Beaver Dam, WI 
Crystal Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
4 / 260ft.   4 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 It has a lake, but never is in play!

1    4/2/2011   8/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very nice park, well maintained, picturesque, it has a lot of amenities and good for the disc golf course it rarely comes into play. There is a service road that comes into play and I am sure some people walk through it, but for the most part it is well seperated from other activities.

2) Nice concrete pads on every hole. Nice signs on every tee also. Baskets are in good condition still.

3) The Lake is a nice feature for the park . . . and the river flowing into the lake also adds to the overall feeling of this course.

4) Course has a fair amount of elevation change. You go up the first hole, throw over and across a slope on the second hole. Right down a hill on #3. The next few are fairly level and then another uphiller on #10, #16, #17. Then the finale is the big downhiller on #18. It is probably a 50' drop to the basket and is 280' long. You want to keep it low for fear of an updraft that takes your disc all the way out into the lake.

5) Trees are used very well to add some challenege and some obstacles also. There are a lot of mature Maples and some willows on this property which really are massive trees and need to be avoided.

6) Fairly beginner friendly park because of how short most of the rec tees are. It is also a good place to learn because there is almost no way you should lose a disc. That is always helpful when bringing new players to a course to try and learn.

7) Long tees offer a perfect distance difference on most holes. It maintains a few short (under 200') holes, adds quite a few between 200-300' and a 400'.
Cons: 1) They simply do not use the water on enough of the holes. They could tuck some more pins right up to the water instead of just running alongside. You should be forced to risk a disc in the water. As it is now you can throw a big hyzer away from the water to avoid the water.

2) Overall this course is fairly short. The challenge is more from tree placement than distance or water. Some of the trees may knock you down, and leave you with an upshot but you shouldn't take anything more than a par from the rec tees. The alternate tees on a few of the holes offer more challenging.9 holes are under 200' which is a negative because it isn't challenging enough. for the above average player.

3) Only 1 long hole (330') the next closest is 260' (from the rec tees). I don't like wide open long holes to begin with but there isn't a single section of this course that could really handle a longer hole without creating more problems with routing and safety.

4) Sign would be helpful to direct you from #5 to #6 I walked over to #8 before I realized where #6 was.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a scenic beginner friendly course. If you are an above average player you should be able to handle the long tees with no problem. I wish I had time to play the longs too, but I did look at how they would have played and it is a much better course from the longs.

As the others have said it is nice to have the lake and the river running into it on the property, but they should incorporate it more into the design.

UPDATE: This course is still one of my favorites and have played a couple of tourneys out here . . . short technical courses are where I shine and it has shown in some of my ratings from the tourneys. They are some of my better rated rounds ever.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver Dam

5+    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: rusch_bag
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I don't really feel like I need to review this course as the last couple reviews were very good, but I will give what I thought of it as well.

First of all, it is very easy to get to being right off of highway 33 and two turns off of 151. It is a perfect stop for me on my way home from where I go to school to home although I do not do that as much as I should.

Much like Plamann Park in Appleton, this course looks very nice. The grass is green, there is a pretty lake, the course is pretty clean, and it is just an overall pretty park. Every hole has very nice signs and just about every hole has multiple teepads. It is everything you would want a park to look like.

As for the golf, it is a fun little park with lots of birdies coming your way. I can say I have personally birdied every hole there on multiple occasions from the "pro" pads. Holes 1-5 are all on the short side, but are all on some little hills. Holes 6-9 are pretty much on flat ground with some trees in the way. 10 is a fun short hole from the top of a hill through a little gap into an open field followed by the 400' hole 11. Twelve is probably my favorite hole at the course being a fairway driver shot over a creek and around some trees. Thirteen through 17 are all shorter more technical type holes but still not hard by any means. Then you come to 18. I used to think this hole was the shit when my dad started taking me here when I was younger. Now it is a 260' all downhill hole with water behind the basket. It is just a lazy putter shot now. I have actually started playing across the lake the 7's basket I believe as it is more fun throwing across the lake from 18s pad.
Cons: While they probably did what they could with the land, I really wish this course was longer. While normally I don't really think the course being wet is that big of a con, while yes it sucks, it is right next to a lake so it is expected and you have to take some bad with some good, but the lake only comes into play on one hole unless you have an absolutely horrible shot. Another little thing that bothered me was the signs are all on the shorts so I would have to walk up there to look at them and walk back as the longs are on the way to the shorts. Kind of annoying. Basically, it really just needs to be more difficult and less open.
Other Thoughts: It is worth a play or more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 it's so damn cute

1    5/2/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great signage
-basket/tee conditions immaculate
-pro tees that create challenging lines/distance
-super pretty location
-upkeep
-slight elevation changes
-a few signature holes
-a ripper hole or two
Cons: -first 8 holes slightly repetitive
-on the short side
-not enough use of the great pond in play
-some of the basket placements could be better used
Other Thoughts: Seems like Wisconsin has an abundance of 3 rated courses (IMHO) that are just on the verge of being better...this one actually took a small piece of land and did the best it could and we are rewarded with this nice little gem. A local park with a small lake and the majority of it set aside for disc golf. Bravo. A beautifully maintained course at that!

holes 1-8
First impressions are that this course is going to be your typical park course with a ton of 150-230 straight/tree hidden/rolling holes. The first eight are this way completely. It's playing the pro tees which will add an extra 50' and different lines that I highly suggest.

holes 9-10
Now the water starts to come into the picture. 9 not so much(could have been better utilized here), and with 10 it's just the small creek that slightly comes into play. The diff between the pro and am tee for 10 make this go from a throw away hole to a sig hole from an elevated hill through a tree tunnel. Cool looking hole.

hole 11
rip away. 330am, 400 pro. trees lining the right side.

holes 12-17
the backside here is where some of the am/pro tees are the same but the shots tend to be more guarded and technical. the fun factor increases slightly.

hole 18
perfect way to finish of this course. super elevated tee shot down to the basket near (not near enough) the waters edge. Could have more risk involved to this placement, then again this is a county course.

All in all another nice little 3.5 rated Wisconsin course. Not a destination course per say, but nice. You can make a day out of this course with a few others along the way quite easily. Once again must give props to the people responsible for getting this course into such a pretty and small public space. :-)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water, Water Everywhere, and not a Drop In Play

2-4    3/26/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first thing that struck me about this course is what good shape all the baskets and tees are in. Dual raised concrete tees on (almost) every hole (3-4 holes use same tee for am & pro) with full color hole map, distance, and par at the short tee. The baskets are all solidly in the ground with 2 ft circular concrete base, which is very important in a park as prone to soggy conditions as this one is.

The whole course wraps around a big lake, in a sorotf low area with some hills and scattered trees surrounding it.

The Pro and Am tees give very different looks. The am tees are quite short, pretty wide open shots, on the whole, really not too interesting.
They really take many of the obstacles out of it.

The Pro tees significantly change things. They usually add more distance, and always add more difficulty, bringing terrain and obstacles into play. While the Ams are positioned to minimize challenge, the Pros try to maximize the difficulty.

The pro tees make reasonably good use of the scattered trees and hills by the sides of the lake. Even from the long tees, several holes are still ace runs, usually with a few trees to dodge. Several holes, even from the long tees, seem mostly open with not too much in the way of challenges.

This course does throw some obstacles at you, forcing you to bend some shots around in several directions, but with only scattered trees, these are mostly small potatoes. A few of the pins make creative use of hillsides to keep things tricky.

The main obstacle here is wind. Especially on the front few holes close to the parking lot, the wind is vicious, making the open lanes seem alot smaller.

This course has a few interesting long tees, including the three that bring the lake into play (I actually managed to land a disc in the water on one), and has a few interesting twists from elevation and trees, and the park is nice and well maintained. Also, the facilities are quite nice. Nothing too amazing here, though, on any counts.
Cons: For a park that wraps around a giant lake, the lake has remarkably little impact on the course itself. Repositioning a few of the baskets a bit closer to the water would've made for several more interesting holes, and made better use of this park's unique location. What a waste.

This park's location in a low valley around a lake means its no surprise to find mud here in the spring, but its still quite unpleasant to be soaked to above the ankle by the end of your round. Fortunately, the tees pads are all still high and dry, but much of the rest of the course is just a giant puddle of varying depths.

Distance seems to be used as a crutch on a few too many holes here, as a substitute for more tunnel shots, blind shots, or water. As a result, many holes seem fairly open, and many holes would be considered "bomber" holes, especially on days without wind. If you prefer a more open type of course thats not very technical, to practice driving for Max D, this is your course. I prefer more trees and more technical holes, so this course gets lower marks for those reasons.

From the short tees, almost every hole is very forgettable, from the long tees many are still fairly so. From the long tees, this course is challenging and will force you to navigate around some obstacles, but I didn't find the holes especially fun or interesting, even from the long tees.

Looking around at this park, there are many unused areas where really cool lakeside holes could've gone, including out onto the long, thin peninsula? But as it currently stands, this is a decent course with good tee pads and signage, so a good place for a casual round, but don't expect anything amazing from it.

This is a hard course to rate, because certain aspects of it are very good, while others are merely passable.

Very good tee pads and signs
Passable course layout & use of available terrain
Poor Drainage, decent overall fun factor.

Overall, this is a Solid course, but I can't quite rank it Good, due to the awful drainage and just ok playing experience. I will probably return to this course eventually but many courses in the area offer a more fun experience IMO.
Other Thoughts: Wear shorts, and water-resistant shoes on this course. Your pants will get soggy very quickly.

This course has no trash cans, so be ready to pack out your trash.

On hole 1, the Pro tee is closer to the parking lot, across the walking path from the short tee and hole hole sign.

Bring a least some heavier, more overstable discs to cut through the wind in this park, or be prepared to suffer on the front nine.

In evaluating which courses I ENJOY playing the most, this is not super high on my list. Though I admit that it is in a pretty park, well maintained, and has challenge (based on how i scored I suppose), and obstacles in play, including some water, I just didn't find this course that entertaining.

I'd go to Baraboo or UW-Whitewater before I went back here. both of those other courses are not as well maintained, with spotty signage and uneven dirt or rubber teepads, they are both more entertaining, IMO. And they both have better drainage that this muck hole.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

1    2/17/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: TornadoWolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked holes, fluid play, located in an enjoyable park, pro tees
Cons: Excessive goose droppings (what's that on my disc!?!), Holes length provided less challenge than most courses, DGA baskets
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Baird Creek in Green Bay. It's the kind of course that is a fun way to practice mid-range and putt shots in a quick round, but offers little challenge in the overall round score. Good for a lunch run, or as in my case, a quick round on the way home from Madison. I'll definitely play it again

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good local course

8/18/2007   4/17/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Though surrounding a lake, the water really only comes into play on a few holes. Some nice elevation shots, especially the last hole. Some trees, some tight fairways and some open grasslands. Lots of variety makes for a fun afternoon of discin'. Dual tees on all holes increases difficulty if you prefer.
Cons: pretty crowded park when we were there, and pedestrians were a problem on a few holes, but mostly the 'golfing' area is pretty well segregated from the main part of the park.
Other Thoughts: Pretty scenery, nicely maintained, clean park. A credit to the local organization in charge.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Crystal Lake Park Review

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What makes this course great is the scenery and the surroundings. It was pretty nice playing alongside the lake. Course was easy to follow and fun overall.
Cons: There isn't a whole lot of different terrain here, but still offered enough obstacles to give yourself a good challenge.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.