Dallas City, IL 
Dallas City Upshot DGC Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great course

5+    8/22/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: sndmn762
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: all cement t pads, new signs, alot of elevation shots,also getting a new sign made up to show how the course is laid out
Cons: at a school so playing during school hours might not be allowed,front 9 is in the open so on really windy days gotta have a decent throw to get anywhere
Other Thoughts: great course,close to home


5+    3/22/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: sniper81
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: close to home
not to many people play on it so you have the course to yourself
Cons: its at the grade school so you cant play through the week until school is out
not all tee boxes are cement
Other Thoughts: the front 9 isnt really challenging the back 9 which most of it is in the woods is a little tougher
the course is a great course to play on, they also put new holes up to replace the old ones looks really nice

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, simple, fun 18

1    4/4/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course on school grounds which means sport can be introduced to new players. 18 holes. Almost every hole is duecable (both pro and con). Mix of open and wooded holes. Trash can over by the ball diamonds. Great course for newer or younger players.
Cons: Not playable on school days (assumed, though I highly doubt they would allow adult strangers out amongst the kids).
Signs not too helpful, in some cases you had to choose which basket you were throwing too. Natural tee pads. Navigation on a few holes over by the wooded area was confusing. Looks like they used to have a steel pile behind the bus barn over by the wooded areas, not sure if that is a continued work in progress or they just plan on leaving it there.
Other Thoughts: Actually, the course was pretty fun, but I wouldn't play if there were any events going on (school or baseball) and I wouldn't drive out of my way. Course was brutally windy the day I played, not sure if that is an issue most of the time on the open holes or not.

I liked hole 5 (going from memory here), tee off in the open, and the pin is tucked a few feet inside the woods. 6 was a nice left to right shot around a large tree along the tree line. 14 had one of the narrowest fairways I have played to date.

Pretty short course, so for an 18 holer, once you find your way, you can be in and out pretty quickly. I have some in-laws a few miles away, and I will not only plan to visit the course when we are in the area, but also try to get some of them to come out and play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun little school course

1    11/8/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 363  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the wooded holes are very nice, all are short (>250', most >200' ) but very tight and well thought out.
-the front and back nine differ nicely. The front is wide open with some slight elevation changes, the back is mostly wooded with some slight elevation.
-Hole 11 was pretty cool and ridiculous with a pole barn, gas tanks, trees and a mulch pile as obstacles, just kind of unique.
-Some decent shot variety in anhyzers and hyzers are forced on some holes.
-Hole 14 (I think) was my favorite hole...super short but like a 4' fairway, very nice.
-I appreciate school courses as they get a new generation interested in playing.
Cons: -Navigation was confusing, hole 1 starts by the right field side of the ball field.
-Natural tee pads were bad and potentially dangerous.
-Tee signs weren't very informative (hole # and length)
-It looked like some of the wooded holes were old metal bone yards at one point with random metal piled up (be careful on hole 12)
-I don't know if the course is open during school days, but I wouldn't want to play anyway while school is in session as there are holes that interfere with ball diamonds and soccer fields.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little stop on my way home. I randomly met Keokuk Discer there, really nice guy. He also really helped ameliorate the navigation issues on the course. Future improvements could include concrete pads and new signs. Overall: fun but I'd probably skip if I had the choice especially if that choice included wildcat springs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/26/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice little course that is surprising to a person playing here. The local players try hard to keep the course in good order and updated. Many of the holes are surprisingly tough.
Cons: As of this posting, the teepads are sod, but the locals are trying to install concrete. The wind can be a bear. It seems to blow constantly and it can change direction in just a few feet. The signs could use an update and it is really hard to find tee #1 without a little help.
Other Thoughts: This course is good for beginners. It was designed at the elementary school with PE classes in mind. The holes are pretty easy and many are ace-able. It's hard to locate hole 1 but after you find it you can be sure to have a nice time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.