Gillette, WY
Dalby Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
5 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Lake on left side.



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lost in Wyoming

1    8/22/2008   3/22/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 627  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dalby is a fun little community park in Gillette which receives quite a bit of use from all sorts of park users. The course itself is fairly open with a few trees here and there to help shape lines. The only punishment to be found is in the form of a few water holes which aren't particularly dangerous; but it is certainly possible to lose one in the drink on a poor shot. Experienced players are likely going to be bored by this course as the shots are just too rudimentary to present any real challenge - nearby Rotary park, while not all that challenging itself, is a much better bet for the competitive player.
Cons: As I stated above, this is a highly utilized multi-purpose park and the fairways conflict with several walking paths and other areas with lots of pedestrians. Several times during our round we had to wait a while for walkers and other park users to clear off of holes - not a huge problem for playing through one time but if I lived in Gillette, I'd be much more likely to be found at the nearby Rotary park which was empty by comparison. Another major drawback of this course is the hole-to-hole flow which can be quite difficult to follow without a guide - this is despite that the course is relatively wide open and short! Quick mention also to the rutted natural teepads which can be a little bit tricky to throw from and are getting quite unsightly after a lot of use.
Other Thoughts: This is a park where you could easily take a family or newer players to get them interested in disc golf. With such a beautiful park setting and plenty of other activities going on, families could make a day of disc golf, fishing, picnicking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginers

1    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Brent
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open and short, good course to learn how to play, good warm up course and for working on short throws.
Cons: Close to the playground and not marked that good on some holes. All the holes are in a small area so it can be hard to know where to throw to. Only need putter and mid range discs. Only 8-9 holes
Other Thoughts: Good for first timers, I would play the other course in town if you have played before and are looking for a challenge.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good nine hole.

5+    7/15/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice park for golfing, but watch out for park-go-ers. Gorgeous park with good obstacles, trees, picnic areas.
Cons: People are often in the way. You may have to modify some holes to watch out for picnickers. WATER WATER WATER comes into play on several holes. Lost 2 disks on the last hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall good for nine hole course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Justin L
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park itself is very nice. A very peaceful setting with old growth trees. Not a lot to say positive about the course itself, hole 9 is the redeeming factor. A beautiful risk/reward shot that tempts you to take the open left to right out over the lake.
Cons: Baskets are not well marked, it's often difficult to find which basket to throw too. I was able to use the distances on the tee signs to help narrow down the possibilities. Hole 7's tee pad is nonexistent. I asked two locals, they said they usually throw from "over by that bench". On other holes the tee pads are literally 5 feet from the previous basket. I guess with the infrequency of play at this course that usually isn't an issue.
Other Thoughts: I can't recommend this is a true disc golf course I could see how it would be fun to come out with a few friends and toss a lid around with a brew in hand.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Weekdays may be best

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: dosahl
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has baskets. It is also well maintained and a very nice park setting. Water and playground equipment are nice park things.
Cons: Hard course to play. Not because it is difficult but because it is in a park setting. Baskets seemed difficult to find from tee, and tee area also seemed difficult to find from basket.
Other Thoughts: It is a short small course that has the advantage and disadvantage of being in a well used park. It is set up and presented as an option for those who are in the park enjoying the park's other features. It is not a good play for those wishing to just play the course. It is a great oportunity for folks new to throwing to try it. They may already be there at a family reunion. Perfect

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.