Gillette, WY 
Dalbey Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: mndiscg Hole #2 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 232ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Huge Redesign

1    4/25/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 343  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees were smooth and large.
-Nice baskets which were numbered.
-Nice signs (see cons and other thoughts)
-A good mix of holes. The first half was mostly shorter with light woods. There were a few that you had to be careful to not put it in the water. The second half was more open but longer and again included some water.
-There are many ace runs here, all of the holes are aceable for decent players.
-The park is nice and there are many activities to do. There is adequate parking.
Cons: -The signs had a QR scanner to get a map of the hole. The sign at the start had a QR for the course map, that is worth it but I don't want to get my phone out (don't even have a smart phone) every single hole. Just put it on the sign!
-The walk from 9 to 10 was ridiculous. I get the QR scanning thing but a course map or some better directions posted where you don't need a smart phone would go a long way. I almost gave up after 9. To get there you walk past the first tee area and over the bridge. You will find 10 there. It is a blind shot with the basket to the left behind some large coniferous trees.
-7's basket was within 10 feet of 8's tee. Dangerous. Other fairways are too close to the walking paths or roads. Every sign says that disc golfers yield to everyone else so please heed that advice. The park was being used a lot when I was there but still had no problems other than some kids playing safari picking up my disc.
-Long walk back to anywhere you can park after you finish the course.
-Fairly short, they did a good job with what they had but they didn't have much to start with.
-Fairly open and not too challenging. Again, they did well with what they had to work with but it just isn't an ideal disc golf property.
-You can see a few baskets off some of the tees. I threw to the wrong one once or twice, if the tee signs were actually on the signs, it would have been better.
Other Thoughts: -This is the first review after the redesign. The course is now 18 holes with legit baskets, signs, and pads. The first half is similar to the old course and there is now a second half to the course. The first half is a little easier and the second half is longer.
-This course made up a lot of ground on the other one in town but the other one is still a bit better. If you want a nice, relaxed round, this one is likely to be less busy. I played the courses back to back and there were 2-3 other groups on this course and 2 groups per hole on the other one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lost in Wyoming

1    8/22/2008   3/22/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dalby is a fun little community park in Gillette which receives quite a bit of use from all sorts of park users. The course itself is fairly open with a few trees here and there to help shape lines. The only punishment to be found is in the form of a few water holes which aren't particularly dangerous; but it is certainly possible to lose one in the drink on a poor shot. Experienced players are likely going to be bored by this course as the shots are just too rudimentary to present any real challenge - nearby Rotary park, while not all that challenging itself, is a much better bet for the competitive player.
Cons: As I stated above, this is a highly utilized multi-purpose park and the fairways conflict with several walking paths and other areas with lots of pedestrians. Several times during our round we had to wait a while for walkers and other park users to clear off of holes - not a huge problem for playing through one time but if I lived in Gillette, I'd be much more likely to be found at the nearby Rotary park which was empty by comparison. Another major drawback of this course is the hole-to-hole flow which can be quite difficult to follow without a guide - this is despite that the course is relatively wide open and short! Quick mention also to the rutted natural teepads which can be a little bit tricky to throw from and are getting quite unsightly after a lot of use.
Other Thoughts: This is a park where you could easily take a family or newer players to get them interested in disc golf. With such a beautiful park setting and plenty of other activities going on, families could make a day of disc golf, fishing, picnicking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginers

1    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Brent
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open and short, good course to learn how to play, good warm up course and for working on short throws.
Cons: Close to the playground and not marked that good on some holes. All the holes are in a small area so it can be hard to know where to throw to. Only need putter and mid range discs. Only 8-9 holes
Other Thoughts: Good for first timers, I would play the other course in town if you have played before and are looking for a challenge.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good nine hole.

5+    7/15/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice park for golfing, but watch out for park-go-ers. Gorgeous park with good obstacles, trees, picnic areas.
Cons: People are often in the way. You may have to modify some holes to watch out for picnickers. WATER WATER WATER comes into play on several holes. Lost 2 disks on the last hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall good for nine hole course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Justin L
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park itself is very nice. A very peaceful setting with old growth trees. Not a lot to say positive about the course itself, hole 9 is the redeeming factor. A beautiful risk/reward shot that tempts you to take the open left to right out over the lake.
Cons: Baskets are not well marked, it's often difficult to find which basket to throw too. I was able to use the distances on the tee signs to help narrow down the possibilities. Hole 7's tee pad is nonexistent. I asked two locals, they said they usually throw from "over by that bench". On other holes the tee pads are literally 5 feet from the previous basket. I guess with the infrequency of play at this course that usually isn't an issue.
Other Thoughts: I can't recommend this is a true disc golf course I could see how it would be fun to come out with a few friends and toss a lid around with a brew in hand.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Weekdays may be best

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: dosahl
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has baskets. It is also well maintained and a very nice park setting. Water and playground equipment are nice park things.
Cons: Hard course to play. Not because it is difficult but because it is in a park setting. Baskets seemed difficult to find from tee, and tee area also seemed difficult to find from basket.
Other Thoughts: It is a short small course that has the advantage and disadvantage of being in a well used park. It is set up and presented as an option for those who are in the park enjoying the park's other features. It is not a good play for those wishing to just play the course. It is a great oportunity for folks new to throwing to try it. They may already be there at a family reunion. Perfect

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.