Beaver Dam, WI 
Crystal Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 232ft.   4 / 314ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Scenic PnP

5+    5/4/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 89  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crystal Lake is a solid pitch n putt type course set in a beautiful, scenic park with some elevation and a little water. What it lacks in difficulty, it makes up for with fun factor.

Solid catching (albeit older) DGA baskets.

Two concrete tee pads on almost all holes (hole 9 is the only one with one),plenty long enough for most players. The shorts tees are great for beginners, as most are pretty straight forward shots, with most offering several lines to the basket.

Tee signs at every hole (at the shorts only), with distance and line.

Elevation comes into play on several holes, with a sledding hill shot on 18. Rollaway putts are possibly on a couple holes.
Cons: This course isn't the biggest test of skill. Many holes are straight ahead shots without a lot of intrigue. While the course does have long tee pads, many of them solely add distance (and not all that much in many cases).

The baskets are held in place by a big mound of asphalt. Hate this. Not only is it an eyesore, but it has the potential to really chew up your discs.

It's a shame the water doesn't come into play more often. Just one complete water carry would be fantastic.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for a casual round, especially with beginners or kids. The park itself has picnic areas, playgrounds, sledding (winter, of course), a beach and plenty of space aside from the course for activities.

While this course won't challenge advanced players, having ace runs all day isn't always the worst thing, either.

The park is almost always well manicured and just wonderful looking. Worth a spin if you're close, for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a nice course

5+    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 2 tee pads on most. Baskets, tee pads, and signage are all in good shape and the park seems to be well maintained. Baskets are well placed to take advantage of natural terrain, with some elevation in play on at least a half dozen holes, including an elevated tee on holes 10 (throwing through a hole in the brush) and 14, and a good sized drop on hole 18. Mature trees and smaller bushes are used nicely on a lot of the holes. There is a practice basket new this year. There is a porta-potty near the start (nasty, but I'm glad it was there).
Cons: 6 or 7 holes are basically wide open or with obstacles that only come into play if you make a pretty bad shot. As others have said, they could have worked the pond into the course a little more. I've played here at times when the goose-poop factor has been fairly high, but when I played it yesterday, it was very clean.
If there are others playing, keep your eyes and ears open for errant shots. Some fairways and walkways are within reach of other's throws.
Other Thoughts: Whenever I think about playing here, I always think "It's not that challenging, but I haven't played there in a while." But afterwards, I always realize that I enjoyed it and I should play it more often.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It has a lake, but never is in play!

1    4/2/2011   8/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very nice park, well maintained, picturesque, it has a lot of amenities and good for the disc golf course it rarely comes into play. There is a service road that comes into play and I am sure some people walk through it, but for the most part it is well seperated from other activities.

2) Nice concrete pads on every hole. Nice signs on every tee also. Baskets are in good condition still.

3) The Lake is a nice feature for the park . . . and the river flowing into the lake also adds to the overall feeling of this course.

4) Course has a fair amount of elevation change. You go up the first hole, throw over and across a slope on the second hole. Right down a hill on #3. The next few are fairly level and then another uphiller on #10, #16, #17. Then the finale is the big downhiller on #18. It is probably a 50' drop to the basket and is 280' long. You want to keep it low for fear of an updraft that takes your disc all the way out into the lake.

5) Trees are used very well to add some challenege and some obstacles also. There are a lot of mature Maples and some willows on this property which really are massive trees and need to be avoided.

6) Fairly beginner friendly park because of how short most of the rec tees are. It is also a good place to learn because there is almost no way you should lose a disc. That is always helpful when bringing new players to a course to try and learn.

7) Long tees offer a perfect distance difference on most holes. It maintains a few short (under 200') holes, adds quite a few between 200-300' and a 400'.
Cons: 1) They simply do not use the water on enough of the holes. They could tuck some more pins right up to the water instead of just running alongside. You should be forced to risk a disc in the water. As it is now you can throw a big hyzer away from the water to avoid the water.

2) Overall this course is fairly short. The challenge is more from tree placement than distance or water. Some of the trees may knock you down, and leave you with an upshot but you shouldn't take anything more than a par from the rec tees. The alternate tees on a few of the holes offer more challenging.9 holes are under 200' which is a negative because it isn't challenging enough. for the above average player.

3) Only 1 long hole (330') the next closest is 260' (from the rec tees). I don't like wide open long holes to begin with but there isn't a single section of this course that could really handle a longer hole without creating more problems with routing and safety.

4) Sign would be helpful to direct you from #5 to #6 I walked over to #8 before I realized where #6 was.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a scenic beginner friendly course. If you are an above average player you should be able to handle the long tees with no problem. I wish I had time to play the longs too, but I did look at how they would have played and it is a much better course from the longs.

As the others have said it is nice to have the lake and the river running into it on the property, but they should incorporate it more into the design.

UPDATE: This course is still one of my favorites and have played a couple of tourneys out here . . . short technical courses are where I shine and it has shown in some of my ratings from the tourneys. They are some of my better rated rounds ever.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver Dam

5+    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I don't really feel like I need to review this course as the last couple reviews were very good, but I will give what I thought of it as well.

First of all, it is very easy to get to being right off of highway 33 and two turns off of 151. It is a perfect stop for me on my way home from where I go to school to home although I do not do that as much as I should.

Much like Plamann Park in Appleton, this course looks very nice. The grass is green, there is a pretty lake, the course is pretty clean, and it is just an overall pretty park. Every hole has very nice signs and just about every hole has multiple teepads. It is everything you would want a park to look like.

As for the golf, it is a fun little park with lots of birdies coming your way. I can say I have personally birdied every hole there on multiple occasions from the "pro" pads. Holes 1-5 are all on the short side, but are all on some little hills. Holes 6-9 are pretty much on flat ground with some trees in the way. 10 is a fun short hole from the top of a hill through a little gap into an open field followed by the 400' hole 11. Twelve is probably my favorite hole at the course being a fairway driver shot over a creek and around some trees. Thirteen through 17 are all shorter more technical type holes but still not hard by any means. Then you come to 18. I used to think this hole was the shit when my dad started taking me here when I was younger. Now it is a 260' all downhill hole with water behind the basket. It is just a lazy putter shot now. I have actually started playing across the lake the 7's basket I believe as it is more fun throwing across the lake from 18s pad.
Cons: While they probably did what they could with the land, I really wish this course was longer. While normally I don't really think the course being wet is that big of a con, while yes it sucks, it is right next to a lake so it is expected and you have to take some bad with some good, but the lake only comes into play on one hole unless you have an absolutely horrible shot. Another little thing that bothered me was the signs are all on the shorts so I would have to walk up there to look at them and walk back as the longs are on the way to the shorts. Kind of annoying. Basically, it really just needs to be more difficult and less open.
Other Thoughts: It is worth a play or more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 it's so damn cute

1    5/2/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great signage
-basket/tee conditions immaculate
-pro tees that create challenging lines/distance
-super pretty location
-upkeep
-slight elevation changes
-a few signature holes
-a ripper hole or two
Cons: -first 8 holes slightly repetitive
-on the short side
-not enough use of the great pond in play
-some of the basket placements could be better used
Other Thoughts: Seems like Wisconsin has an abundance of 3 rated courses (IMHO) that are just on the verge of being better...this one actually took a small piece of land and did the best it could and we are rewarded with this nice little gem. A local park with a small lake and the majority of it set aside for disc golf. Bravo. A beautifully maintained course at that!

holes 1-8
First impressions are that this course is going to be your typical park course with a ton of 150-230 straight/tree hidden/rolling holes. The first eight are this way completely. It's playing the pro tees which will add an extra 50' and different lines that I highly suggest.

holes 9-10
Now the water starts to come into the picture. 9 not so much(could have been better utilized here), and with 10 it's just the small creek that slightly comes into play. The diff between the pro and am tee for 10 make this go from a throw away hole to a sig hole from an elevated hill through a tree tunnel. Cool looking hole.

hole 11
rip away. 330am, 400 pro. trees lining the right side.

holes 12-17
the backside here is where some of the am/pro tees are the same but the shots tend to be more guarded and technical. the fun factor increases slightly.

hole 18
perfect way to finish of this course. super elevated tee shot down to the basket near (not near enough) the waters edge. Could have more risk involved to this placement, then again this is a county course.

All in all another nice little 3.5 rated Wisconsin course. Not a destination course per say, but nice. You can make a day out of this course with a few others along the way quite easily. Once again must give props to the people responsible for getting this course into such a pretty and small public space. :-)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

1    2/17/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: TornadoWolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked holes, fluid play, located in an enjoyable park, pro tees
Cons: Excessive goose droppings (what's that on my disc!?!), Holes length provided less challenge than most courses, DGA baskets
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Baird Creek in Green Bay. It's the kind of course that is a fun way to practice mid-range and putt shots in a quick round, but offers little challenge in the overall round score. Good for a lunch run, or as in my case, a quick round on the way home from Madison. I'll definitely play it again

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.