 7 holes are basically wide open or with obstacles that only come into play if you make a pretty bad shot. As others have said, they could have worked the pond into the course a little more. I've played here at times when the goose-poop factor has been fairly high, but when I played it yesterday, it was very clean.
If there are others playing, keep your eyes and ears open for errant shots. Some fairways and walkways are within reach of other's throws.
Other Thoughts: Whenever I think about playing here, I always think "It's not that challenging, but I haven't played there in a while." But afterwards, I always realize that I enjoyed it and I should play it more often.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beaverdam WI

5+    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: barrykatiejones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well mapped out, Course is kept up very well, Pro and rec. tees, varying range in difficulties.
Cons: A lot of ppl seems your always waiting for or being waited on. Bugs can be bad. In rainy season parts of course will flood.
Other Thoughts: Love this course its fun clean and close to home !

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Underwelming

1    8/2/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It is a disc golf course.
Cons: Just a back and fourth around a park almost no shade trees and negligible elevation. Also since fairways lack any separation you may bean someone in the head with your disc while attempting to play a round.
Other Thoughts: Drive the extra half hour to a different course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 It has a lake, but never is in play!

1    4/2/2011   8/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very nice park, well maintained, picturesque, it has a lot of amenities and good for the disc golf course it rarely comes into play. There is a service road that comes into play and I am sure some people walk through it, but for the most part it is well seperated from other activities.

2) Nice concrete pads on every hole. Nice signs on every tee also. Baskets are in good condition still.

3) The Lake is a nice feature for the park . . . and the river flowing into the lake also adds to the overall feeling of this course.

4) Course has a fair amount of elevation change. You go up the first hole, throw over and across a slope on the second hole. Right down a hill on #3. The next few are fairly level and then another uphiller on #10, #16, #17. Then the finale is the big downhiller on #18. It is probably a 50' drop to the basket and is 280' long. You want to keep it low for fear of an updraft that takes your disc all the way out into the lake.

5) Trees are used very well to add some challenege and some obstacles also. There are a lot of mature Maples and some willows on this property which really are massive trees and need to be avoided.

6) Fairly beginner friendly park because of how short most of the rec tees are. It is also a good place to learn because there is almost no way you should lose a disc. That is always helpful when bringing new players to a course to try and learn.

7) Long tees offer a perfect distance difference on most holes. It maintains a few short (under 200') holes, adds quite a few between 200-300' and a 400'.
Cons: 1) They simply do not use the water on enough of the holes. They could tuck some more pins right up to the water instead of just running alongside. You should be forced to risk a disc in the water. As it is now you can throw a big hyzer away from the water to avoid the water.

2) Overall this course is fairly short. The challenge is more from tree placement than distance or water. Some of the trees may knock you down, and leave you with an upshot but you shouldn't take anything more than a par from the rec tees. The alternate tees on a few of the holes offer more challenging.9 holes are under 200' which is a negative because it isn't challenging enough. for the above average player.

3) Only 1 long hole (330') the next closest is 260' (from the rec tees). I don't like wide open long holes to begin with but there isn't a single section of this course that could really handle a longer hole without creating more problems with routing and safety.

4) Sign would be helpful to direct you from #5 to #6 I walked over to #8 before I realized where #6 was.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a scenic beginner friendly course. If you are an above average player you should be able to handle the long tees with no problem. I wish I had time to play the longs too, but I did look at how they would have played and it is a much better course from the longs.

As the others have said it is nice to have the lake and the river running into it on the property, but they should incorporate it more into the design.

UPDATE: This course is still one of my favorites and have played a couple of tourneys out here . . . short technical courses are where I shine and it has shown in some of my ratings from the tourneys. They are some of my better rated rounds ever.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center